We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Escape in Melbourne Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast
201 Ocean Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get your 4th Night Free!
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful Escape in Melbourne Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this B&B from last Tuesday night(7/31/12) through this morning (Saturday 8/4/12). We were pleasantly surprised to find how accomodating and friendly the entire staff were, not to mention all the little extra, thoughtful things, such as soft music turned on during turndown service, ice brought to the room twice a day, complete with bottles of spring water, a nice, little baked treat, tastefully wrapped with a ribbon and left on the pillow (at turndown),along with too many things to list here. Another nice feature was being able to have breakfast brought to you right on your balcony, complete with coffee service. The food was always of excellent quality. Staff was always available for whatever one might need. The rooms were open and airy and spotlessly clean. We stayed our first few nights in the Yellow Room, which was a lovely room with very modern, but tasteful decor, not to mentiona huge whirlpool type tub and open glass shower. Our last night, due to a last minute decision to stay an extra night was in the Sunrise Room. My only complaint about the room is a queen sized bed as opposed to a queen. My partner is 6' 4", so sleeping was a little more "tight" that we are accustomed to. However, since the last minute change was our decision, they could only give us what was available--and that was it. The new room was otherwise beautifully and tastefully decorated and came with the same wonderful service as the other room. The entire place has a distinct Key West sort of feeling, and is obviously the best place one could stay in Melbourne Beach. What a relaxing and attractive getaway! This was my partner's and my 15th anniv. and we wanted something special. Here I will also note that being we are a gay couple and sometimes places we have stayed have been less than stellar in the "friendly department". However, this resort is truly gay friendly and you can tell they are sincere, and not just trying too hard to appear as such. We felt 100% welcome at this establishment, as well as completely comfortable in their fantastic rooms. There is only one thing that I would mention that I hope they might consider for the future: being that there are not too many places to stay in Melbourne Beach of this caliber, and, it is not cheap to stay there, it would be a nice change if they would allow those of us who are light smokers, to be able to enjoy a cigar or occasional cigarette on the outside private, balcony that belongs to each room. The entire property is tobacco free. However, this is somewhat of an inconvenience to guests like us, who only smoke when we drink wine or cocktails, and when doing that, it is always outside, even at our own home. After wine in the room, we had to step outside the B&B grounds just to have a cigarette when it wouldn't have been any trouble simply to have supplied an ashtray for the outside balcony table. Just an idea that I hope management might consider. Either way, I would still stay here again, as this is a CLASS A establishment, with a wonderful and very friendly and accomodating staff. We would like to sincerely thank Port D'Hiver for making our 15th anniv. a memorable experience for us and hope to be able to stay with you all again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
218
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked the Port d'Hiver for a week with the boys while they participated in the Nasa summer Camp. We tend to be very demanding on hotels and we could not really find a hotel nearby the Cape Kennedy that met our expectations. The Port d' Hiver did and we did not regret our booking. We all very much enjoyed the stay and the warm welcome of the entire staff. The rooms are wonderful and the different houses are very charming. The pictures on the web are real; we really enjoyed the wonderful decor in the room. The staff is very attentive and tries to leave no wish unfullfilled. It is definitely worth staying and we can only recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I you really want to have a real escape vacation from the ordinary you have to stay at this cozy hotel boutique in Melbourne. The rooms are stately decorated, the attendants are your friends from the moment you get to the front door, the food is gourmet delicious, excellent location just accross the beach. So if you want to relax elegantly or have a great romantic getaway, visit Port D'Hiven. Will never forget!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

For the perfect anniversary or elegant weekend escape!  This is IT!!!!  Worth every single dime and talk about location!!!  Right across the street from the ocean is this lovely Key West style inn with cooling tropical breezy palm porches and elegant island decor.  The luxurious huge rooms with white shuttered windows, high crown molded ceilings, spa tubs and quality adorned appointments 
throughout draw you in to true comfort and lull you to sleep.  You will be spoiled with their divine gourmet breakfasts on your private porch every morning!  Trust me you will buy one of their recipe books too!!  Borrow their bikes and go biking South on A1A to explore some great parks, museums  and nature sites.  See herons, dolphins and manatees!  Head over to Robburritos for a wild burrito lunch too!  Return to their bubbling spa pool and read your Kindle with their wi-fi out at the pool.  Totally relaxing!  This secret gem of a place is beyond perfection and they have not forgotten a thing!  Don't forget wine at cocktail hour!  Do call EZ Photography to come over and snap some great romantic celebration pictures and head right down Ocean Avenue for some sunset shots on the Historic Pier.  This is the place to capture memories you will not forget!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were only at the B&B for a quick overnight stay but we wanted to stay longer. Our room was fantastic. The staff was great and the pool was terrific. We plan on getting a gift certificate for our family for the Port D'Hiver for Christmas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

On a last minute whim, we got reservations for the Yellow Room. Located in the courtyard by a small pool, the room was perfectly romantic, with a whirlpool tub in a large bathroom and generous drinks downstairs. We ate across the street at a local restaurant on the beach and then walked back along the beach. After a restful night, we had the sampler breakfast and then borrowed beach gear for a beach trip during the morning. We would highly recommend this BB.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Port d'Hiver....nice quiet town......beach was beautiful, we could take chairs, umbrella, drinks to the beach....sit there for hours......we even saw two sand sharks (which are harmless sharks , at least that's what the local surfer and his mum said...!) We stayed at Walter's room....very nice ocean view...our daughters stayed in Dianne's....breakfast in bed was the highlight...Erika made sure we had beautifully presented breakfast trays!!! She spoiled us with her niceness and terrific cooking! Everyone there was warm and courteous. Only downside was that our rooms were verrrry small....!Moo's Ice cream serves great soft cones....loved the Thai Food too which was 10 mins further from Moo's.

Room Tip: Main house rooms can hear the traffic from the street........might take rooms at the south or nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 Ocean Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.