We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good southern cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Possum Crossing

Possum Crossing
4200 N. Wickham Road, Melbourne, FL 32934
321-622-8203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 359 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
Restaurant details
Oakland, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really good southern cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having both been raised with Southern cooking, we were pleasantly surprised at finding Possum Crossing. The menu included black eyed peas and cornbread to die for. I would return just for the cornbread! I had the fried catfish and my husband had the pulled pork. Both were very good. Great selection of sides as well. We did not try an appetizer or dessert this time, but definitely will next go round. We have added it to our list of go to restaurants in the Melbourne area. The service was excellent with a friendly and helpful waitress who was attentive but not a pest. Easy to get to and good prices. Definitely worth trying if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    19
    20
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent southern style food in Florida”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Despite the geographic location of Florida, Florida is not part of the South. Possum Crossing is one of the few higher class of service restaurants to offer southern style food. They do offer some Florida delicacies like alligator and frog legs but most is standard southern style cooking. The chicken and waffles was quite a discovery. Not a bad night out in Melbourne.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Country Food at Its Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you're looking for true country cooking in a great atmosphere, this is the place for you. We dined (much more than we should have) on an appetizer of Fried Chicken Livers, my wife had the fried chicken and I had the country fried steak and we shared a banana pudding that was absolutely worth the misery I felt for eating so much! We were there at lunch on a weekday and the waitress was fantastic - all glasses kept full, friendly conversation and recommendations, etc. Food takes a little bit to get because nothing is cooked until you order it but wasn't much of a wait anyway - maybe 20 minutes after placing our order. Very quiet, extremely clean and well decorated. Well suited for families, too. If you're in the area, you have to pay them a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, interesting menu, OK service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went to Possum Crossing not expecting much and enjoyed our meal very much. There was a wide variety of food on the menu, some items very interesting. We had pulled pork and sausage and they were good. The BBQ sauces were pretty good. The garlic mashed potatoes were OK and appeared to be real potatoes. The cornbread was tasty and moist unlike the dry cornbread that is the standard in many places. The service was friendly but a little slow. It took a while for our waitress to get to us. The only real disappointment was the side salad. It was $3.00 for mostly lettuce. The prices were very reasonable. Dinner for two of us was less than $30. We would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“VERY disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went for lunch with the family. It was our first visit-and definitely our last. I doubt it will be open much longer.
2 of us ordered the fried chicken basket. It was chicken "petals" or shavings (?), 6 per basket. All 6 together would not make one chicken tender/strip. There were also about 15 french fries and some slaw. Fries were limp and flavorless. Slaw was missing dressing and flavor. Not sure how old the cabbage was. $8.99/basket-if you buy a soda/tea to go with it. WAY overpriced.
One in the group ordered the veggie burger with chips. Tasted like a frozen veggie burger from one of the big box stores. Again, $8+, with the purchase of a drink.
Another ordered the flounder basket. The flounder was served similar to the chicken petals.
The fifth person ordered the veggie plate. She was served 3 monkey bowls of vegetables. Passable, but nothing notable. She couldn't even finish them. They were served with cornbread which she said was great but she only ate less than a third of it.
We had the fried green tomatoes while we were waiting for the food to come out. They were good so our expectations were high.
In the end the bill came to $66.66. No one finished the meal. We all left very disappointed. I have to say the waitress could not have been better. She was very professional and kept us up-dated on the progress of the meals. She made sure every one had drinks throughout the meal. Its the management that has to change. Unfortunately, I think its too late.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Possum Crossing also viewed

 
Melbourne, FL
Melbourne, FL
 

Been to Possum Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Possum Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.