We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked a Queen, but got a Double” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Melbourne to your Saves list
Super 8 Melbourne
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1515 S Harbor City Blvd., Hwy 192 and US 1, Melbourne, FL 32901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Seneca
1 review
“Booked a Queen, but got a Double”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Front desk manager was not very pleasant and extremely difficult to understand. We asked to see the room before paying for it and the manager argued that it was a queen (that's what we had booked). It wasn't a queen. It was a double and he finally said, "Queen, double" what difference does it make?" The room smelled like someone had used a lot of carpet deodorizer just before we got there. However, since it was during the time of "Bike WeeK" we were afraid we'd have a really hard time finding somewhere else, so we took it. To my surprise the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VijjayGM, Manager at Super 8 Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Charlotte,
Thanks for taking the time to send a review.
Sorry for the confusion about bed size, with our new mattresses, the sizes are very close. We are happy that you found the bed comfortable.
Hope to see you next Bike Week, or sooner, if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    25
    18
    20
See reviews for
27
32
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

large CLEAN rooms. allows pets with permission and $10 per night per pet cost. nice continental breakfast in the morning. close to everything (churches, stores, bus line, etc). separate smoking rooms area. very nice for the cost.

Room Tip: watch for deposits in this area. deposit for key, pets, phone service, etc. can get pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Spgs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had a strange bad experience. I had booked special of 2 nights at 15% discount King bed. I arrived at 3:30 pm. The manager (Vijay patel) was at reception, he did not bother to greet or acknowledge, continued to be engrossed on his computer, no one was around. After small talk, he went on bad mouthing the Super 8 franchise. He claimed the rooms were not ready and offered me queen room as a "gesture", though I had booked King room. He wa annoyed when I pointed a problem with non working Clock. He advised me the Microwave and Fridge were courtesy and he is not required to offer them.
The Housekeeping staff was very good and hardworking professional

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The room was actually bigger then I was expecting and had more character then many motels. But the place is in bad need of a renovation. The furniture in our room was mismatched and worn out. The bathtub fixtures were so corroded that the plug no longer worked. Breakfast in the morning consisted of pre-packaged danishes.

We were in town for the Melbourne Music Marathon and this hotel is situated in an excellent location to the starting line.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Melbourne

Address: 1515 S Harbor City Blvd., Hwy 192 and US 1, Melbourne, FL 32901
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Super Eight
Melbourne Super 8
Super Eight Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.