We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whistle-Stopover

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cockatoo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistle-Stopover
Save
You added Whistle-Stopover to your Saves list
11 Doonaha Road, Cockatoo, Victoria 3781, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Cockatoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boonah, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed one night on the way to phillip island. It is really private and the outside verandah a lovely place to sit. The hosts leave lovely little touches everywhere including home made biscuits. The housd was spotless and the bedding deluxe. We felt so relaxed the next day and wished we were staying two nights. we also loved the nearby area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We hope to see you both next year,
Lesley and Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
31
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Attending a week long course in the area, that required me to have my dog come along, I was welcomed with my dog, with open arms. We were both catered for in the most comforting way, that made us both feel relaxed right from the first moment we arrived. I could not recommend highly enough, it was just fantastic. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Lesley and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooriemungle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to stay in your wonderful accommodation. We stayed with 2 other couples for the night in the 3 bedroom cottage. It was so comfortable & roomy. The extra's such as cheese, biscuits, port & chocolates on arrival was an added surprise. Our breakfast was amazing. We can't wait to come again & experience more time there. We would thoroughly recommend the Whistle Stopover to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for coming to our little piece of paradise in the hills and your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delahey, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very peaceful, and tranquil. For a quiet relaxing weekend.
My husband and I have been here many time and will continue to come. We love the country surrounds. The occasional steam train, Puffing Billy that comes through. And most of all the lovely host, Lesley. Who is very helpful in every way.
This is an awesome place to stay.

Room Tip: You can choose the spa suit if you are a couple, or the beautiful cottage for family which has three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Its great to get repeat couples and to catch up together.Thank you for your continuing support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My daughter, granddaughter and I spent a beautiful week-end at Whistlestopover cottage, while attending my grandson's wedding nearby. Whistlestopover had everything we could have wanted. We each had our own bedroom, which made it particularly stress-free when getting dressed for the wedding. The day after we were able to relax in the comfortable lounge room of the cottage and re-live the previous day. The beds were extremely comfortable, with lovely linen and heaps of towels! We specially appreciated the little extra touches, such as the biscuits when we arrived, the port and chocolates, and the cheese and grapes in the fridge.
We all definitely hope to return in the future, when we will have more time to explore the beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for staying in our little piece of "Paradise" We hope to see you again. Lesley & Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very friendly and helpful owners, tranquil surroundings, decor matched the atmosphere, all necessities provided, will definitely stay again! Awesome price, great value for money for a 2 night stay especially on a public holiday weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for staying in our little piece of paradise, Lesley and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My bridesmaids and I spent the night before my wedding at the beautiful cottage. The cottage was very tidy and well cared for. It has a beautiful country cottage feel to it with beautiful furnishings and decor. It was a perfect way to relax before the big day, with plenty of room for the 5 of us and our hair and make up team to move around in and get ready. The beds were comfortable with lovely linen. My husband and I then spend our wedding night in the cottage the next night, and Lesley very thoughtful and came to tidy the room and freshen the place up for our arrival. Lesley was very courteous, and came to check that we had found the air conditioner, which was lovely. There were even biscuits left out for us in our arrival to the cottage. I would highly recommend staying at the whistle stopover if you are looking for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the yarra ranges. We will definitely be returning again. Many thanks for your fine hospitality Lesley. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you coming and for the great review, Lesley and Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whistle-Stopover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistle-Stopover

Address: 11 Doonaha Road, Cockatoo, Victoria 3781, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Cockatoo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cockatoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistle-Stopover is a luxury 4-1/2 star Bed & Breakfast situated alongside the famous Puffing Billy Railway track between Cockatoo and Gembrook in a mountain ash forest setting.The train passes by the one acre property twice daily and will stop at Fielder Station to pick up or drop off guests when pre-arrangement is made, from the station it is only a one minute walk and you are back at Whistle-Stopover.At Whistle-Stopover your host Lesley Bock offers two types of accommodation, a three bedroom fully self contained Federation Style Cottage and also a traditional B&B Luxury Spa Suite. Both are suitable for Wedding accommodation with the Honey Moon couple able to luxuriate in the privacy of the opulent Suite and the guests comfortably accommodated in the Cottage. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistle-Stopover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.