We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gluten Free options!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bald Strawberry

The Bald Strawberry
1248 Sarno Rd., Melbourne, FL 32935
321-751-2803
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 363 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Healthy, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: 100% Gluten Free Goodness! Gourmet waffles in a comfy atmosphere. Come in and play some classic vinyls while enjoying a healthy meal!
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gluten Free options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Both the bakery and the cafe have excellent food! Waffle pizzas and sandwiches are unique and delicious, and the baked treats are great as well. I have never been disappointed here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, FL
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a waffel cafe, so almost everything is made with waffles. My husband and I share the Sweet Daydream and the Strawberry Haze. I wasn't sure how I would feel about a sandwich made on a waffle but I must say is was a wonderful treat. The waffles here are made just the right thickness for a sandwich and they are crispy on the outside but fluffy on the inside. The Sweet Daydream was WONDERFUL, the combination of the sweet potato, black bean hummus, cashews, avocado & spinach was perfect. We had the Strawberry Haze as our dessert and it too was perfect. Wish they had one of these back home closer to us because it would be a favorite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First 5/5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, great value, speedy, flexible store hours and delicious gluten free cake for my daughter's birthday party.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“gluten free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A total gluten free café. Great bakery items, and sandwiches. You can also buy the flour mix, croutons and other items. The best carrot cake ever. My fav sandwich is the California Rueben made with real turkey not deli meat. It made seem unusual to make a sandwich with waffles but they are wonderful!!!! So glad this place opened up in my area!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gluten free, vegan, dairy free, and vegetarian options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is an amazing find for people in the area who have food sensitivities. They are open for breakfast and lunch, sometimes dinner. Meals are sandwiches on waffles or waffle pizzas. Both are fantastic! Hormone free, antibiotic free, nitrate free meats, even a vegan/dairy free cheese option! Their baked goods are to die for, and the selection changes often enough so that boredom would never be a problem. A bit pricy, but it is more than worth it. Pretty much everything is made from scratch. And the atmosphere is very homey and welcoming. The store is moving from downtown Melbourne to 1280 Sarno Road(I think) at the end of August 2013, which is sad for us. But they need more room, to hold all the awesomeness!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bald Strawberry also viewed

 

Been to The Bald Strawberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bald Strawberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.