We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Seafood Reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andy's Island Seafood

Andy's Island Seafood
4330 Pine Island Rd NW, Matlacha, Matlacha, FL 33993
+1 239-283-2525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Matlacha
Cuisines: Seafood, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Description: We are a family owned and operated fresh and local seafood market. We have lunch, come try our baked crab cake or grouper sandwich, dine waterside at our outdoor cafe! Look for the Turquoise Truck at local Southwest Florida Farmers Markets!
Homestead, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Fresh Seafood Reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Doesn't get any fresher, they have their own fishing fleet, great prices and selections
enjoy delicious seasonal Stone Crab

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandSeafood, Owner at Andy's Island Seafood, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review! You said it best - it doesn't get any fresher. Our boats literally dock behind the shop, sea to you seafood! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Katie, Casey & the Island Seafood Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best & biggest grouper sandwich we have ever enjoyed ...period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

A fresh, sweet, & big chunk of fish. Perfectly baked; we had 1 blackened and 1 crispy for lunch. Very good slaw and capered tartar sauce. New owner and family are bright, enthusiastic, & knowledgeable. Their fish case is kept iced & groomed. Prices are good for the value. Local shrimp, crab claws, and several different types of fish available. They are waterfront and use the boats docked behind the business. LOCAL means pride & best. If you've ever wondered about cooking fish or shrimp at home, they can offer ideas ...easier than you think. Their fridge cases hold compound butters, tarter sauce, fish dips, and smoked fish portions. The smoked salmon is excellent and irresistible. The fish, & crab dips are delicious. A couple of tables in, picnic tables out front, and picnic tables dockside. Plenty of parking. Easy in and out of the lot. This is THE best fish we have enjoyed in our 3 seasons in FL. Support local biz. Just GO!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandSeafood, Owner at Andy's Island Seafood, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review! Thank you for your very kind words!! We do take a lot of care and pride in our market and our seafood. Wonderful description for future visitors about lunch, the picnic table setting and not only the fish but our butter, smoked dips and more! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Katie, Casey & the Island Seafood Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delanson, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place, Great Food... If you arent in a rush”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I had a delicious crab cake sandwich, however, I believe we waited over an hour for it. And they forgot our fish sandwich and we had to wait longer... but it was a place you definitely want to stop for lunch if you are in Matlacha!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie F, Owner at Andy's Island Seafood, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review. There are new owners since then - please stop by and give the new management a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale,Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Went here for fresh caught Scallops to cook at our inn. The Scallops were excellent, fresh, and flavorful! Don't miss this one!!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandSeafood, Owner at Andy's Island Seafood, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed the scallops!! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Back again for more....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A quick review, since we already wrote one this summer: Visited for lunch with the out-of-town folks this time. Again, fish was incredibly fresh and flavorful. Between this time and last, we had the grouper, and both red and mangrove snapper. I personally liked the red the best.

Quick overview: basically a fish market, no-frills restaurant, a few tables, they cook your choice of fresh-caught fish for the fish sandwich, which, along with the crab cakes, is usually the only thing on the "menu."

A note about the price, as I noticed a couple of people commented that it was pricey: the sandwiches are $14.99. For this you get the sandwich, fresh slaw, and some chips. Ok, so maybe if I go into an Alehouse, for example, the mahi sandwich might be $11.99. It's good, but nothing to write home about. So for a few bucks more, you are getting a super-fresh piece of fish, a great lunch, and the satisfaction that you're supporting a good local business. A few bucks??? In the grand scheme of things? We throw out more than that on useless crap, cable tv, drinks at a bar, and Starbucks. I mean, my soy latte today was almost $6. We need to take a step back to see how we judge our prices. (It's similar to the organic argument: Hmmm, I want to eat healthier, I don't want pesticides on my food, but I don't want to spend the extra dollar on this bag of organic kale. But I'll go to Starbucks for my $6 latte.)

Anyway, Andy's is recommended if you're looking for some good fish!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie F, Owner at Andy's Island Seafood, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review and for being a great return customer! We are always happy to hear when our great customers bring their friends and share a great experience.

We love your logic, what a fantastic example with the organics. We pride ourselves on sustainable, fresh and local seafood!

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Katie & the Island Seafood Market Fishmongers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andy's Island Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Andy's Island Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andy's Island Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.