We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nomad Cafe

The Nomad Cafe
2002 South Harbor City Boulevard, Melbourne, FL 32901
+1 321-327-2996
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 340 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
West Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I called and was told that reservations are recommended. Good thing I made one since the place was packed. It's a small place but the food is outstanding. My wife ordered the veal chop (special) and the meat was very tender and full of flavor. I had the pork shank with a spicy sauce. That was also very tasty.

This place is a hidden gem that you have to try if you are in the area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    54
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I recently decided to stop by the nomad cafe for lunch based off of user reviews. When I first arrived I saw slightly put off by the exterior facade, but upon entering I was pleasantly surprised. White table cloths and tastefully decorated interior set me a ease.

Although their menu is diverse, I had no problems choosing one of their specials. The Asian pulled pork sandwich was awesome! To my surprise, it came with some tasty pasta salad and soup.

When the waitress suggested a carrot bisque, I turned my nose up. She told me not to be scared and give it a try. I'm thankfully that I did.

I will definitely be back! Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Megan and Otillio are wonderful! Service is awesome there because they treat you like friends/family and you sincerely want to be! The food is to die for.. from the soups to the Tortas to the Hummingbird Cake to the nightly specials! They will keep you coming back for more! Wonderfully diverse menu! I love that they have indoor seating and can accommodate larger groups so we can bring our friends. Also, we enjoy the special events they have (IE on holidays & Spain dinner)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“very very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we liked the atmosphere, table cloths, flowers, and the food was great! i had the drunken fish and loved it! my husband had a spicy pork dish that he also loved. we will be back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu, cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The exterior is misleading - a small building/parking lot on a busy corner, but once inside you feel like you're in modern, hip restaurant. Interesting artwork, cozy feel. Menu has lots of options - tonights inculded mexican, middle eastern, russian, several others I don't remember - I had scallps over lemon grits and a red sauce that was to die for. Evidently the beef shank is very populer and even though I don't eat beef it looked appealing. The portion sizes were perfect - not a mound of food, an amount that the average person can eat. Homemade chips and salsa were served in lieu of bread. All staff were friendly and attentive. Prices were reasonable - far less expensive than comparable restaurants and equally as delicious.
The only downside is that it gets a little noisy because it's very small, but it did not detract from the dining experience. We are locals and will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nomad Cafe also viewed

 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to The Nomad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nomad Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.