We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night out for dinner on vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matt's Casbah

Matt's Casbah
801 New Haven Ave, Melbourne, FL 32901
13215741099
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 343 Restaurants in Melbourne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Matt's Casbah will meet your desires and exceed your expectations. From fine dining in our main dining room among the art filled walls and enjoying lunch on our patio to our sushi bar and special selections from our wine cellar Matt's Casbah has something for everyone. Come heat up our dance floor late night as Matt's Casbah turns into the hottest nightclub in the area.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun night out for dinner on vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Never heard of this place until a friend mentioned to us to try it and we really enjoyed the contemporary style of this especially in Melbourne since there are not many places like this with good food, live music and indoor/outdoor seating choices with great food choices. WE had the sushi and were pleasantly surprised. Will definitely go again when we visit Melbourne again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Sunday brunch is good. Can bring your dog. Bloody mary's and mimosas great. Coconut crusted salmon awesome. Homemade salad dressings. Everything fresh. Live music weekend nights.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank turtlpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sushi Virgins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I had sushi at Matt's last night. We had never been there - always seemed like a young person's place (we are retirees). It was such a nice surprise - cool and quiet inside. We joined friends at the sushi bar and everything we tried was delicious! I can't remember names of dishes, except Ceviche and Messy Jessy. Both were wonderful! I had eaten Ceviche before in other restaurants, but this by far was the best. We also had spring rolls and another sushi item that I don't know the name of, but all of it was tasty, fresh and well-prepared. The gentlemen behind the sushi bar could not have been more helpful, especially a fellow named Scott Bedesem. He really knows his stuff for those of us that have no idea what we are doing in a sushi bar! The waitress that helped us was also a very nice girl - unfortunately I didn't get her name. All in all, it was a most enjoyable evening and we will certainly be back every time we are in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justice66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Incredible menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

There were 8 of us, asked to sit outside because we knew that there was going to be a DELTA 4 missile launch that evening. Since there were 8 of us, there was an automatic 20% add to the check. If you've read any of my past posts when the tip is added to the check, then you know the rest, that's where the tip ends. Too bad, our server was great and would have had a better tip, which on a $400 tab would have added up quickly.
They had a drink special, which was a meal in itself. Bloody Marys with 3 jumbo shrimp garnishing it. The ladies enjoyed the pineapple mojitos, and they were also wonderful.
Food, well, we were all over the place, got a bunch of sushi rolls, oysters, sashimi, scampi, lamb... Every bit of it was wonderful. I think that we have found our new favorite spot.
Just as we were finishing dinner, the rocket launched and we were able to watch it for several minutes. There also was music, the guy was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveling_fiber_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattsCasbah, Public Relations Manager at Matt's Casbah, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!! Come back again soon, wee look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect business lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had wonderful lunch, art work is great to look at, lunch portions were perfect sizes. Coconut salmon was cooked well, as was the pot roast my guest ordered and the side salad is great, whatever dressing they put on it works well.

Nice place, would definitely go back and try the sushi bar too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spirocarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattsCasbah, Public Relations Manager at Matt's Casbah, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Matt's Casbah. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt's Casbah also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Matt's Casbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing