We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good southern cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Possum Crossing - CLOSED

Possum Crossing
4200 N. Wickham Road, Melbourne, FL 32934
321-622-8203
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Oakland, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good southern cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having both been raised with Southern cooking, we were pleasantly surprised at finding Possum Crossing. The menu included black eyed peas and cornbread to die for. I would return just for the cornbread! I had the fried catfish and my husband had the pulled pork. Both were very good. Great selection of sides as well. We did not try an appetizer or dessert this time, but definitely will next go round. We have added it to our list of go to restaurants in the Melbourne area. The service was excellent with a friendly and helpful waitress who was attentive but not a pest. Easy to get to and good prices. Definitely worth trying if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
West Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent southern style food in Florida”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Despite the geographic location of Florida, Florida is not part of the South. Possum Crossing is one of the few higher class of service restaurants to offer southern style food. They do offer some Florida delicacies like alligator and frog legs but most is standard southern style cooking. The chicken and waffles was quite a discovery. Not a bad night out in Melbourne.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Country Food at Its Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you're looking for true country cooking in a great atmosphere, this is the place for you. We dined (much more than we should have) on an appetizer of Fried Chicken Livers, my wife had the fried chicken and I had the country fried steak and we shared a banana pudding that was absolutely worth the misery I felt for eating so much! We were there at lunch on a weekday and the waitress was fantastic - all glasses kept full, friendly conversation and recommendations, etc. Food takes a little bit to get because nothing is cooked until you order it but wasn't much of a wait anyway - maybe 20 minutes after placing our order. Very quiet, extremely clean and well decorated. Well suited for families, too. If you're in the area, you have to pay them a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Conceptumator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
551 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, interesting menu, OK service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went to Possum Crossing not expecting much and enjoyed our meal very much. There was a wide variety of food on the menu, some items very interesting. We had pulled pork and sausage and they were good. The BBQ sauces were pretty good. The garlic mashed potatoes were OK and appeared to be real potatoes. The cornbread was tasty and moist unlike the dry cornbread that is the standard in many places. The service was friendly but a little slow. It took a while for our waitress to get to us. The only real disappointment was the side salad. It was $3.00 for mostly lettuce. The prices were very reasonable. Dinner for two of us was less than $30. We would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackofPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“VERY disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Went for lunch with the family. It was our first visit-and definitely our last. I doubt it will be open much longer.
2 of us ordered the fried chicken basket. It was chicken "petals" or shavings (?), 6 per basket. All 6 together would not make one chicken tender/strip. There were also about 15 french fries and some slaw. Fries were limp and flavorless. Slaw was missing dressing and flavor. Not sure how old the cabbage was. $8.99/basket-if you buy a soda/tea to go with it. WAY overpriced.
One in the group ordered the veggie burger with chips. Tasted like a frozen veggie burger from one of the big box stores. Again, $8+, with the purchase of a drink.
Another ordered the flounder basket. The flounder was served similar to the chicken petals.
The fifth person ordered the veggie plate. She was served 3 monkey bowls of vegetables. Passable, but nothing notable. She couldn't even finish them. They were served with cornbread which she said was great but she only ate less than a third of it.
We had the fried green tomatoes while we were waiting for the food to come out. They were good so our expectations were high.
In the end the bill came to $66.66. No one finished the meal. We all left very disappointed. I have to say the waitress could not have been better. She was very professional and kept us up-dated on the progress of the meals. She made sure every one had drinks throughout the meal. Its the management that has to change. Unfortunately, I think its too late.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelLover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Possum Crossing also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing