We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hosiptality on the Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy Breakfast for 4!
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Melbourne
Las Cruces
1 review
“Superb Hosiptality on the Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location on the beach was wonderful for the price of hotel room. The warm cookies on arrival were heavenly, but the overall cleanliness of room was lacking. The sound of ocean waves lulled us to sleep each night. The sunrise was beautiful, as was walk on the beach. Too bad overall room cleanliness put a pallor on otherwise wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Pamela M,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our teriffic beach, your walks and our beautiful sunrises. I'm also glad that you enjoyed our famous warm cookies. I'm so sorry that you did not feel your room was clean. This is not at all the service we provide and I will be sure to speak with our Executive Housekeeper about the staff that were assigned to your room. I hope that the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne that you will give us another opportunity to wow you with our service.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    294
    105
    47
    30
See reviews for
371
283
33
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I would give this hotel a 5 star rating. When I checked in, I told Casandra at the front desk that this was a belated honeymoon for myself and my husband. She not only was able to give us an early check-in but also made sure that our stay was enjoyable by sending up a few items courtesy of the hotel and front desk staff and doing a follow-up call to see how everything was and if we needed anything. The hotel is close to restaurants, drug stores, grocery stores and shopping centers and also offers free parking. We had a king size suite with Oceanview and were not disappointed. The room was fantastic and the bed was really comfortable. The area is not too touristy unlike Cocoa Beach. The beach was beautiful. Mike and Jim at the beach bar were amazing. We had such an amazing time and were very sad to leave. We had to meet friends in Orlando and stayed in Disney World at a sub-par hotel which was very expensive. We contemplated canceling the rest of our stay in Orlando and heading back to this hotel because we had such an amazing experience. We will be using this hotel again when we head back to Florida. Thank you so much Casandra for making our stay so enjoyable. I hope that the hotel management know what an amazing employee that they have in you. It was because of you that we had such an amazing experience!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Moemac59,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Cassandra was able to make your honeymoon extra special. Congratulations! We wish you the best of luck in your new life together and we look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Relaxing in my cozy bed enjoying the roar of the Atlantic Ocean is my favorite lull for a good nights sleep.Waking to the rising sun over the water can't be beat. Overall the staff was very accommodating and the cookies just topped me off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear CookieKC,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the ocean waves lulling you to sleep. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree from April 11-17. We booked somewhat early so we were able to secure an advanced booking rate of $99. All rooms are suites and ocean front, so we felt that the value of our dollar went along way at this hotel. I've never stayed at a hotel on the beach for this price before. We were worried about spring breakers, but had called the hotel ahead of time and the had assured us that this was more of a family spring break location and wouldn't have to worry about loud groups of kids, etc. The were absolutely correct and it was mostly families, couples and business travelers at the hotel.

We loved the fact that there were 3 separate areas within the room, which made it feel more like home and less like a hotel stay. TVs are of high quality. One located in the bedroom and family area, which would be good if a family is traveling together...the kids can watch tv in one room and the parents in the other.

The bathroom could use some updating and it is a very tight space. We did like how the vanity/sink are not located in the same area as the toilet/shower. There is no tub for those of you would want to take a bath.

There were some problems with the AC while we were there. We had noticed the evening that we checked in that it was a warmer than we would like in the room, but even though we turned the thermostat temp way down, it really did not get any cooler. The next day the air just shut off, so we called the front desk and they advised it was going to be off from 9a-5p due to maintenance. It didn't matter to us since we'd be gone for the day and the air was back on by the time we returned.

The pool area is smaller than what you would expect for a hotel of this size. I'd imagine that there would be very limited seating if the hotel was fully booked. You have to sign out towels for the pool/beach each time you need to use them. There were several times when we went to get towels and the "guy" wasn't there, so we just had to wait. There were a couple times when we went out there and there was a sign that directed you to the front desk to get the towels. We never swam in the pool and lounged on the beach everyday. You are able to rent beach 2 chairs and an umbrella for $20 a day.

The hotel was in a great location. Very close to restaurants, shopping, grocery store, Walgreens. We rented a car during our trip and had no problems navigating or getting around Melbourne or the surrounding towns.

Yes, the hotel could use some updates, but we agreed that we'd definitely stay again if we came back to the area. We liked it so much that we even decided to stay an extra night. The hotel was very accommodating and allowed us to stay in the same room and the price was $130 for the additional night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Doxikittens,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our engineering department could assist you with your air conditioner and that our front desk was able to accommodate your request for an additional night. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We made last minute plans to get away for our Anniversary. We traveled with another couple and all of us were very pleased.

The staff was very accomodating. They helped recommended places to go and went above and beyond by calling to make sure they had live entertainment. The shuttle took us and gave us the number of a cab in case we stayed out late.

Room service was quick and the food very good!

The bed was comfortable and the shower had great pressure and stayed nice and hot!

The price was well worth it.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor and above for the best ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Bubblmom,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I'm so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations on your anniversary. I'm so glad that you were able to celebrate this special occasion with them. We look forward to your return the next time you need a weekend away.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very basic hotel, no free breakfast unless you are a gold member. It does have excellent ocean views, and the staff is really excellent. It seems the management has made a bad decision about no longer giving free coffee to go in the morning. Breakfast is expensive here, so you may want to hit other local cafe's, and there are several good ones for about half the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mark D,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. We do offer complimentary breakfast for our Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond Guests. We are pleased to offer our hotel guests a breakfast buffet that includes made to order waffles and omelets. We appreciate suggestions and comments from our guests updating some of our services and offerings. We'll be sure to keep them in mind and discuss with our management team. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Doubletree. We stayed both on the 9th and the 6th floors. Both floors were nice. Excellent and helpful staff. We received a cookie on our arrival and/on request. The breakfast was well worth it. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub and the bar. The service we received for our time on the beach was excellent, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about out staff. I will be sure to pass them on to the management team. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Free internet...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
8.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Melbourne Palm Bay/Viera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront boasts a resort-style setting overlooking white sand of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Melbourne Beach hotel is conveniently located near Cocoa Beach and Space Coast attractions, with nearby family attractions such as Disney World and other Orlando theme parks for day trips. Our all-suite Melbourne, FL hotel is only 10 minutes from Melbourne International Airport (MLB), or an hour east of Orlando International (MCO). The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront features direct oceanfront suites, perfect for business or leisure visitors alike. Guests can enjoy magnificent views from private balconies, and a range of must-have amenities including luxurious beds and bath amenities, and access to our 24-Hour Fitness Center and Business Center. Whether you are traveling on business, planning a family vacation, or having a romantic weekend getaway, our friendly, professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to Florida's Space Coast with our special, warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. We hope you choose the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Doubletree Hotel Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.