We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bald Strawberry

The Bald Strawberry
1248 Sarno Rd., Melbourne, FL 32935
321-751-2803
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 340 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: 100% Gluten Free Goodness! Gourmet waffles in a comfy atmosphere. Come in and play some classic vinyls while enjoying a healthy meal!
Pompano Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had lunch there today and it was excellent. I'll be honest, I didn't think I would like the waffle pizza, but I really did!! Our server Jessica was great. They have a record player and 100's of records that you can play. I will definitely be back the next time I'm in the area

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I am so happy to find this restaurant. The food and service was excellent, the atmosphere was fun and I cant wait to go back. I had a sweet potato waffle sandwich and also bought one of the take home waffle pizzas which is also very good. They have a bakery a few doors down that has the best cakes and cup cakes. I highly recommend this place even if you are not on a gluten free iet,

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

From the unique atmosphere to the excellent service to the fresh & tasty food, this place was a delightful surprise in the middle of a strip mall!

Unlike other reviewers, I found the portions to be just the right size for lunch, and if one were still hungry I'd suggest stopping by the Bald Strawberry bakery (just a few doors down) for dessert!

I had the Big V, a pile of veggies, black bean hummus and avocado slices between two waffles. It was fresh and flavorful, absolutely delicious.

I will definitely be visiting The Bald Strawberry again, especially since the owners are adding beer, wine and live music to the mix!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Loved our family lunch. The gluten-free waffle sandwiches and pizza were superb. Loved the old school record player, which we took advantage of to play an old 80s pop album. Walked next door to the bakery for dessert. Two kids did fine, but one had something with red dye and vomited all over the parking lot.

Needless to say, I highly recommend the lunch menu, but I'm not so sure about the desserts.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No gluten worries here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were on vacation and searched for a gluten free restaurant. This was a great find though small and run by kids. The ham and cheese waffle sandwich was the best item! Children and adults loved it. Generous sized, real sliced ham. A few tried and didn't like the heavy, "spicy" pizza sauce on the pizzas. Our waitress was kind but her manager was rude when someone in our party had a soda with them, he got really bent over it, so don't do that! We have celiac genes but had no contamination issues here. The gf bakery a few store fronts down had GREAT desserts after lunch, check out both. We bought cinnamon donuts for the next morning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bald Strawberry also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to The Bald Strawberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bald Strawberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.