We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice attraction.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Turtle Preservation Society Melbourne Beach

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sea Turtle Preservation Society Melbourne Beach
Melbourne, FL
407-676-1701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Beaches, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Surfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Turtle walks are held in June and July.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice attraction.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We really enjoyed the Barrier Island Sanctuary as we learned all about loggerheads, green turtles, and leatherbacks, and other wildlife. The video of a nesting loggerhead was great.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    1
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nesting Turtle Watch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Getting to watch turtles nest right in front of you on the beach at night was a once in a lifetime experience! The preservation society take every step to make sure the process doesn't not interfere with turtles directly, and their welfare is paramount throughout. It's also great to know that your donation to attend one of the night walks goes entirely to turtle preservation. The guides were passionate and committed to what they do. The one small criticism I would have is that the initial presentation, though informative, is away too long. Completely understand that turtles don't nest on demand and that the team needs to fill the waiting time, but could do it in a more informal and hands-on way to better result. That however did not stop this being an amazing evening and something neither my husband or I will forget in a hurry!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great experience! This is the kind of thing we look for on vacations. Something not just every tourist is doing and our kids get some educational FUN!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were staying almost directly behind this place but didn't really know it was there. After seeing some big turtle tracks on the beach and walking past this place we thought - let's go in and check it out.

The woman working was EXTREMELY informative and gave us so much information and advice on what to do and what to see when in Florida. She also told us ALL about sea turtles. It was really interesting and I'm so glad we stopped in.

I highly recommend stopping in here if you're staying around here or just passing through. You will learn a lot!

Thanks so much for all the help!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do the turtles need the income?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is sad to know that groups of up to 50 people are led to the nesting sights where the sea turtles return each year. The more people on the beaches at night results in more turtles dumping their eggs offshore rather than being a spectacle for tourists.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Turtle Preservation Society Melbourne Beach also viewed

 

Been to Sea Turtle Preservation Society Melbourne Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Turtle Preservation Society Melbourne Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.