We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cuban Sandwich

The Cuban Sandwich
101 S Babcock St, Melbourne, FL 32901-1207
321-768-7889
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 361 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I worked right around the corner from this place and it was a frequent lunch spot for us. Great specials every day and of course you cant go wrong with the cuban sandwich.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“BEST CUBAN SANDWICH IN TOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is easily the best Cuban sandwich in town. I'd go even further and say that it's one of the best in the country! If you go here, don't pass up the chance to get on of these. All you need is a half because the sandwiches are HUGE.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Sandwich and Yellow Chicken is to DIE for !! OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Best Cuban in town and OMG the Yellow Chicken is SOOOOO awesome...Every Wed....Other places try to have good Cuban food, this place is awesome! Ive been to all 4 Cuban places in Melb/Cocoa Beach...and The Cuban Sandwich is BEST. Im craving it right now! Whomever is reviewing and saying the sandwich is bad is either his competition or just doesnt know Cuban food....I 4got the owners name but he is super cool (Cigar Bob) and the FLAVOR is just authentic....Go on Wed and try the yellow chicken....Then on Fri get the Cuban Sand, then U will be hooked! Dont miss this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
“"Best" Cuban Sandwich in Brevard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I just wanted to set the record straight regarding a post titled "Worst Cuban Sandwich place EVER" It was written by so-called "Real Cubans" transplanted from Miami that went on and on about how they were the expert authority of Cuban Cuisine and how the sandwiches here were Horrible b/c they didn't have tomatoes or lettuce etc. Well I am a southerner who happened to live in Miami for 8 years and consider any Latino influenced food next to Godliness. Cuba, Puerto Rico, El Salvador, and on & on. Each culture has slight differences in their preparation techniques, but most use many of the same ingredients. The one thing I HAVE eaten more than any other sandwich in my life is a Cuban Sandwich. I have NEVER seen or eaten a TRUE Cuban sandwich made by majority Cubans with any TOMATOES or LETTUCE on them, or mayonnaise (Beef OBrady's) Most are comprised of ham, mojo flavored sliced pork, pickles, mustard, and the MOST IMPORTANT; AUTHENTIC Cuban bread. Not french bread, or hoagie bread or any other substitutes. In my opinion, The "Cuban Sandwich" makes the best pork sandwich your gonna get north of Miami unless your having dinner with a Latino family. The same goes with their Cuban sandwich. I just wanted to add my 2 cents after reading the horrible review written by someone who claims they are real live Cuban experts. It really comes down to personal preference. Just like there are tons of "Genuine" Southern Fried Chicken recipes and as many ways to prepare it, I'm sure Latino families have different variations of the Cuban sandwich. I've even seen crap locally that has salami instead of pork???

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Clean, Tasty, Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Although the exterior is not extraordinarily inviting, it is not a dump or a dive. Inside, the floors and restrooms are clean. The tables were simple but well placed, and clean. The menu was not huge but certainly sufficient. The Cuban sandwich was delicious and plentiful. The beans and rice were equally delicious and plentiful. Very pleasant lunch. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Was obvious this is where the locals go. Nice folks. Restaurant is Easy to find and there is plenty of parking. I would return without hesitation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cuban Sandwich also viewed

 

Been to The Cuban Sandwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cuban Sandwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.