We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dove III

The Dove III
836 East New Haven Av, Melbourne, FL 32901
321-725-DOVE
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 344 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

From the moment you arrive and are seated the service is with out a doubt fantastic we went for dinner on a weekend reservations suggested ! And had the most delicious Italian dinner from the complimentary warm breads to the entree's this restaurant takes pride in its service and food, It Shows !!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    20
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Italian meal in old downtown area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

After asking for suggestions on where to have a nice dinner from our hotel staff, we landed at the Dove III for a nice dinner meal.

The portion sizes were large, and the meal for our party was well prepared and enjoyed by all.

One in our party ordered the filet rolleta, one had the veal, one the fresh fish, and one the chicken parm. No one left hungry or unsatisfied.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
536 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Used to be a bar but now an Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very friendly staff here. It's a little on the expensive side but you do get a lot of food. Their soups are excellent. Good pasta dishes too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great classic Italian food with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had an evening to spend in Old Downtown Melbourne. The food was excellent but the servings were so large that we should have shared the main course. Prompt service with perfect timing between courses. The waiter came to our table and placed pasta soup for us. I commented, "We did not order soup". We were then informed that the soup was complimentary. It was delicious..light tomato sauce. To clean the palate, lemon cello was served which is homemade at the restaurant. Due to the large portions, almost everyone left the restaurant with food to take home. By the front door was a basket of rolls to take home to enjoy tomorrow. Prices are expensive but we had a wonderful meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A disappointment, sadly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I travel to Melbourne once or twice a year and while it is a very convenient place, there really isn't much in the way of great food. I said that to a local and she retorted that The Dove was the exception to that rule. So my sweetie and I arrived at 12:45 to have lunch. it's a nice-looking place... we know that because it took 15 minutes to get a menu and another 10 to get some wine. (The waiter and the bread/water guys seemed pretty harried, that could have been it.) The menu looked like someone said, "how can we have the most items... and the least work?" Really nothing was original, but who can screw up Carbonara, right? These guys. Garlic? Nope. Eggs? Nope. Finely diced onion? Nope. Pancetta? Kinda... I'm guessing was Smithfield bacon. And then we got the bum's rush at 2 PM, which is OK if you've not spent over a hundred bucks on lunch. Then we found Tuscany Grille, which isn't far, and has easier-to-find parking. The Dove? Not even on a flyover.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dove III also viewed

 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to The Dove III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dove III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.