We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will become a favorite spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy Breakfast for 4!
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“will become a favorite spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

So nice when u hit it just right. Spacious room, my husband could watch TV in the front room of the suite, in the living ,dining area, while I read in bed. All rooms face the ocean. We kept the slider open and listened to the ocean all night. Great view of sunrise. The room is a bit dated and bath a bit screwy setup but the beds were compfy. Location and price are just right. The staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating. We took the free transportation to the downtown area for dinner one night, fun and lively. The beach is beautiful, but was a little windy and chilly for the end of January. Relaxing getaway at the right price.

Room Tip: all rooms face the water. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Connecticut Dive Girl,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the sounds of the waves and surf during the night. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you need a getaway.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    255
    90
    43
    29
See reviews for
319
241
26
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
OCALA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Right on beach. Big room with small kitchenette. Great deal for price. Lots of parking. Off from night life or shopping. No shops of any kind close. But great place to just relax and enjoy. Must request ocean view. Beautiful sunrise to wake up to.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Touringbee,

I'm so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy our beach and sunrises. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you need a getaway.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A spacious beachfront suite. Clean and well-appointed. Staff was helpful and friendly. Welcomed us with warm cookies. The beach area was very nice. The balcony a little cramped. But for the price it met all of our needs and expectations, and we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Askmey,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I'm glad that you enjoyed your cookies and our beach. We do have the best view. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

An excellent experience from the front desk thru the cleaning rooms. Relation price/quality and services excellent. The rooms view to the ocean amazing, close to many restaurants, dowtown, diversions, airport and learning centers.
Great hotel...

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocena view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sulbaran,

Thank you so much for your review of our property and your kind words about the experience you had during your stay. I'm so glad that you were able to enjoy the wonderful view and the beach that we have along with the many local restaurants and our downtown area. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needville, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We recently traveled to Melbourne, Florida on short notice and decided to stay on the beach instead of the other hotel offerings in the area. I went looking for discounts and found good rate at this property.

Our family enjoyed the stay. While it was in January, the pool and hot tub were open and we took advantage of them on the 80 degree days that week. The beach was right there also--just a bridge over the dunes and down to the beach for a walk. The pool is shaded as the afternoon moves along...which made it cool on those days but probably would be fine on a warmer summer day.

The room was fine. It is not a new property but the maintenance appeared to be in order and the furniture was in good shape. The bathroom set up was odd because it was in the middle of the suite with the bedroom ocean-side and living room on the other side. There is a door to the shower area and a pocket door for the bedroom...but I would have preferred being able to close the door to both of the other rooms for privacy.

The staff took good care of us when we needed service--extra towels, late check-out, etc.

We did order room service. I had a grouper entree which failed to live up to the billing. The fish seemed overcooked and almost "tough" compared to better-prepared grouper entrees I have had.

Overall, this is a very good choice for a hotel to stay on the beach at a reasonable price, enjoy the sound of the waves crashing against the shoreline, and relaxing. We will stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear RonCam2008,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your stay in Melbourne. I'm so glad that you and your family were able to enjoy the beach and our pool area. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I will be sure to forward them to our Management staff. I'm sorry that the meal you ordered from Room Service was not as you expected. I will be sure to inform our Chef of your comments. We look forward to hosting you and your family again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is an old property, with room doors opening to the outside instead of a hallway. They do try to renovate at a decent interval, but the maintenance on the place just cannot keep up. The rooms are good size and there is a wonderful ocean view from each one, but the salt air and humidity corrodes/rusts everything metal and the bath room is really small. The rooms are a little musty and the HVAC is a little noisy. Very old design.

Room Tip: Get a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Harry W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Thank you for your kind words about the oceanfront view from our rooms and their size. We also have a great view of the river and town from our outdoor hallways. You are correct that our maintenance department works very hard to combat the wear and tear that is a result of the oceanfront environment. I'm sorry that you did not feel they were able to keep up. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne and you can see the many changes and upgrades that have taken place.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The desk and housekeeping staff were excellent. The breakfast buffet was great. Pool is nice. Whirlpool could be a bit bigger. Great view and direct access to a beautiful beach. Very nice vacation destination.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Repeat_cust0mer,

Thank you for your kind words aobut our staff and our property. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the view along with the beach and our pool area during your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Doubletree Guest Suites Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Doubletree Hotel Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront boasts a resort-style setting overlooking white sand of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Melbourne Beach hotel is conveniently located near Cocoa Beach and Space Coast attractions, with nearby family attractions such as Disney World and other Orlando theme parks for day trips. Our all-suite Melbourne, FL hotel is only 10 minutes from Melbourne International Airport (MLB), or an hour east of Orlando International (MCO). The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront features direct oceanfront suites, perfect for business or leisure visitors alike. Guests can enjoy magnificent views from private balconies, and a range of must-have amenities including luxurious beds and bath amenities, and access to our 24-Hour Fitness Center and Business Center. Whether you are traveling on business, planning a family vacation, or having a romantic weekend getaway, our friendly, professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to Florida's Space Coast with our special, warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. We hope you choose the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.