We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, historic inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast
201 Ocean Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Get your 4th Night Free!
Sterling, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

During an extension to my business trip to Orlando last March, my husband and I wisely opted out of the Disney scene and took a brief detour to the lovely Melbourne Beach area and felt quite smug to have discovered romantic Port d'Hiver for our little getaway. We were truly impressed with this magnificent, historic home and the elegant and tasteful renovations. We thoroughly enjoyed the Havana room with its private outdoor balcony above the pool area and found all the breakfast choices delicious. Our hosts were friendly and very accomodating and the smaller Havana room was perfect for our 3-night stay.

Room Tip: The beach is a short walk from the B&B, but you have to cross a very busy street. Wear your run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
215
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the newly renovated Walter's Room - wraparound terrace faces the ocean. Large sitting room and bedroom so comfortable we wanted to move in! Breakfast was 5 star every morning - have the sampler so you don't miss a bite. Cocktails at 5 was another highlight - great to mingle with the other guests or take to your room and enjoy on the terrace. The entire staff and owners are truly the gold standard of hospitality!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, OH
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have been returning to Port D'Hiver for 5 straight February stays for a reason - it is the nicest and most comfortable home away from home we could every imagine. It amazes us that our stay gets better with each passing year. The rooms are elegant, beautifully appointed and luxurious in every way. The grounds are lovely and the beach is right across the street. We love the gourmet breakfast each morning and those nightly cocktail hours at the main house. We even got a rose on the pillow for Valentine's day. It is heavenly to be here. We really appreciate the extra personal touches like making our dinner reservations and getting us great tables for our nights out. The staff are all friendly and approachable. We plan to return as long as this place exists.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Fed up with our subzero temps and huge snowfalls, my husband and I decided to escape to Florida for a few days. Port D'Hiver caught our eye in an online search of the Melbourne area. We stayed Jan. 26-31, and although the weather didn't cooperate -- 50s and solid rain most of our stay -- the gracious owners and employees of Port D-Hiver made our visit very warm and welcoming! Everyone was friendly and accommodating; service was top notch. Guests were cordial and interesting to talk with. A scrumptious full breakfast (served in the main house or delivered to your room, if you prefer), homemade cookies, evening appetizers with wine, beer, or soda, and turndown treats in the evening were all included. We were so well-fed that we skipped either lunch or dinner each day! Brick walkways, inviting outdoor nooks with fires on chilly evenings, a pool-sized hot tub with waterfall, lush landscaping and fountains all made for a lovely private oasis. The ocean is just across the street, steps away. Beach towels, chairs, & umbrellas, snacks, sodas, water, small coolers, even bicycles are all provided free of charge. We were able to tour all but two rooms and would love to stay in any one of them. Bedding & linens are top quality; Port D'Hiver personnel even iron the sheets -- by hand! Each room is unique, most with a private covered porch, some with an ocean view. We stayed in the Windward Suite, painted a romantic red with a beautiful canopied four-poster bed right in the middle of the room and a gorgeous chandelier overhead. We loved the second floor location, although it didn't have an ocean view due to mature foliage. We've traveled extensively and Port D'Hiver is definitely among the best accommodations we've experienced. We're ready to go back!!

Room Tip: For best ocean view, ask for Walter's Suite or Ella Belle's, both upstairs in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is by far, the best bed and breakfast my fiancé and I have ever stayed at. We booked The Sunrise room. Then a few days later was given a free upgrade to their best room: The Carriage House. Staff and service there were exquisite. Breakfast, that was complimentary was similar to what you could get at a 5 star hotel. We will definitely be back! I Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We fled the freezing cold of the north and had four wonderful days at Port d'Hiver. The vibe is a kind of Graham Greene visits Key West with lots of beautiful over sized mahogonny furnture and slow moving fans, at least in our room, the Creole Room. The linens are custom made and the 100 degree spa pool right outside our door was lovely. Drinks with other guests at 5:00 was fun and we traded stories about who had the coldest weather. The staff is very attentive and there are lots of nice amenities like 24-hour cookies and free snacks, free bikes and beach chairs. If you can have too much food, this is the place. The breakfast easily could have been two meals! Melbourne Beach was new to us, but it has a slower pace with an artistic feeling which we apreciated. We were right across the street from the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room so you don't hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We chose Port D'Hiver as our winter getaway this year. We are innkeepers at The Inn at Stockbridge in Stockbridge, MA, and enjoyed warming up in the Florida sun. Innkeepers are a fussy lot, but we felt truly pampered. From the spotless, luxurious rooms, to the friendly and attentive staff, we could not have been in better hands. Tasty breakfast, turndown service with a special treat, and everything at hand for a day at the beach, which is just a stroll across the road. Extra amenities included 24hr coffee, tea, cookies, water, snacks. We could not have been happier. Treat yourself to the carriage house..did I mention it has 2 TV's and a huge whirlpool tub?

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 Ocean Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.