We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Sonny's BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q

Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
150 Sheriff Rd, Melbourne, FL 32940 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
(321) 242-4600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 363 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Vass, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Sonny's BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had dinner and had a great meal. The service was awesome and the BBQ was great. Cooked extremely well and at 2/3rds full the service could not be beat! Dena at the bar was the best. Could not let a beer get less than half empty. Wow! Was passing through but would definitely go back. Thanks!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    28
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Its BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Not that great...but maybe I'm just not a BBQ person. People were friendly but it seemed like a lot of advance prep work on the food wo was marginal at best. There are better Mom & Pop BBQ places.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I like this place because it is not expensive and they have a good salad bar. Their BBQ is very good and plentiful. Both my husband and I like to go there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT BRISKET!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I ordered the brisket (sliced) with baked beans, potato salad and cornbread. The brisket was fantastic with sizzlin sweet sauce! The potato salad was AWEFUL! The beans were pretty good, but a little too saucy for my taste. I would go again, but try other sides.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“It is what it is...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We've been here a few times and you can expect chain style BBQ. Nothing to write home about, but nothing to really complain about. Service and value have always been great, but to be honest there are not many good BBQ places in Melbourne or at least nothing to compared to other parts of the country (which is why I now own a smoker). :)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.