We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EH! NOTHING SPECIAL....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Makoto

Makoto
785 South Babcock St., Melbourne, FL 32901
+1 321-724-8751
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 361 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Japanese developed hibachi also known as teppanyaki-style grills hundreds of years ago. Experience the excitement and skills of our master chefs right at your table. A meal at Makoto's is one to remember. Excellent for large parties or special events, our atmosphere and fine cuisine is sure to make your event.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“EH! NOTHING SPECIAL....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Food was ok... although fried rice was only fried rice... no green onions, egg or any of the other ingredients that my wife and I have come to expect. Meat was tough although it was cooked med/rare. Shrimp were small for this type of service. Service was lacking. Took forever to get our drinks. Cook was sort of entertaining but the guys at the other local hibachi place a bit further north are better. Oh, yes, and the salad was soggy. We will not be gong back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tasty vege sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Its worth the wait! I am a vegetarian and dint have much expecattions from a veggie sushi..but the asparagus sushi and asparagus tempura were simple mind-blowing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This restaurant always delivers good food, reasonable prices and a little chef shenanigans. My husband and I love to stop here whenever we are nearby. We have never had a bad meal and always leave full.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“1st Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited Makoto's and had no complaints. Soup was good but salad had a bit of extra water in bowl but tasted fine. We had the tempura appetizer, vegetarian dish and ahi tuna. Portions were generous and service was good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Japanese in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This place is the best Japanese Steakhouse in town. I've tried Fujiyama and this place is much better and cheaper. The hot hand towels are great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makoto also viewed

 

Been to Makoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.