We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Word... Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast
201 Ocean Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - Best Rates
Gainesville, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One Word... Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have never been inclined to go back and review anything, but our recent stay at Port d'Hiver was just that wonderful. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the Dianne room for our "babymoon." Never having stayed at a B&B before, we didn't really know what to expect, but this place blew us away with hospitality and comfort. From the moment we arrived, we felt so relaxed and pampered. The room was a little small, but it didn't bother us one bit. (I think ours was the smallest and least expensive of all the rooms.) The property is gorgeous, the staff is warm and accommodating, and the food was delicious. Totally worth the money. I hope we can go back some day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
204
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We're back from four nights at the Port D'Hiver, having stayed in the Indian River room. The B&B grounds are lovely, and our room was private, spacious, and comfortable. We enjoyed a gourmet breakfast each morning on our private porch overlooking the spa pool. In the courtyard, the soothing sound of water trickling from the fountains, combined with lush tropical foliage, created a tranquil island respite. Everything is kept immaculately clean, and anything you need to enjoy the beach, from snacks and sodas to chairs and umbrellas, are provided. A sumptuous happy hour at 5:00 follows your beach or nap-time, and service is always with a smile. Their "stay four nights and get the fourth night free" makes this a terrific value. I wish I could recreate the whole setting...from room decor to serene courtyard...right here in my own home!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I absolutely cannot rave enough about this B&B. My husband and I have stayed at several B&Bs thru the years and they have all been wonderful...but Port d'Hiver outshines all of them. The B&B is just beautiful, the rooms are perfect, the pool/hot tub is relaxing, the food is AMAZING, but most of all the service is IMPECCABLE! The owners and staff make you feel like royalty and they are just all so sweet. Although Port d'Hiver is located directly on the curve of A1A and Ocean Ave and therefore has a lot of traffic, you hardly notice it due to the way they have built the B&B with lush foliage and gates all around. We stayed in the Sunrise Room and woke up every morning to enjoy coffee on our balcony (which they delivered) while we watched the sun rise. Then down to the beach (right across the street) for a little fishing and strolling on the sand then back to our room for a HUGE gourmet breakfast. Then nap time (I can never take naps as I am too restless, but for 4 days straight I easily fell asleep for a relaxing nap) which was just wonderful. Then later in the day wine (they pour a nice full glass and refill often!) and amazing appetizers and chatting with our fellow B&B vacationers. We will most definitely be going back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Sunrise Room has a jacuzzi tub big enough for 2 people and a private balcony. You can even see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

If you are looking for a truly special, personal, luxurious stay along Florida's east coast, look no further. First outside glimpse of the property is somewhat deceiving...remember that it's a historic property to begin with. Inside, you are pampered and existing in a lovely cocoon. I loved the Havana Room so much that it is now the background picture on my desktop, but I may have to switch that out eventually for the courtyard photo. Breakfast and afternoon appetizers were fantastic. Absolutely the best B&B we have ever encountered, and IMO worth the price.

Room Tip: Havana Room was even better in person than on the website...with palm fronds swaying outside our win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The only thing I would change about this place is the room we stayed in was really bright, early. Other than that it was total perfection. What a great staff and a sweet owner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed in the Windward Suite for 4 nights prior to our Caribbean cruise from Port Canaveral. This was the best decision we have made for a long time. The property is easy to find and the room was excellent, the bath was almost large enough to swim in but with their pool which is used as a hot tub why bother!
The food was outstanding, some of the best we have ever had and the portions were large; there is no way you will leave here hungry.
We have stayed in many establishments around the world and when we stay in the USA we try and use "The Select Registry" as our first research tool in association with "tripadvisor" and this has to be one of the top B&B's in the USA that we have come across.
Can't recommend highly enough.
Kevin & Linnet (UK)

Room Tip: The rooms in the South Cabana will be quieter as they are away from the road, although the soundprro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The service and the staff are excellent, this is for sure. The rooms are clean and decorated nicely. Outside the property could some TLC. I have traveled many places in NA, Europe and the Caribbean, depite how many reviews I have posted. I wanted to do something different, and not too far from home. Being tired of hotels, I really thought I had found something special. The website gives you the impression of a little resort town with luxury rooms. Of course I knew it would not be Palm Beach Island, but after reading every word on their website of things to do, places to eat, shopping etc...I thought it would be the same idea. And with the rates they are asking $475 a night for the room we were in, (there is a special 1 night free if you stay 2) one would think the property and AREA would warrant the prices they are asking. When we arrived we were very disappointed. It's what I call a "wantabe" it's trying to be luxury but it's not. We went to dinner at "the Best" place in town and that was another disappointment. The food was not good -I had lobster with mashed potatoes, and the potatoes were not real. We were recommended this great desert, by our server, therefore we ordered it, only for her to come back and tell us they didn't have any. Crazy...a Friday night "in season"..and it's not that the placed was packed-quite empty actually. That was another waste of money. We went back to our room, only to toss and turn all night-between the outside traffic and the people upstairs that were up walking around until 2 in the morning. As soon as we woke up the next morning we just started packing and left. There is much more to mention, but choose not to-it was just horrible. We drove to Delray Beach, and stayed at the Seagate Hotel, which is excellent. I have stayed there before many times for work. There is so much to do, great shopping and places to eat-beautiful beach-unlike Melbourne beach which was a gross mess and dirty. In Delray you can either rent chairs and umbrella's at the beach 2 seconds from the hotel..or...they have their own private beach and pool at their beach club. It 's just amazing there. The rooms and bathrooms are big-all with balcony. And there the rates for a regular room, will run you about $400. It's not about the money, I have paid much more then that to stay somewhere-where I stay is very important to me-that's what it all about! Should have went there to begin with but wanted to try something different.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portdhver, Owner at Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at Port d’Hiver Bed and Breakfast. We are very happy to read that our staff took excellent care of you and that you found your room to be nicely decorated and clean.

You are absolutely right in saying that our little town of Melbourne Beach is not the same as Palm Beach or Delray Beach and we are sorry if our website gave you the impression that it would be. Unlike those towns with larger populations of 60,000 and 10,000, Melbourne Beach is a little old fashioned beach town of just 3,000. Sometimes people call and ask why they should visit Melbourne Beach, because they haven’t heard of it and it isn’t touristy, but we think that is exactly why guests enjoy visiting here. Founded in 1883, Melbourne Beach is the oldest beach town on the Space Coast with quiet natural beauty. Our beaches are not privately owned and we do not use big sand cleaning machines or have beach cabanas dotting the sand, but we do have great surfing, friendly neighbors riding bikes and taking walks, no crowds and the 2nd largest nesting colony of Loggerhead Turtles in the nation (Matt Damon did a little documentary about it called “State of the Ocean's Animals: Can Loggerhead Turtles Survive the Industrial Age?” if you are curious).

We realize that this kind of small town beach experience is not one that would suit every prospective guest, and that is why we include a detailed map of both the island and the property on the first page of our website and refer to ourselves as “Mayberry on the beach”. Our island is only 1/2 mile wide and Ocean Avenue is the only through street running from the ocean to the river. Because we are so close to the beach, many of our guests like to sleep with their windows open so that they can hear the surf while they sleep. This does sometimes result in a guest hearing cars go by on Ocean Avenue. As for the sounds of other guests walking around, when we built the new cabana buildings 4 years ago we tried to anticipate this potential annoyance by using as many modern sound proofing techniques as possible in the construction process. We rarely receive comments on this kind of noise and sincerely apologize that you were bothered by these late night guests.

Melbourne Beach has many excellent restaurants listed both on our website and in the Guest Information books included in all of our rooms. Many of our guests enjoy walking to the restaurant mentioned in your review because it is a short 3 block walk down to the river from the inn and they can watch the sun set on the water while having a drink on the patio before dinner. It has a classic menu with of lots of options and wonderful fun atmosphere with either a piano player or three piece jazz ensemble every night. It is unfortunate that you did not have the same welcoming and positive experience that our other guests report and we are disappointed that you did not get to enjoy their signature dessert.

Our philosophy here at Port d’Hiver is to exceed expectations. On our website we try to provide the most comprehensive, clear and straightforward information possible so that our potential guests can make the best decision possible regarding their stay. Obviously, in this instance we did not measure up and I hope that in the future when you think of Port d’Hiver you will remember the kindness of our staff and the comfort of your room with fond feelings.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and found a place where you felt comfortable and at ease. We truly appreciate your giving Port d’Hiver a try. We depend on customer feedback to let us know how we can improve and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Sincerely,

Linda Rydson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 Ocean Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D’Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.