We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and good enough food right on Melbourne Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sand on the Beach

Sand on the Beach
1005 Atlantic Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951
(321) 327-8951
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
North Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice location and good enough food right on Melbourne Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed near the airport, but drove here for a dinner with colleagues. We sat downstairs in the sand with a view of the ocean, which was very nice. The drinks and food were good as well. We had communal appetizers: calamari, smoking fish dip, chicken wings, and quesadilla. Then each of us had our own entrees -- mostly fresh fish cooked different ways. I had the grilled grouper on rice pilaf and it was good enough. Overall, the location is a big plus and the food is good enough to make this an attractive choice for dining on the beach.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    75
    43
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The view while eating is great. The service and food were great also. I had breakfast and it rocked. I would suggest anyone in the area to try it out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great food, great drinks, and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I love the atmosphere, food, and drinks at Sand on the Beach. James hooks my husband and I up every time we go, which is frequent. We have found plenty of food on the menu that is amazing. Our favorites are their smoked wings (actually bought a smoker after having them), smoked pork sandwich, and fish dip. My kids love their hamburgers and fries. We are locals and if you want the best view in Melbourne Beach coupled with the best food, Sand on the Beach is the place to go!

P.S. James makes a great Italian margarita!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Server was wonderful. Told us grouper was special of the day and excellent, we both had it along with clam chowder- delicious! Loved sitting with feet in the sand watching the sunset- beautiful. Definitely recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location, decent food and drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at a B&B right around the corner from this place. Thus, the location was very convenient. We had our first meal here, sitting downstairs in the sand! The wrap (some sort of chicken with mango sauce) was delicious! It was great to be able to see and hear the ocean. The next day, we grabbed some drinks and took them down to the beach with us. We returned a few days later and were very disappointed. The food wasn't as good as our first experience (and we even ordered the same wrap!). Great for drinks; food will be hit or miss.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand on the Beach also viewed

 
Melbourne Beach, FL
 

Been to Sand on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.