We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Honest Truth” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy Breakfast for 4!
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Melbourne
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“The Honest Truth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Honestly - We will never stay at this hotel again. I suppose it all started with my phone call to the hotel 3 days before my arrival. Marria (not sure on the spelling) was very rude and put me on hold 3 times before I could request a corner suite on a higher floor. Fortunately, they were able to accommodate us on a higher floor but in a room (which is one of three at the hotel) with a plumbing problem that cannot be fixed. It was suggested to us to place a towel and pull the stopper in the sink every night. This did help to muffle the gurgling noise of the sink at 2:30 a.m. There was mildew around the sink. The shower had mildew and hair from the previous guest upon arrival. The mini refrigerator didn't work well. The furniture was all scratched up and dated. There was no bath tub. You have to shut the bathroom door before sitting on the toilet since there is not enough room to close the door after sitting. You have to sit sideways on the balcony since there is not enough room to sit facing the beach. The only staff members I found to be helpful and friendly were the workers (maids, maintenance guys and pool attendant). I don't feel like this hotel is Hilton quality. It is a quick redo of an old and dated Best Western. There are a couple of positive things to say about this hotel though. It is located on the beach, the breakfast is really good, the pool is bigger than the pictures.

Room Tip: Don't call ahead with request and try to get a corner suites or stay somewhere else on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    288
    104
    46
    29
See reviews for
369
275
33
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice sized rooms, private balconies ocean view, quiet, short walk to the beach, convenient tiki bar. Burgers are decent out on the pool deck, or breakfast buffet. Clean, affordable, a few nearby restaurants like dos amigos are worth a try as well.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location on the beach. Private balconies offer spectacular views of the ocean! The hotel staff are wonderful, especially our server Joe & the Chef in the restaurant. You receive warm chocolate chip cookies upon check-in, which sets your stay off to a wonderful start! The rooms are a bit outdated, but very clean & the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom needs the most updating as there is rust around the door jams. The pool is a great amenity and provides a nice break from the ocean. Overall, a great stay and would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It might not be a five star hotel, but who cares, it was on the beach! The suites were bigger than expected, and the people working there were friendly and accommodated beyond expectation — service was excellent! Most of the ice machines didn't work, but I was told that they are replacing them (so minor to us).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Attended family reunion and the accommodations were really good...all rooms face the ocean and are suites. Had breakfast the first morning expecting it to be mediocre and it was exceptionally good...ate in the restaurant numerous times and always good, including room service food...arrived hot !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was very nice, very spacious, and clean. The service was excellent. Free coffee in the morning, a nice size room refrigerator, free towels for the beach and pool, and best of all with the sliding glass door to the balcony open, we could sleep to the ocean sounds. The ocean is just a stone's throw from the hotel. The walks on the beach at night were beautiful and we saw about 5 sea turtles coming up on the beach to lay eggs. The ocean was great for swimming and the grandchildren loved renting a surfboard from the beach vendor and surfing. The rented kayak was also lots of fun. Pool was nice and it is a great place for families. Also, it is only about an hour to the Orlando airport and Disney.

Room Tip: We stayed on the south side 5th floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Barbara H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was excited to hear that you were able to see our turtles hatch on our beach, it is truly a memorable experience! It was a great idea to open your sliding door and listen to the waves while you are sleeping, most of our guests enjoy doing this as well. I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance to you.
At your service,
Carlos Cerda
carlos.cerda@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have significant experience with the Double Tree brand, and this held up very well. Staff was friendly, Room was clean and great view. I am a HHonors member but feel everyone received quality service. The rate of $109 was a great buy for Ocean view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear James S,

Thank you for your continuous loyalty to our Hilton brand. We truly appreciate your business. I was happy to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and filled with helpful, friendly team members. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, we hope to get the chance to do it again in the near future. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance to you.
Respectfully,
Carlos Cerda
carlos.cerda@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront boasts a resort-style setting overlooking white sand of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Melbourne Beach hotel is conveniently located near Cocoa Beach and Space Coast attractions, with nearby family attractions such as Disney World and other Orlando theme parks for day trips. Our all-suite Melbourne, FL hotel is only 10 minutes from Melbourne International Airport (MLB), or an hour east of Orlando International (MCO). The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront features direct oceanfront suites, perfect for business or leisure visitors alike. Guests can enjoy magnificent views from private balconies, and a range of must-have amenities including luxurious beds and bath amenities, and access to our 24-Hour Fitness Center and Business Center. Whether you are traveling on business, planning a family vacation, or having a romantic weekend getaway, our friendly, professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to Florida's Space Coast with our special, warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. We hope you choose the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Doubletree Hotel Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.