We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We chose a great place for our family reunion.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront to your Saves list
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 North Highway A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Getaway for 2
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Tampa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We chose a great place for our family reunion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our family had long planned a special celebration to honor my mother's 100th birthday. She would have been 100 years old May 4th. Sadly, she passed away three months before that milestone after a long and happy life. We decided to go ahead with the celebration, making it a celebration of her life and a family reunion, spread out over four or five days. My daughter, who lives in Palm Bay, visited several possible sites and chose the Radisson Oceanfront as our base of operations. It was an excellent choice. Every room is an oceanfront room, with a balcony overlooking the beach. The sound of the waves puts you to sleep at night and calms you during the day. We were looking forward to sunny weather, since the rainy season doesn't normally start until June. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate. We had rain every day, with just a few hours of good weather to accomplish our activities. We still had a wonderful time, though. On Saturday, we assembled in one of the hotel bars to watch the Kentucky Derby, entertained as much by the friendly bartender as we were the race. On other days, we swam in the hotel pool or jogged along the beach. We shopped in beach stores and in the mall in Melbourne. Some of us visited attractions in Orlando. We learned the Radisson is absolutely the most convenient hotel on the beach. We found a Walmart practically across the street, a Winn Dixie in that same shopping center, and, within close proximity, numerous restaurants to suit everybody's pocketbook. We had breakfast one day at Panera's, practically around the corner from the hotel (great!); one morning at the Blueberry Muffin just down the road (excellent!) and another day at the Beach Side Grille in Satellite Beach. (Also excellent--try their famous baked oatmeal.) We enjoyed a casual lunch at Goombays; their food was delicious, and they allowed us to bring and share a big cake for a family member celebrating a birthday. On the final day of our reunion, the weather was beautiful. We held a little memorial service for my mom at a pavilion we had reserved at a park very near the hotel. That was followed by a wonderful picnic/barbecue. We met cousins we hadn't seen in 55+ years. Throughout our stay, the staff at the Radisson was friendly and courteous, always greeting us as we came and went. They provided a wheelchair for a family member who needed it and went out of their way to do everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one. If you like the idea of an oceanfront room, I would definitely recommend the Radisson Oceanfront.

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites. If you want a room with a microwave, let them know. Some rooms have jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    210
    72
    40
    8
See reviews for
203
257
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cody
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were here for a family gathering and challenged the front desk at the onset to be as good as the Radisson in Colorado Springs, Colorado. They didn't try hard enough. There were smiles, and the staff is friendly, but they don't have the same sense of wanting to make your entire visit perfect. There are negative signs about ("No Outside Food or Drinks" in the pool area), and a plastic salad bowl remained on our floor near the ice machine from dinner one night until after the breakfast hour the following morning. It was small, but it was indicative of a less-than-perfect place. We went to the workout room on the top floor, which has a really nice view of the ocean, but lots of the equipment is in disrepair. It's a fine place if you want to have a drink by the pool - forget the beach, it's rocky. It may well be the best place for a family gathering in all of Melbourne Beach - but it just doesn't measure up to the quality of service we found at the Colorado Springs hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have balconies that look out onto the ocean. If you suffer from vertigo, get a low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Every suite is huge and all have a balcony facing the ocean. There are no side and partial views. Furnishings are all in good condition, and you get an adjustable bed too! Tip: Read how to work the bed and get it to the softness/firmness that you like for a good nights sleep. We had a whirlpool jet bath, but I'm not sure that every suite has that.
I give this a 5 star review as the cost of this hotel is actually pretty cheap, and for what you pay you get a lot. Don't come expecting the Georges V in Paris and you won't be disappointed. Had this hotel been costlier I may have down graded it a little. All the staff we encountered were super friendly, especially in the small restaurant. We had the buffet breakfast there both mornings and found it great value at just $12.95.
I read a lot of comments on here about the lifts being slow but we did not find this at all on our trip. Also, I read that the beach was rocky but I didn't see this either. The only other thing you may find useful to know is that most restaurants are about a 15 minute drive away. Sure there are a few little independent ones within walking distance but they didn't look good to us. There is a Starbucks and McDonalds close by if you need a quick fix.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room here on the HOTEL WEBSITE and it said Kitchenette...its a lie. The only reason we booked this hotel for the week instead of many others is that it promised a kitchenette so we could cook our own meals instead of paying 13$ a day per person just for breakfast! We got here and found a wet bar with a mini fridge...thats all!! When we inquired about this at the front desk, even after being forced to "prove it" by pulling out our online reservation which we did we didn't even get an apology! Just a microwave sent to the room and a "feel free to checkout if you wish". I am so dissatisfied and we are stuck here because we booked in advance. We had to call the hotel website and report this incident ourselves. What a waste. Oh and I forgot to mention the pair of dirty sox we found in the sofa...dont waste your money!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Booked ahead to attend a wedding in the area and got a great deal $119 + tax for 1 night, later decided to come up early and even though the rate was up to $169 + tax they gave me the extra night at the same price! The 2 room suite was spacious and included a small fridge/sink area with coffee/tea and a business desk area + living room. Access to balcony was possible from bedroom and living room. The sleep number bed takes a while to get right and the a/c blows directly down onto the bed from the vent. The bathroom was on the small side, but clean. Sounds do carry a little from nearby balconies, but only bothered us once (Sunday early morning). All rooms have great views, the beach looked nice, but be careful as there are rock sheets and fishermen (one caught a shark) and it is a popular area for dog walking/playing all day. Had the $12.95 breakfast buffet at Lena's and considered it a good meal deal with hot and cold options and fruit/cereal. There was a little line at check in, but everyone was nice. plenty of free parking close to main entrance. Check out Lou's Blues on the north side of the parking lot, good drinks and edible food with a mixed crowd - older early (30's-60's) and young later with karaoke (530pm) and then live music starting around 9pm.

Room Tip: All the same views, but I think the corners have a jacuzzi and maybe bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had a great stay - the hotel is nice and the rooms are big. We loved having a balcony and all views point to the ocean!
It would be nice to have better access to coffee without it costing $3 in the restaurant and a microwave for popcorn - even if it is just in the lobby. The internet was weak and the printer was hard to access. Also, the elevator is awfully slow. This being said, all those things are small incidentals. The staff is so incredibly gracious, friendly, and helpful, that all the little matters faded.

We would definitely stay at the hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We checked in and upon entering the room I is GORGEOUS! And the beds were sleep number, it was an awesome stay, wish we could have stayed longer. There were no towels in our room, but we called and the girl ask us how many we needed?? Really? But honestly, the accommodations are beautiful, the living room, the bedroom and the bathroom were spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront

Address: 3101 North Highway A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.