We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food and service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crane Creek Tiki Taproom and Grill - CLOSED

Crane Creek Tiki Taproom and Grill
2101 Henley Ct, Melbourne, FL 32901
3213272911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Southwestern, Caribbean, Eclectic
Good for: Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

So disappointing! Waited 10 minutes before we were even acknowledged. Had a restaurant.com certificate so gave it to the waitress as soon as she came over. Ordered the chips and salsa. The salsa was so watery and seemed as though it had been put through the processor one time too many. My son had the shrimp escarole. Again, tasteless and hardly any sauce. Does the cook have any spices in the kitchen. We ordered 4 meals and not one had any flavor. Not even any salt. The best thing we had were the french fries. When we went to pay, the waitress informed us that they were no longer taking restaurant.com. Shouldn't she have told us this when we first handed it to her? We ordered 2 extra items that we would have never ordered if we had known that. She did give a 15% discount, but it did not make up for the poor service and the sub par food. Never again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    11
    11
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Located across the street from Crane Creek...nice views from the deck. Casual food. Great Cuban Sandwhich and fish tacos. Great variety of homemade salsas. Cold beer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cool location and grill and bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Kinda on the back road of downtown Melbourne this place is cute and a great place when it is warm to sit outside on their deck and watch sports. The food is good and they have interesting specials!! Leaning towards Mexican food, but most everything we have had has been good!! Beer and wine only but who needs anything else when you are chowing down on their enchiladas?? They also have a contest for who can eat this massive burrito. Parking is sometimes a challenge because if you park in an otherwise empty lot and you are not in one of their few spaces you will be towed by the grumpy owner of the lot(not affiliated with the Grill and Bar)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome, Alaska
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Nice Change of Pace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Located on Henley Street in Downtown Melbourne, it has several tables outside for Fall and Spring relaxation and the Taproom itself is relatively small dominated by the bar which boasts ample seating. Ths place is worth a visit if you have your expectations right.

While the servers are friendly, bar staff efficient and the kitchen does a good job the Tiki Taproom is first and foremost, a nice little wateringhole that happens to serve food, some of it pretty good. During busy times at night, the taproom can get quite loud.

Of note, their Burrito challenge. On the wall as you walk into the taproom, is the Wall of Shame. Pictures documenting those poor souls who undertook the challenge but alas, the Burrito won. As of my last visit (Jan 2013), just one brave diner has been able to manage to best this beast of a Burrito and it took him two efforts as his first ended with misery when he was not able to absorb all of the hot sauce pour into the 6 lb beast, yep, you gotta lap that up off your plate. Reportedly, on his second try, he used bread to sop up the excess so the first ever victory over this monstrous burrito was officially recorded.

This is a nice place that I very like very much and while I appreciate enthusiasm, some of the ratings here are bit aggressive and may skew your enjoyment of what it is, rather than what you are led to expect.

Go understanding it is a nice little bar serving decent + food, relax and enjoy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“All Around Awesome. Best Fish Tacos in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Service was really great. Place is quaint and has some great character. Definitely check out all the Salsa they have. The Ahi Tacos and the Snapper Tacos are out of this world good!!! Definitely a must go to if your in the area!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crane Creek Tiki Taproom and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crane Creek Tiki Taproom and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.