We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood for an average price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shells Seafood Restaurant

Shells Seafood Restaurant
1490 W New Haven Ave, Melbourne, FL 32904-3904
321-722-1122
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 340 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good seafood for an average price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Went on a Friday night after 5pm, and had a 10 to 15 minute wait for a seat. The trout dinner, fish and chips, catfish dinner and the crab cake dinner were good. The service was good. We will return again.The only thing I can say on the negative side was the dinners all came with same vegs and rice, except for the fish and chips, and the bread was a throw away item.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    45
    30
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“was a regular weekly diner never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After not dining at Shells for several months we deceided to give it another chance,the quality of the food has deteriated over the last couple of years,not as fresh.They make you wait a lengthy period of time before seating you while the restaurants has half the booths empty.The hostess is rude and thinks they are the only restaurant in town,you can find better fish all over the east coast.Even with a reservation and many open tables they make you wait,guess they depend on the northerners to survive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Freshest Seafood at excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent Blue point oysters. Warm friendly service. Small plates for Seniors and very reasonably priced. Staff very knowledgably about the fish they serve.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“80s flashback”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The overall appearance of the place was something out of a saved by the bell episode complete with 80s music. Our waitress complained about her arm hurting to put cheese on our pasta and was not attentive at all with refilling drinks. She had a poor attitude and never smiled. Our pasta had maybe a couple of pieces of seafood but mainly it was pasta. I could have made this stuff at home and would have been more satisfied. I will probably never eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Manager at Shells Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi! Thanks for your honesty and we regret that you had a less than superior experience. We strive for excellent service, bountiful portions, and the best tasting seafood around in a welcoming atmosphere. We hope you will give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal at a decent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a fantastic meal at a decent price. Our waitress was a young lady (I think her name was Chelsea) who was very attentive to our needs and very friendly. Best food we have had at a restaurant in this area. You get your money's worth on the portion sizes. We were very pleased with the food, service & price. Highly recommend this restaurant!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Manager at Shells Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the review and we are so glad you had a great experience. We pride ourselves in our larger portions, pricing and most importantly: taste! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shells Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Shells Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shells Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.