We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hole in the wall with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eau Gallie River Crab House

Eau Gallie River Crab House
1120 North Harbor City Blvd, Melbourne, FL 32935
(321) 255-5257
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 340 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A hole in the wall with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Don't let the outside stop you from coming in. The decor on the inside was like 1980's tacky. I wish I could of sat outside, but it was raining. The service was average. What was great about this restaurant was the food. I had rock shrimp, it was some of the best I have ever had. One of the sides I picked was the potatoes which were wonderful. It was overall good dining. I will go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    5
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“By far the best shrimp in Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I'm so glad we found this place! This is, by far, the best shrimp I have ever had (and I've eaten shrimp in the 4 corners of the US)! My platter included fish nuggets as well, which were very tasty, not over breaded and the fish was mild and flavorful. Their hush puppies are tasty and the Key Lime pie is REAL key lime pie that makes your jaw tingle. We actually went back for one more dinner before we ended our vacation :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Save room for Urgent Care!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife was recommended the Mahi topped with crab "special". It was definitely "special", NOT! She had a couple of bites and sent it back because it was horrible. Those few bites definitely did enough damage. She spent the next 48 hours sick doubled over in bed and was told at Urgent Care that it was food poisoning. Considering this was her last meal, I give this restaurant full credit. We should have known when the high chair was brought out and it was absolutely disgusting. I tried to contact the owner to let them know, but he was impossible to get a hold of and when I finally did speak with him, he was in full denial mode and not at all apoligetic. EAT AT YOUR OWN RISK! We will NOT be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I stopped for dinner tonight and it was wonderful. The sashimi grade tuna is excellent and she loved her catfish. Perfect evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“All I have to say is awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We ate at Eau Gallie River Crab House finally. We had tried to eat there several time before but was unable to get there before closing. We finally got there and closed it down. Our waitress was the owners daughter and she was wonderful. The food was awesome the service was awesome. I would eat there every time I'm visiting this area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eau Gallie River Crab House also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Eau Gallie River Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eau Gallie River Crab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.