We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have had delivered many times, always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
1700 W. New Haven Suite 633, Melbourne, FL 32904
(321) 951-8818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 372 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Wine Bar, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: We are located in Melbourne Square Mall Between JCP and the Men's Dillards
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Have had delivered many times, always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've never been in the restaurant but the delivery has always been very good--usually get the moo shu chicken, girlfriend gets garlic chicken. Well prepared, seems like high quality. Prices are average, service good. Definitely recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Disappointed at lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went to lunch New Year's Eve with a group of friends. Have done this in the past and always ordered from the Lunch menu, which has many choices and comes with two sides, and has a great price averaging about $8.95. As we started to give the waitress our orders, she informed us that they would not honor the lunch prices today, and that you had to order from the regular menu (priced about $12.95 and up). There was no reason given, (also Monday was NOT the holiday, New Year's Day the next day, was the holiday). This was never mentioned when we made the reservation for lunch or noted on the menu, and the year before, we got the lunch price on the day before New Year's Day. I will say that the food was good and you got a big portion, enough to take home and have another meal. Service was good otherwise, but we were disappointed that they would not honor the lunch menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great Chinese dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I ate at this restaurant with my wife and three kids (youngest 9) all of whom love asian food. It is located in a strip center, but I would definitely describe the decor as more upscale in terms of what you get at most Chinese restaurants. Our waiter recommended one of the house specialties, an orange stir fry beef which he described as not breaded and fried, but rather prepared in a sezhuan style. In hind site, i wish we ordered two of those dishes to share (not because the other dishes were not good, but because it was sooo good. One of my sons ordered pad thai which I suggested against (we were not at a Thai place, which is what he was wanting), and another ordered a sushi roll. The roll was awesome and pad thai was so so. I put that one down to poor ordering on his part. The service was very good and attentive. Even better, and without asking, they brought plates for everyone so that we could share the entrees we family style. ordered will definitely come again when we are in town. i see the reviewer Livingstone that gave this place a poor review a few months back saying that it was slop and talking about the poor options in this area. I definitely agree with the latter, but think this place does try to give the locals something better and we appreciated it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Space Coast, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Oriental Cuisine on Christmas Day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

On December 25, most places are closed but Red Ginger was open so we tried it (first time). Atmosphere was great - lighting was subdued, relaxing, and we were able to see each other, our food and that the place was clean. White table cloths and cloth napkins. Huge menu with Chinese, sushi and good selection for vegetarians. Some dishes have sweet sauces that you might not figure out from the menu. Next time we will ask. Staff was friendly and professional. The place was busy but well under control. Fortune cookies came with slices of orange to finish the dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best Chinese food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This restaurant has been at this location for several years. I have been there many times since it first opened. I have never had a meal there that I didn't enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Indian Harbour Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.