We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Melbourne
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2930 Pineda Plaza Way, Melbourne, FL 32940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here for one night in Feb and couldn't be more happier. Check in was quick and simple and so was check out. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Had a two double bed suite that was very clean and had a very spacious bathroom that was very up to date and modern. Hotel is secure at night and is in a great location. Only bad note is the lounge chair in the room has major signs of wear and needs to be replaced badly. Will be staying here again in April

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShainaFDM, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Your review is sincerely appreciated! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and helpful. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms to include new linens and furniture. Hopefully, you will be able to enjoy these new changes on your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
11
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at four different Candlewoods in the past couple of weeks and have been very happy with all of them - except this one. Maybe it's just this room, but the quality is really subpar. Both the leather recliner and desk chair are visibly worn (i'm talking about major scratches and rips). They look like they came from a garage sale special. The dishwasher door is crusted with caked on food debris, the pillows (there are only 3 for a queen bed) are small, and lumpy; the light over the bed is out; and all the silverware is in the dishwasher rather than the drawer - not sure if they are clean or not. Anyway, I think you get the picture.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShainaFDM, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We're very sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced with us. We'd like to sincerely apologize and guarantee that these issues will be brought up to management and dealt with accordingly. You will be happy to hear we are in process of upgrading all linens and furniture in the rooms so all will be new again in the near future. Thank you so much for the review, we take all very serious and use them to help better our location. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights for a business trip in Melbourne. The queen bed suite was clean but worn. The "leather" recliner showed many signs of wear and tear. There was no luggage stand, so luggage had to remain on the floor or the chair. The vent in the bathroom was covered with a piece of cardboard. The bed was comfortable. The carpet was worn and dirty, so flip flops are a must. The front desk staff was friendly when we saw them; often the desk was unattended. The convenience store in the lobby was well stocked with food items. There is no pool, so if you're hoping to bask in the Florida sun, you'll have to drive to the beach (which is just over the causeway). This is a good place to stay if you're not going to be in the room very much and are not looking for pampering.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShainaFDM, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate every review and always use them to improve in any way. You've pointed out some important issues and I would first like to mention that since we do not have a pool on property we offer free full access to the YMCA 1 mile north of our location. While there are no luggage racks in the rooms, we do have them available to borrow whenever they may be needed. We sincerely apologize for the condition of the room as we are in the process of upgrading which includes all new bed lines, recliners and office chairs. I am so sorry that the room you were assigned was not up to your standards and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future and experience the improvements we've made. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I'll start by saying this was my first trip to Melbourne, so I can't compare this to other local hotels. It is very typical for a Candlewood. In my room, everything was very clean - the bathroom, the kithcen, the floors, the bed...all clean and comfortable. Even the dishes were clean and ready for use (though I always run them through the dishwasher before I use them). The front desk staff was also freindly and helpful. They explained all of the amenities and recommended local restaurants, etc. I had to check out one day early and there were no problems doing that, either. The room I had appeared to have had a fairly recent remodel. The kitchen cabinets and the pots, pans, and utensils all looked new. To me, this is the most important fact because being able to cook my own meals is the main reason I book Candlewood Suites. The other reason I recomend Candlewood Suites is that most travelers are business people - they are generally quiet becasue there are not alot of kids running around; this one was that way - mostly business people and quiet. The hotel is also conveniet to Melbourne, I-95, and the beach. And there is a Publix within a 5 minute drive. (If you are not from the south, Publix is the best grocery chain you will ever experience - service, selection, cleanliness, and value - all 5 stars; but that's a seperate review!) After my first stay in Melbourne, I would highly recommend this Candlewood Suites.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShainaFDM, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words! We're so grateful that you chose our hotel and were able to really enjoy your stay and feel comfortable at our property. We take pride in the cleanliness here and also making sure our guest's stay is as easy and accommodating as possible. Thank you again!

PS you are definitely right about Publix! : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here during the busy holidays. The room was perfect for our family. The kitchen was well equipped and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShainaFDM, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We try to make things as convenient as possible for our guests and part of that is including a fully stocked kitchen in all of our guest rooms. A few other amenities we offer are free washer and dryers, free WiFi and a free DVD lending library to name a few. Thank you for your review, we will see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Pros---friendly staff with excellent customer service

Cons-- needs a thorough cleaning---all wall surfaces, light switches, kitchen cabinets, refrigerator, stove, closet doors and knobs were grimy--some worse than others but this needs to be seriously addressed. Thank goodness there was a cvs---I bought Clorox wipes and wiped down the entire room. Yes I could have called the front desk but I was afraid they'd try to clean using the cleaner that you smell everywhere in the hotel. Good heavens I think they pump it through the air vents because it's definitely not being used to clean with-----I guess they are trying to mask the smell of cigarette smoke which unfortunately doesn't work. So you're either smelling high levels of cleaning solution or smoke. No pool and cell reception not great. If this hotel would stop allowing customers to smoke in their rooms half of their bad reviews would be solved. The hotel does not "have to permit" smoking just because it's an extended stay hotel. It's their choice to allow it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear CocoaVillager,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear your compliments on our friendly hotel staff and excellent customer service. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. It is truly regrettable that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the overall cleanliness in your room. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Consistent experience compared to other Candlewood suites I have stayed. Clean and comfortable room. Good, safe location. The stairwells can be bit more clean and it was smelling bad with smoking smell.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShainaFDM, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It's gratifying to hear you always enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your input on the stairwells and will work hard to keep these up to par as we do with our rooms. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Melbourne

Address: 2930 Pineda Plaza Way, Melbourne, FL 32940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the 'Comforts of Home' bedding collection at the new Candlewood Suites Melbourne Florida hotel, where we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big, built for comfort or an extended stay. It's the ultimate suite hotel for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD/DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Suntree Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.