We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Drinks on the Ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand on the Beach

Sand on the Beach
1005 Atlantic Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951
(321) 327-8951
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Place for Drinks on the Ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were looking for a place to have a few drinks with a great ocean view. This is the place! There is a long seating area that places you looking right at the ocean. Had some great coconunt shrimp as well.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    75
    43
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“All around average place with great beach-side views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Visited on a Wednesday with a business business group of a dozen or so for dinner. Menu included a good variety of seafood and sandwiches, but draft beer selection was putrid (5, including bottom shelf lighy beers). Seating is semi inside, which offers a good mix of sea breeze and covered shelter. Noise level was good, but it clearly was a slow night. ... mostly older crowd, out for early dinner. Our food arrived in a reasonable amount of time and had decent flavor, but nothing special that would have me salivating for a return trip. After dinner, we headed to the bar upstairs for drinks. The seating is limited, but offers sweeping views of the coast. Again beer selection was bad. The music playing was top 40 high energy which screamed dance club, but no damce floor was to be found. I would have expected slower paced island music or something classic that people connect with. Most patrons at the bar were middle aged, and by 9pm it was a gost town. Overall, this establishment is good for a view but dont expect anything special by the way of food and beverage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Ok, good service but chilly and dark even when it was sunny and nice. Liked the food, not great atmosphere

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for breakfast on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Leaving Cocoa Beach on our way to Miami, we were looking for a place on the way which had beachside dining for breakfast and we couldn't have found a better spot. There was literally sand at our feet and we had a perfect view of the water early in the morning.

The helpings are large and the prices are fair. Everything very tasty and served quick. Service excellent. Really nothing to complain about here. The real feature for us was the location though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Been there two times”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Been here for breakfast and dinner both times it was ok and will return in the next month or so. Great view of ocean

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand on the Beach also viewed

 
Melbourne Beach, FL
 

Been to Sand on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.