We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach front property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2605 North Highway A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice beach front property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed on the 5th floor in an ocean front suite, seems like the room had recently been renovated, it was clean, and had a nice balcony that over looked the beach.

The beach itself needed to be raked, it seemed to be covered in trash and cigarette butts. When we went to put our towels down to lay out my towel got snagged on a fish hook! The hotel rents out loungers for $10 but when we were down the first night around 4 p.m. we saw staff members asking people to get out of the loungers so they could lock them up.

The food at the hotel restaurant was good and it was nice being able to eat outside overlooking the ocean with live music.

My only complaint (other then the beach needing to be raked) would be that they did not have fresh squeezed orange juice as this is Florida!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our oceanfront suites and yes we did renovate all of our rooms just a little over a year ago. We are glad to hear you found your stay satisfactory.
We do apologize for the issues on the beach itself. We will definitely look into the upkeep of the beach and find out what extra steps we can take in keeping the beach fun and safe for everyone. Also thank you for your concern about including freshly squeezed orange juice; we always take suggestions that can improve the quality of service for our guests.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    77
    35
    19
    13
See reviews for
70
64
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on business in the area, and often stay with IHG hotels while traveling. I felt like I was in a motel 6, with the exterior entrance doors and the overall quality of the room. The air conditioning unit was so loud, it impeded my sleep, and the keycard lock didn't work as it should have. I will not book with them again, and will stick with other IHG hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are disappointed to learn your stay fell below tour expectations this trip. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the property. We have both interior and exterior room types depending on the type of room you book will determine the location. I hope you decide to allow us another opportunity to show you how great our property can be and perhaps booking an interior room would be better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Took a mid week beach break with my family last week and stayed at this hotel. We stayed in a 6th floor oceanfront suite. The suite has a bedroom with king sized bed/bath and a connecting bar, sleeper sofa, tv area. The suite and room have separate doors connecting to shared oceanfront balcony. There also appeared to be a connecting door to another hotel bedroom should you need more space. The suite was more than ample for my family of four (me, wife, two teenage daughters). The staff was slammed with many ongoing corporate/pleasure events but was still courteous and helpful. The Marisol restaurant serves excellent food. The crab cakes were superior! Nice pool and beachfront. Hotel is updated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel can get busy with many events and corporate functions, but we pride ourselves on trying to make every guest feel special. We hope that you can join us again soon with your family. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night and were very pleased. We were allocated a room on the 7th floor which had a great view right down the coast. The rooms are clean, decorated in natural tones and the bed is comfy. Breakfast included a made to order omelette which we enjoyed on the wooden deck overlooking the beach. The pool is ok, I personally would have liked it cooler but it seems florida folks like heated pools for some reason. The only gripe I have is the 2 adult men throwing a ball back and forth from one end to another, it was terribly inconsiderate of everyone else. Overall, a good hotel, great price and fab location.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a view so make sure you ask for a room on level 7 or 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are glad to hear that you found your stay with us satisfactory. It is definitely worth booking those breakfast package reservations so you can automatically partake in our Marisol’s Full Buffet Breakfast right on the ocean.
We do apologize for having to deal with an inconvenience in our pool area. If that were ever to occur at our pool again please do inform the front desk so we can take care of it. Our goal is to keep our pool area clean, fun and relaxing for all our guests. We hope to see you and your family here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Nice beach view, my husband and I chose to come to this ocean front restaurant for our anniversary. We were pleased to have this special day at the Crown Plaza along with a nice experience learning about the area. Good tips from our server, Lori. She served us a delicious meal suggested a dessert which was Great! It started to rain an she offered to bring us into your dining area for cover, gave us fresh utensils and fresh coffee as we watched the rain and ocean.

Room Tip: Great place for a special day/evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Happy Belated Anniversary! We are so glad you chose us for your special day. We are happy to know that even though you got rained out on the deck we were able to make your Anniversary a memorable one. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for your great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We chose this hotel for the location and value. We had a great ocean view with balcony, food was excellent, and very friendly staff. Minor room issues, were resolved on the spot by the front desk. We look forward to staying there again real soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are so happy to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable and successful one. Our front desk staff prides themselves on resolving any issues or concerns from our guests as soon as possible. I am glad to hear we took care of a concern of yours right away. We also look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speedway, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just wanting to say we had a Great Stay at the Crown Plaza. Front desk people where outstanding. Had dinner on the outside oceanview deck and had a wonderful meal. Our dinner server Lori was excellant, she is a wonderful young lady very attentive to our needs. We really had a wonderful time on the deck watching the ocean and chatting with Lori. Hope your management knows that she knows what "customer service" is.

Room Tip: Southside ocean view is out standing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylyn C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are so glad to hear that your stay with us was so wonderful. Lori, was certainly recognized for her outstanding service and we thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Marisol Oceanfront restaurant and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront

Address: 2605 North Highway A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel is located on Florida's Space Coast within minutes of Kennedy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa Beach, Brevard Zoo, Washington Nationals Baseball, Port Canaveral, world class golf courses, and is just one hour from Orlando, Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Studios. Business travelers visiting Harris Corporation, Northrop Grumman, Intersil, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Rockwell Collins, Patrick Air Force Base or NASA will find Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel the perfect location to meet, relax and work with over 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, complimentary hotel shuttle service to and from the Melbourne International Airport and complimentary high speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel offers large selection of guest rooms ranging from standard rooms that overlook the courtyard to coastal rooms that look up and down the ocean to elegant oceanfront guest rooms and suite with private balconies. Enjoy a delicious meal at MARiSOL, our oceanfront restaurant, or a refreshing cocktail in Surfside Lounge, our oceanfront bar and deck. When evening comes, enjoy the warm ocean breezes while relaxing to live music on our one of a kind, 6000sq.ft. Ocean Deck, the best oceanfront deck in all of Brevard County. A popular spot for hotel guests to mingle with locals as the Crowne Plaza offers live entertainment on the oceanfront deck Wednesday’s, Friday’s and Saturday’s, March through August. Resort style amenities and most direct beach access of any Melbourne Beach hotel makes the Crowne Plaza Melbourne a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.