We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Great view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Kansas City, MO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, Great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Relaxing in my cozy bed enjoying the roar of the Atlantic Ocean is my favorite lull for a good nights sleep.Waking to the rising sun over the water can't be beat. Overall the staff was very accommodating and the cookies just topped me off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear CookieKC,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the ocean waves lulling you to sleep. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    344
    115
    51
    30
See reviews for
445
336
39
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree from April 11-17. We booked somewhat early so we were able to secure an advanced booking rate of $99. All rooms are suites and ocean front, so we felt that the value of our dollar went along way at this hotel. I've never stayed at a hotel on the beach for this price before. We were worried about spring breakers, but had called the hotel ahead of time and the had assured us that this was more of a family spring break location and wouldn't have to worry about loud groups of kids, etc. The were absolutely correct and it was mostly families, couples and business travelers at the hotel.

We loved the fact that there were 3 separate areas within the room, which made it feel more like home and less like a hotel stay. TVs are of high quality. One located in the bedroom and family area, which would be good if a family is traveling together...the kids can watch tv in one room and the parents in the other.

The bathroom could use some updating and it is a very tight space. We did like how the vanity/sink are not located in the same area as the toilet/shower. There is no tub for those of you would want to take a bath.

There were some problems with the AC while we were there. We had noticed the evening that we checked in that it was a warmer than we would like in the room, but even though we turned the thermostat temp way down, it really did not get any cooler. The next day the air just shut off, so we called the front desk and they advised it was going to be off from 9a-5p due to maintenance. It didn't matter to us since we'd be gone for the day and the air was back on by the time we returned.

The pool area is smaller than what you would expect for a hotel of this size. I'd imagine that there would be very limited seating if the hotel was fully booked. You have to sign out towels for the pool/beach each time you need to use them. There were several times when we went to get towels and the "guy" wasn't there, so we just had to wait. There were a couple times when we went out there and there was a sign that directed you to the front desk to get the towels. We never swam in the pool and lounged on the beach everyday. You are able to rent beach 2 chairs and an umbrella for $20 a day.

The hotel was in a great location. Very close to restaurants, shopping, grocery store, Walgreens. We rented a car during our trip and had no problems navigating or getting around Melbourne or the surrounding towns.

Yes, the hotel could use some updates, but we agreed that we'd definitely stay again if we came back to the area. We liked it so much that we even decided to stay an extra night. The hotel was very accommodating and allowed us to stay in the same room and the price was $130 for the additional night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Doxikittens,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our engineering department could assist you with your air conditioner and that our front desk was able to accommodate your request for an additional night. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We made last minute plans to get away for our Anniversary. We traveled with another couple and all of us were very pleased.

The staff was very accomodating. They helped recommended places to go and went above and beyond by calling to make sure they had live entertainment. The shuttle took us and gave us the number of a cab in case we stayed out late.

Room service was quick and the food very good!

The bed was comfortable and the shower had great pressure and stayed nice and hot!

The price was well worth it.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor and above for the best ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Bubblmom,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I'm so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations on your anniversary. I'm so glad that you were able to celebrate this special occasion with them. We look forward to your return the next time you need a weekend away.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very basic hotel, no free breakfast unless you are a gold member. It does have excellent ocean views, and the staff is really excellent. It seems the management has made a bad decision about no longer giving free coffee to go in the morning. Breakfast is expensive here, so you may want to hit other local cafe's, and there are several good ones for about half the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mark D,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. We do offer complimentary breakfast for our Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond Guests. We are pleased to offer our hotel guests a breakfast buffet that includes made to order waffles and omelets. We appreciate suggestions and comments from our guests updating some of our services and offerings. We'll be sure to keep them in mind and discuss with our management team. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Doubletree. We stayed both on the 9th and the 6th floors. Both floors were nice. Excellent and helpful staff. We received a cookie on our arrival and/on request. The breakfast was well worth it. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub and the bar. The service we received for our time on the beach was excellent, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about out staff. I will be sure to pass them on to the management team. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Poor sound proofing means you can hear your neighbor's every word. Pool too small to accommodate even a small fraction of the guests. Bathroom so small you have to stand in the shower to close the door. No desk or work surface in the room. Balcony too small for two chairs. AC and bath fan wheeze loudly. Bed soft and sheets not clean. Carpet not vacuumed. And all that on the first night of our stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear jg70124,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to give every guest a perfect stay and that did not happen. I have passed your housekeeping comments onto our Executive Housekeeper and your comments about the air conditioner and fan to our Chief Engineer. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide youw ith the great service we're known for the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisburg, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Lobby was very nice. And our check in was very nice. My first reaction to the room was not as good... We were on the second floor corner unit the front windows were broke it smelled musty in the room... I wanted to move out of the room asap but it was 12:00 am and was just to tired at this point... So we just stayed in that room for our 3 day stay...The room was ok but it was diffinatly not a Heavnly King Room as Advertised!!!!! My thoughts if you want ocean view request a room at least on the 3rd floor and up.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm sorry that the room you received was not what you expected. We strive to give all our guests a perfect stay. I have sent your comments about the windows onto our Chief Engineer and also to our Executive Housekeeper so that her staff can clean the musty smell in the room. I hope that you will stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne so that we can show you the great hotel and service that we provide.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront boasts a resort-style setting overlooking white sand of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Melbourne Beach hotel is conveniently located near Cocoa Beach and Space Coast attractions, with nearby family attractions such as Disney World and other Orlando theme parks for day trips. Our all-suite Melbourne, FL hotel is only 10 minutes from Melbourne International Airport (MLB), or an hour east of Orlando International (MCO). The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront features direct oceanfront suites, perfect for business or leisure visitors alike. Guests can enjoy magnificent views from private balconies, and a range of must-have amenities including luxurious beds and bath amenities, and access to our 24-Hour Fitness Center and Business Center. Whether you are traveling on business, planning a family vacation, or having a romantic weekend getaway, our friendly, professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to Florida's Space Coast with our special, warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. We hope you choose the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Doubletree Hotel Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.