We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Management / Bad Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Hotel Condos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Hotel Condos
3455 South A1A Hwy, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Melbourne Beach
St Cloud, fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Management / Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

We stay here every year. This Motel use to be the only one that offered complete privacy. The manager apologized for this person who she said was helping in the office per the owner. She obviously needs medical atteniton. We were very uncomfortable and felt we were being watched. If you want complete privacy DO NOT go to Sandy Shoes.

T. Rogers

  • Liked — View, nice room
  • Disliked — Nite person (old woman on property watching guests)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    4
    6
    8
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montauk NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

Saw other reviews from Trip Advisor and my wife and I decided to stay at the Sandy Shoes from Jan 6th-11th. We booked room #4, directly on the Ocean. The view is spectacular! To wake up every morning and walk out onto our private wood deck with nothing to look at but the Atlantic and the sunrise is as close to Heaven as you can get! Had a 2 room suite with kitchen. Only the lower ends units on each side have a deck. If you're looking for luxury, this is not the place. Sandy Shoes has gone Condo and each owner furnishes their unit as they wish. Our unit needs the owner to pay attention to things! Ratty pots to cook in was a real turnoff.
Melbourne beach is pretty laid back and this place reflects that. Bare bones with great view and comfortable room at a reasonable price for being on the Ocean.

  • Liked — View and location to Ocean
  • Disliked — Bare Bones.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

Sandy Shoes is a quite family orientated motel. It has excellent access to the beach if you enjoy surfing, fishing or just chilling. The staff are friendly and make you feel at home. The accommodation is well presented and equipped. We enjoyed our time there, would stay there again and have recommended it to friends and family.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

I have been visiting Melbourne Beach for years for that perfect Old Florida beach vacation. Peace and quiet is found at Sandy Shoes and the hotel manager Heather is helpful and friendly.
The motel has had a major face lift since the hurricanes did a lot of damage. The suite (perfect for a couple) was large and clean with comfortable new furniture and decor.
Oceanfront deck for perfect sunrise coffee spot. You can walk for miles on the beach and sometimes not see a sole!! Turtle tracks and maybe a fisherman! Large, clean, perfect pool with plenty of chairs and umbrellas and a grill. Convenience of nearby Publix allowed meals at "home" . There's not a whole lot more
anyone could ask for at Sandy Shoes, but Heather was always around to help.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, Oceanfront, Pool
  • Disliked — There was nothing not to like
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

All of us have so much stress in our lives and it is wonderful to have a place that you know that just washes it all away. That place for us in the Sandy Shoes in Melbourne that is just 3 hours away. We had such a fabulous time when we were there in July, that we couldn't wait to go back again. This time we chose to stay in the Studio #11 that has a private ocean view deck .
We arrived at sunset to our little retreat and immediately sat out our our little deck for a while and then walked on the incredible beach. After the sun went down we headed for the Surfin' Turtle for some of the Triple Tail fish that they prepare there and then on to Publix for supplies.
Next morning we were up with the sun to catch the sunrise...you think I'm nuts but, take a look at the picture. Met some wonderful people on the beach that morning, everyone is just so sincere and friendly. Stopped at the office as we headed out for a while and talked to Heather, the manager. What an amazing lady. We hit it off immediately! I mentioned in passing that the kitchen in the studio is much smaller and didn't have any wine glasses and that was it. Much to my surprise when we returned from our outing, there were two wine glasses waiting for us on the table in our room. Now, if that's not being taken care of I don't know what is....
My husband and I love being there. We feel cared for by Heather and her staff and it really feels good. We are already planning our next trip probably in January after the holidays.

  • Liked — The location and the care
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

We wanted to celebrate our 23rd Anniversary in a place where we could just relax and concentrate on one another and came up with the idea of staying in a place on the beach. Being from Miami and knowing that A1A is directly on the beach I got on a Yahoo map and kind of followed A1A up the coast and landed in Melbourne Beach. Put in a search for Hotels/'Motels in that area and up came the Sandy Shoes Motel.
I called and left a message--the call was returned promptly by Healther, the manager, and the reservation was made for #6.
The instructions to get up there from Yahoo maps was perfect and we made it in 3 hours.
Sandy Shoes was everything that we had hoped it would be. Our room was beautiful and the kitchen had absolutely every single thing that you could possibly need in it. The motel is directly on the beach and the only thing you see when you face east is the Atlantic ocean. The lull of the waves can be heard with all the windows closed.
There were lots of other guests staying there at that time and everybody was really low key and very friendly. All of the guests had been there several times before and could not say enough good things about the place.
We had a glorious weekend and could not wait to come back again.
I recommend Sandy Shoes to anyone who enjoys a place that has lovely accomodations, right on the ocean, great staff and amazing sunrises........

  • Liked — The lovely location and the great people (guests and staff)
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

Members of my family, in towm for a family wedding, recently occupied several rooms at Sandy Shoes. I gleefully recommended Sandy Shoes as my husband and I are well acquainted with their level of service; we celebrate all our special events there, i.e. birthdays, anniversaries, etc. The condos are airy, spotless, tastefully decorated and possessive of all the conveniences and comfort of a home away from home. The manager, Heather, as well as the cleaning and office personnel eagerly accomodated our needs in a most pleasant and efficient manner. We can't wait until our next special occasion! Oh Dear - let's celebrate Columbus Day at Sandy Shoes this year!!

Last one into the pool is a rotten egg!!

  • Liked — It's like a home away from home.
  • Disliked — The salt air makes my hair sticky, but that's the ocean for you!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Hotel Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Hotel Condos

Address: 3455 South A1A Hwy, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Shoes has been voted Brevards #1 Beach Motel 5 years in a row. The Motel has been totally remodeled and it has 16 unique different suites. It also has the biggest pool in the area, a huge deck that leads down to the beach and you can see the ocean from all the suites. The perfect place for families or a couples get-a-way. Come experience a great place to unwind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Resort Condos
Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Melbourne Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Hotel Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sandy Shoes Oceanfront Hotel Condos to your Saves list