We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Easter Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand on the Beach

Sand on the Beach
1005 Atlantic Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951
(321) 327-8951
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Brevard County, FL
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Easter Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really liked the laid back, right on the beach experience. Although it was Easter, we enjoyed the totally informal atmosphere. And the food was great and plentiful

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    86
    52
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good service - yikes to the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The service was very good but for what we Floridians consider "bar food" this was greatly lacking. The tuna appetizer was pretty good. But the shrimp tacos were just embarrassing. First flour tortillas (that tasted raw, maybe were microwaved but cold and pasty) - the shrimp had been previously cooked and were cold - and the cabbage had nothing to do with this...tasted asian! My husbands Shrimp Diavolo was spicy but basically the same shrimp thrown into some pasta with a marina with a lot of cayenne.

If we are ever forced to stop here again it will be strictly burgers to see if they can pull that off.

Too bad as the location was actually very nice and on the beach. But BLAH to the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not Okay ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We ate here recently on a Sunday night while visiting the Melbourne Beach area. It was almost 8pm, but we were assured that the kitchen was open and everything on he menu was still available. However, when we tried to place our orders, our server informed us that the "fryer and oil was closed down" which apparently meant that no fried foods could be ordered. That greatly limited our choices but, because the restaurant options are limited at that time of night, we reselected and placed new orders. We then had a major issue with one of our sandwiches. A jalapeno pepper apparently "fell into" one of them while it was being prepared and caused my wife great discomfort upon eating it (this after the server had assured us that there would be nothing spicy in either of our meals). Other than bringing my wife several glasses of ice water to contain her lip swelling, the server did nothing to try and remediate the situation. She removed the remaining sandwich, brought us our bill (for the full amount) and sent us on our way. Because the rest of our visit to Melbourne Beach was wonderful, we didn't let this bother us in the least. But let this be a fair warning to others out there. Make sure you are getting exactly what you ordered ... with no hidden "surprises". Accidents in a kitchen can, of course, happen ... but the way the restaurant handled the situation afterwards was not okay.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surf's up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Frank our waiter could not have been more accommodating. I have issues with onions....don't ask..he made sure I was safe. Coconut shrimp soooooo good. Beet salad and mother's Cobb salad way good. Surfers riding the waves....we will return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ON THE BEACH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great spot right on the beach for great food and drinks with the best views from the downstairs dinning area and upstairs bar.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand on the Beach also viewed

Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to Sand on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.