We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, uneven service, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House Restaurant

Chart House Restaurant
2250 Front St, Melbourne, FL 32901-7302
321-729-6558
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 349 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Haven
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great views, uneven service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

No matter where you sit,there are great views here of the water. Friday nights you can see sailboats coming in. If you can't sit at window, ask for a banquet booth- more romantic. Food is pricey but very good. Salad bar has caviar and whipped cream. Did not like the fact that our waitress played only to the man and ignored me, especially since it was my birthday. Manager was great

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    117
    45
    31
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A great place to eat on the water. The staff is super friendly and the atmosphere is fantastic. We were here in March so it was still a little chilly outside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view,fab food, treated like a king!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I love the valet parking, and the ambiance! One is treated royally! The special flavoured martinis are quite good, as are the crab cakes for an appetizer. The crab stuffed flounder was superb, juicy not dried out & not undercooked, either! My wife loved the Salmon, my uncle the filet mignon, and the teriyaki steak medallions were fantastic! Succulent, rare, just like I love them! We had a great view of the water, too, but the only thing that was a negative; was that the poor waiter had to continually run between two columns to take care of us. Halfway through the meal, a large, noisy group was seated directly next to us, by one column. The entire restaurant wasn't yet full, so I wonder why they would situate them there & thus intrude upon a lovely, so far quiet serene dinner. Over all though, a fine time was had by all! It's very pricey; so we wouldn't eat there every week, but well worth it for a special occasion, or a romantic night out!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We dined at The Chart House during a recent trip to the Space Coast of Florida. As always, it was absolutely delicious. We've been here a number of times and have never been disappointed with either the food or the service. We always ask for a table by a window so that we can enjoy watching all the wildlife in the river. We were not disappointed this time! We watched a large pod of manatees playing very close for about a half hour. We also saw dolphin, pelicans, mullet jumping and many other creatures. It sure makes for a pleasurable dining experience. The coconut shrimp should not be missed. The salad bar is huge with many unique items offered. This is not a place to take young children. We took our adult daughter. It was her first experience here and she loved it as much as we do!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Locatiom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have dined at this particular Chart House a number of times, but this was the first in quite a while. It was our anniversary and I had requested a table by the window and they did not disappoint. Our waiter, Tommy, was very nice and accommodating. We had the Crab Mango Stack for an appetizer (I could make a meal out of that alone), and my husband had the Lobster Bisque. Both were excellent, as were the Mango Mojitos. My fish was a bit overcooked and the shrimp had that strange flavor that you sometimes get - don't know why. But overall it was good. My husband had swordfish, which he enjoyed. The entrees could have been better, but the evening was very, very nice and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chart House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.