We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheddar's

Cheddar's
2130 W. New Haven, Melbourne, FL 32904
321-409-0711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 339 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Palm Bay, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently ate at Cheddar's after not having been there since they first opened. Our first visit was not what we would have liked but they had just opened and were extremely busy during that visit. This visit made up for it and we won't wait so long to go back. We were seated promptly and our server greeted us soon after. We were very happy with our food choices. We had their onion rings as an appetizer. The portion is huge. You need more than two people in your party if you are going to order these onion rings unless you are really hungry. They are delicious! My husband had the New Orleans Pasta which was shrimp, chicken, smoked sausage and penne pasta in Cajun Alfredo sauce with garlic bread. The portion was huge & he had more than enough to take home for another meal. I had the Dijon chicken & mushrooms which was grilled chicken with honey Dijon sauce, sautéed mushrooms served on top of rice with two sides. I too had more than enough to take home for another meal. We were stuffed. Our server was excellent. Our drinks never ran dry. She brought another refill before we had to ask. She was very attentive. We definitely will not wait so long to go back. One thing though is that they are usually very busy and you will have to wait for a table but it is well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    60
    30
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Been here 5 times so far this year. Always great service, large portions, reasonable prices and nice atmosphere.

Sometimes gets a little loud, and since they are awesome there is usually a short wait.

Believe me, it's worth a little wait time.

Just do it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Service! Good Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We sat in the bar are to eat, our waitress was very kind and management stopped by on a few occasions to make sure everything was as it should be. Nice experience, lovely dinner on a rainy night.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We drive an hour to go here. The food is yummy, prices are fantastic and the portions on some of the meals are fit for a king. We are addicted to this restaurant. We've already brought several friends and family to Cheddars. It's our favorite place to go for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quick lunch at 'Hot Spot"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

PARKING: Plentiful
DAY/TIME: Tuesday 3-4 PM
HOST/GREETING/WAIT: Yes, Quick – NO wait

VISIT: 3rd time
DÉCOR/FEEL: Casual / Traditional
SERVER: Jenna / Bar
MENU/FARE: Varied / Seafood / Chicken / Appetizers

BAR: Full

PRICING: Sensible

LOCATION: Melbourne (New Haven)

THE GOOD: NO WAIT!

THE BAD: Nothing really

THE BETTER: Cleanliness
WHAT WAS ORDERED:
Unsweetened Ice Tea / Miso Grilled Salmon w/ Broccoli

DRESS FOR THE OCCASION: Casual not Grubby
THE BLAB: Located on a busy avenue (192/New Haven) you will notice Cheddars has an everyman casual attitude feel to it… The issue with Cheddar’s is timing. It is a VERY popular place and lines are usually out the door during prime times: WARNING: If you are not a patient person don’t attempt Cheddars on a weekend evening…wait can be up 30 minutes. You’ll enjoy the greeting at the door and the cleanliness of the house. Bathrooms are very clean. Portions are a bit on the small size yet adequate. Prices are very sensible. Food prep is excellent. Flexibility on selection is great. Wine selection is adequate. Beer selection good. Also has FULL bar.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE: 3rd time there….I like to ‘sneak in’ midday and avoid the wait. Went to the bar where Jenna (server/barmaid) greeted me within seconds when I sat down and I had my drink within a minute. My entrée was served promptly and my decent size salmon was grilled to perfection with a semi-sweet ’miso sauce’ over white rice. Broccoli complimented the dish…I added black pepper and asked for extra lemon slices for it and it was perfect.

WHAT SHOULD YOU ORDER?:
Their ‘low-calorie’ entrees are especially flavorful. A fun drink is the ‘Coconut Mind Eraser’

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar's also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Cheddar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheddar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.