We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Second time around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have stayed here before about 4 months ago and were not disappointed. The room was not ready when we arrived at 3:30 but only took 10 min to fix that. We don’t eat at the hotel because the prices are a little high and there are so many other choices in the area. The place is clean and nice I can’t believe how fast they manage to clean up all the sand and water the children track in from the beach. We will stay there again in the fall as we think this hotel a great choice.

Room Tip: My wife is handicaped so we stay in a handicap room with a large walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Scott M,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and that our Front Desk staff could get you to your room so quickly. We look forward to hosting you and your family again the next time you visit Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We are not far from Melbourne and chose this hotel for a recent 'staycation'. We enjoyed out stay and even extended it from 1 to 2 days. I'll lay out what I found good and bad, with the good definitely outweighing the bad.

The good: The rate for this hotel was less than other comparable hotels in the area. Not cheap by any means but still less than others. All rooms oceanfront suites, so no guessing as to whether you'll get a good view. Room wasn't fancy but was clean and had modern amenities like two flatscreens, coffee maker, and minifridge. Balconies are a bit small but still great views and atmosphere. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet, it was a bit pricey as is the norm for hotels like this, but the food was good, there was a good variety, and I could eat all I wanted. A good value and many people seemed to have gotten vouchers as part of their hotel package. And who wouldn't mention the warm cookies at checkin, especially when we're traveling with a six year old! Every single staff and management member was friendly and helpful, no exceptions. One interesting feature about this hotel is its location: the part of the beach it's on is known as the 'mid-reach' in Brevard County. The mid-reach is a seven mile section of beach that hasn't been renourished with direct offshore dredging because there are sensitive reefs just offshore. Beaches north and south of midreach have been renourished with dredged sand that changes both the nature of the beach (more crushed shell on renourished vs natural sand) and also the surf conditions (more surf on unrenourished). Fishermen and surfers seem to like the non-dredged nature of the beach and the nearby offshore reefs that produce more interesting sea life and waves. But without the large, flat renourished beach, the surfline is at a higher angle and produces near-shore waves that can sometimes drive a novice body surfer or swimmer into the sand with uncomfortable consequences. Other nearby unrenourished beaches, like Playalinda, are the same. I skinned up my back a little, and got plenty of sand into body parts where sand doesn't belong, but greatly enjoyed the waves and surf nonetheless. Better than the relatively lifeless but calmer conditions on renourished beaches. The 'mid-reach' is scheduled to get more sand on the beach to protect from erosion, but it will be dredged elsewhere and trucked directly onto the beach vs. direct dredging, so the reefs are not damaged. Not sure how this will eventually affect the nature of the beach.

The not so good: The suite layout is a bit odd - the sink and vanity are separate from the toilet and shower. Every time we used our sink, it gurgled loudly for a few minutes. The toilet seat was loose and wouldn't stay up. The pool and pool deck area, for a resort like this, seemed small and confined. There are shops, restaurants, etc. nearby but most of them are close to a mile away, going either north or south. We enjoyed walking along the beach to some of them but it does take a 10-15 minute brisk walk to get there, which some people wouldn't do.

Conclusion: We enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider this hotel for another visit. We extended our stay because we liked the hotel and actually ran into another family we know that was also 'staycationing'. The not-so-goods I listed are pretty minor and nothing that would make me think this is a hotel I wouldn't want to go back to. It's not super-fancy but is very nice, which is in my comfort zone. We'd never stayed at this hotel prior, unlike several others in this general area, so it was good to know that this would be an attractive option for future visits.

Room Tip: All rooms oceanfront with balconies, so not a lot of issues. Ocean view from very low floors may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0bot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear R0bot,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I appreciate your thoroughness. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your child enjoyed our famous Doubletree Cookies. I have sent your concerns about the bathroom fixtures in your suite to our Engineering Department.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to hosting you and your family again on your next 'staycation' in Brevard.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Only in Melbourne for one night and wanted to stay at beach. This was a great stay. Nice location - very nice to stay in a suite rather than a hotel room. Hotel is designed for families and is definitely family friendly. Rooms were nice. Ocean was easy to access. Check-in was easy and friendly. Not fancy but clean and efficient. Cafe and restaurant on site. Close proximity to grocery shopping. Definite value, primarily because it is a suite.

Room Tip: First floor rooms give you less of a view but provide great play space for kids - like having your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcdef999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Abcdef999,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and staff. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Lets start with the good: Beautiful beach, nice location, alot of choices around to eat, shop etc
front desk staff polite and helpful. Room was nice with the separate living room with couch and small table was equipped with a mini fridge, coffee pot and microwave Beds were comfortable and loved the balcony and views of ocean. Nice in the morning to sit and relax while others getting ready, The hotel did have a small gym which was nice to have. And yes they did have cookies upon arrival!
Now the not so good: The hotel has many events going on weddings, etc which will block off use of areas for you, we had hard time getting to beach while they were setting up. The next morning when I looked out the balcony, you could see all the beer cans and reminiscent of the wedding thrown about the grassy area. The pool was filled with people who live in neighboring areas just crashing for a fun time. We spoke to many of them, from kids riding their bikes there for a fun day to whole multi generation families kids mom dad grandma just making a day out of it, not only does this crowd area, takes up lounges, but it gives no sense of security at all. For that reason alone, I will not be back! I would say at least half o f the people there did not belong. As far as the hotel itself, common areas need to be updated, nothing special at all, not what you would expect from a hilton at all, rooms were ok nothing special and should be updated as well. The doors were rusty and you entered your room from outside, which also made me nervous. The bathroom is super small, cant even open and close door without precise movements. The walkways outside the room were covered in peoples dishes of food which laid out there for days, we had to talk to front desk to ask them to clean it. Trash cans in that area as well, were overflowing with a smell. We would run to elevators to avoid smell. The pool area was small, nothing special. Our view out the front door as people say was that of the buildings rooftop and in a distance the river across the way.
All in all I like to stay and feel safe and clean, that was not the case, the view was great and area nice, staff was helpful when you spoke with them. Did not eat there at all so I cannot review that. Price we paid was good. We did have some maintenance issues with fridge and ac, and they were taken care of intermediately and courteously.

Room Tip: higher floor for better views and quieter as they have alot of functions on lawn outside rooms and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5bythebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astatula, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is an older property, originally built in the early 80's I believe. All rooms face the ocean and are suites with view of a quiet piece of Atlantic shoreline with excellent sand (yes, white sand is not to be taken for granted in the Atlantic side!) The staff were friendly and attentive and the entire property was well groomed and clean. It is a little worn, and the suites are smallish with a few cramped spaces, like the bathrooms and the minimal porch on the ocean-side. The rooms feature a Keurig-style coffee maker with an excellent choice of coffee as well as microwave and fridge. Moderately priced for a room with this view, you could easily stay a few days here in one of the quieter Florida ocean communities. This was a getaway for the wife and I, and it was very relaxing.

Room Tip: As views go, not a bad spot in the place. I would want to be in either tower as far away from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Doug K,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I'm glad that you and your wife enjoyed you stay with us and were able to relax. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

While the suites themselves are merely average, the service here was great and the location was gorgeous.

On arrival, we were too early to check in due to our flight schedule, but we were given delicious welcome cookies (which we we back for again and again) and immediate access to the facilities. We used the opportunity to spend time on the relatively uncrowded beach, bypassing the kid infested pool. We next visited the bar outside and were treated to stellar rum and a friendly bar tender who instructed us on the art of finding nesting sea turtles. The excellent service included a complimentary shuttle that took us downtown and to the airport-very convenient, friendly and attentive staff, and decent food service at breakfast.

The location is phenomenal. It's the waterfront, the beach is beautiful, you can walk out at night and see sea turtles, downtown Melbourne is minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncnativegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Ncnativegirl,

Thank you so much for reviewing our property and your kind words about our staff. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to see the turtles making their nests and enjoyed our quaint downtown area. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is much different from other hotels. Almost every room gets a view out of the front of the hotel and of the ocean. This is a great plus as most hotels don’t give you an ocean-front view unless you pay a big fee for it. There are a couple of downsides to it, like the major need for remolding. Other than that, the room was fairly clean and I didn't have to ask the maintenance to clean up the couches or the bathrooms. As with all hotels, I love them, especially the Double Tree Resorts.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room on the right building as it has better cleaned rooms when I went there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Bean101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretMaryKehoe, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Mr_Bean101,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I'm glad that you were able to relax while you were here. I hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you come to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Margaret Mary Kehoe
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
1.8 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
2.2 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront boasts a resort-style setting overlooking white sand of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Melbourne Beach hotel is conveniently located near Cocoa Beach and Space Coast attractions, with nearby family attractions such as Disney World and other Orlando theme parks for day trips. Our all-suite Melbourne, FL hotel is only 10 minutes from Melbourne International Airport (MLB), or an hour east of Orlando International (MCO). The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront features direct oceanfront suites, perfect for business or leisure visitors alike. Guests can enjoy magnificent views from private balconies, and a range of must-have amenities including luxurious beds and bath amenities, and access to our 24-Hour Fitness Center and Business Center. Whether you are traveling on business, planning a family vacation, or having a romantic weekend getaway, our friendly, professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to Florida's Space Coast with our special, warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. We hope you choose the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Doubletree Hotel Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing