We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlacha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
12251 Shoreview Drive, Matlacha, FL 33993-0035 (Formerly A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Matlacha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Avon Park
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast was a fantastic weekend stay. The Leroy's are so much more than accommodating. They quickly become someone that you actually know. First of all Matlache is like travelling back into an older simpler Florida. The rooms are set up in a Florida motif and plenty spacious for a couple. We did not live "in" the room so the motif was not the most important part of our stay. Once you opened the automated shades and saw the view from the deck. If you were physically at the Bayview there were two places that everyone hung out at, either the deck, or one of the two docks on the bay. There are two canoes that guests may use at no charge to venture around the bay. The breakfast was continental in style as advertised, the breads were fresh and very tasty. We were looking for a relaxing weekend to get away. We could not have chosen a better place than both the Bayview and the town of Matlacha. We will be back to both again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the bay and the amazing sunsets. Just get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the PERFECT spot to get away from the world!! It it absolutely beautiful location and in a GREAT neighborhood and close to everything you may need (shops, beach, islands) The room was spacious and clean with a wonderful porch / balcony with an AMAZING view!!!! MAGNIFICENT sunsets AND from the small window on the other side of the room you can even see the sun rise in the morning too. The owners couldn't be nicer. They were always helpful, provided us with everything we requested and even gave us a ride when we had car trouble. We took a boat tour of the nearby islands and enjoyed dolphins, manatees, and all different birds. Waking up to a ready made breakfast on the upstairs porch overlooking the water, watching the osprey's fly by and the manatees surface to say hello - it was a delight!

Room Tip: I really liked the upstairs room because it gave you a higher view of the sunset and the osprey nest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Bring a hair dryer - that's the only thing you'll need at this great Bed & Breakfast on Matlacha Sound, FL. Fridge and sink in room, binoculars and birding books provided. Room was spacious and even included a pullout couch. Upstairs porches join with view of ospreys nesting on a perch so close we could almost touch them! Beautiful view of the bay and Pine Island. Breakfast is served from 8-9 either on the porch downstairs or in your room. Nearby Matlacha Community Park has free parking, grills, restroom, boatramp, and kayak launch. Publix at the end of the road for incidentals.

Room Tip: Room 1 is next to a house being built but upstairs so has a great view. Perhaps ask for Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and miss a big Nor'easter snowstorm. The view from our room overlooking the bay was amazing; in the morning, at sunset, (especially), and in the evening. Breakfast on the lower deck with that view was equally spectacular. We saw an Osprey family with their babies, too cute, and Manatees surfacing in a bay we could swim in.
The rooms were comfortable and spacious, and decorated to give the guests a beach or
bay feel. It reminded me of Fire Island in NY during the summer. The hosts were gracious and knew so much about the area. We enjoyed talking with them. An excellent stay, and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose any room that faces the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I really couldn't say anything bad about this great little place on the west coast of Florida. The owners, Dianne & Bill, are super nice people. The rooms are bright, airy, and comfortable. It was nice to have a fridge and sink in the room. Breakfast was simple but adequate. Cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, and a muffin or waffle. Not the biggest breakfast in the world, but we could all stand to eat a little less anyway. The views are amazing, the ospreys are neat, the manatees and dolfins are fun, and it was just an all around good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B in July of 2012 and loved it. We decided to return this winter, February 2013, and we are SO happy that we did! Bill and Diane are such great hosts! They are so nice and love to share their extensive knowledge of the area and the animal life at and around the inn. We stayed in the same great room. The view of the bay from our balcony was beautiful! Watching manatees pass by, fish jumping, boats passing, the osprey in their nest, and the sun setting from the balcony is such a relaxing, pretty scene! We really enjoyed taking the canoe out. We were surrounded by manatees in the canoe at one point which was an experience I can't even put in words. Dolphins also swam near the canoe! The osprey nest at the inn had three babies in the nest. It was beautiful watching them as the mom would feed them. We fished off one of the docks. My boyfriend caught three snooks in less than thirty minutes. The surrounding little historic Matlacha area is very cute. You can walk to this area from the inn. There are shops and restaurants to dine at, many with water views. The breakfast that Diane prepares in the morning is a great way to start the day. I very highly recommend this inn to anyone staying in the Naples/Ft. Myers area. This place is truly a gem! We look forward to returning again soon! Thank you Bill & Diane for another amazing experience!
Bernadette & Giulio

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on the Bay during a recent quick trip to look at property in Cape Coral. We are from Ohio and I have stayed at a couple of Bed and Breakfasts in the midwest but it was my "skeptical" husbands first time. According to my husband on the plane flight home it was "one of the smartest things we could have done." We were not familiar with the Cape Coral area so after our healthy breakfast on the deck overlooking the beautiful Matlacha Bay and prior to meeting with our realtor, Bill the owner, took us on a tour of the area and gave us some great advice. Our room was spacious and clean although do to the beautiful weather and hectic schedule we did not spend much time there. If you are looking for a stress free, laid back and peaceful vacation this is the place. We fell in love with the area and made an offer on a house. We close at the end of February. Thanks to our new friends Bill and Diane for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlacha
8.0 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
9.2 mi away
Dolphin Key Resort
Dolphin Key Resort
#4 of 6 in Cape Coral
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
8.4 mi away
Casa Loma Motel on the Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Knoll's Court Motel
Knoll's Court Motel
#2 of 2 in Matlacha
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12251 Shoreview Drive, Matlacha, FL 33993-0035 (Formerly A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Matlacha
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Matlacha
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.