We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All You Want And Room To Spare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Getaway B&B

Save Saved
You added Blue Heron Getaway B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heron Getaway B&B
216 Erie Street South | PO Box 430, Wheatley, Ontario N0P 2P0, Canada (Formerly B & B's Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Wheatley B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“All You Want And Room To Spare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wheatley might be a little off the beaten track but it is well placed to see many attractions in the area and is well placed for Pelee Point visits. We stayed for two nights in a large room with private bathroom. The common areas include a large dining/general use area, a pool room, a TV lounge with big screen TV (no TV's in the rooms), a hot tub and swimming pool. Four rooms all well appointed to handle larger groups makes this a B&B with a lot to offer. The hosts John & Katherine were very welcoming and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Large portion delicious breakfasts just rounded off the experience. If you are booking for the bird migrations in 2015 better hurry as they are 50% booked already!

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side (left side) are quieter. Biggest room is a basement suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

John and Katherine are excellent hosts. Very sensitive and attentive to our needs but careful not to intrude. Great home with more to offer than your typical B&B...the pool is small but very clean and nice, hot tub, billiards room, TV room, spacious eating area. Breakfast was awesome, local wines to sample...J&K do it right. My wife and I stayed there with our two daughters (college age) who enjoyed the time as much as we did. Will definitely stay again if in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjohn59, Owner at Blue Heron Getaway B&B, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
H Joe,

Thank you for the wonderful comments. You have a lovely family, we were happy to accommodate and see you all enjoy the pool and spa.

Cheers,

John & Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Fantastic people in a fantastic house,
I was so sad when I left them.
It was a wonderful experience to meet these people.
The place is really nice and quiet, there is a big pool and the cook is great.

I will come back,

Philippe

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjohn59, Owner at Blue Heron Getaway B&B, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Philippe,

It was our pleasure to meet you, get to know you and learn about your home town in France. We hope to visit there some day.

Cheers
John and Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My mother, my 3-year-old son and I just returned from a perfect 2-night stay here. John was flexible with our arrival time and very understanding when we missed it by an hour because we took the scenic route and were 'stuck' on a beach side patio in Port Stanley watching the World Cup final :). John greeted us on his doorstep when we arrived and offered to help us with our things and from the first moment we felt very comfortable and welcome here.

Katherine and John couldn't be more friendly, considerate, thoughtful, patient or kind. My son was all over them and they took the attention with much grace and humor and were very accommodating with his food allergies (dairy and soy are among them, which can make breakfast difficult!). The large pool was clean and warm (as I am sure the hot tub is, too, but I didn't have time to go in) and our hosts made sure that they had arm floaties and noodles for my son's safety and enjoyment. This was definitely not their responsibility, but we were touched and impressed and this consideration and effort did not go unnoticed!

Our room was clean and the double bed that I shared with my son was very comfortable. The breakfast was ample and balanced and it varied from one day to the next. Everything was delicious!

Blue Heron Getaway B&B is really the perfect place to stay if you are visiting the Pelee area and you would be very hard pressed to find better hosts. You pay big bucks for this kind of service at the Park Hyatt or Ritz, but John and Katherine are just amazing, good people. Naturally.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjohn59, Owner at Blue Heron Getaway B&B, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Christyna,

Thank you so much. You have a lovely family and we enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. It was nice getting to know your family history through all our great talks together. Your son was a real treat for us. Hope the rest of your vacation time created many memories.

Warm regards,
John and Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We found the Blue Heron B&B very friendly and relaxed. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The best aspect for our group of friends was the common room where we could gather for end of day socializing and comparing birding notes. We were just half an hour from Point Pelee. Breakfasts were very substantial. A nice touch was a pot if coffee already prepared for early risers.
Town parks and surrounding treed residential streets provided bird watching opportunities close at hand.

Room Tip: The downstairs suite includes a king size bed, a single bed, a TV room. It is very quiet and private...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjohn59, Owner at Blue Heron Getaway B&B, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi Barbara,

You and your group were a real treat. We enjoyed getting to know you and so happy that you had a great time. It is very important to us, that you do.

Cheers from John & Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge On,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great place to stay if Point Pelee is your goal. Very comfortable, and having an open dining area/kitchen for a group to gather was excellent. John and Catherine were very welcoming - and served breakfasts too big but too tasty to leave. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjohn59, Owner at Blue Heron Getaway B&B, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
It was a pleasure getting to know you and your group. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts.
Our kindest regards,
John & Katherine Urban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at B&B's in May to see the warbler migration in Point Pelee. I was very happy with the email communications with Bea while arranging my stay. She was very helpful, especially helping us understand how to get there, and very accommodating considering the short notice on which I was making reservations and the time I would be arriving. Once there, she explained to us how everything worked and gave us fantastic advice on where to go birdwatching, as she is quite an experienced birder herself.

I enjoyed meeting the other guests, some of which were also birders, and exchanging stories and advice over breakfast on great birdwatching places in the area and around the world.

One tip for travelers who are light sleepers, the rose room is right over the sump pump, which can get noisy if activated at night. It doesn't last very long, but if you are affected by that type of thing, consider bringing ear plugs or reserving a different room. Other than that, everything was great! Loved Bea's cooking and the location is close to several provincial parks.

Room Tip: Don't pick the rose room if you're a light sleeper as it can get noisy due to its proximity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjohn59, Owner at Blue Heron Getaway B&B, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for leaving a review Birder Central. We have recently corrected the problem with the sump pump. Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Getaway B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Getaway B&B

Address: 216 Erie Street South | PO Box 430, Wheatley, Ontario N0P 2P0, Canada (Formerly B & B's Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Wheatley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wheatley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All guest rooms have private en-suite bathrooms with soaker tubs / shower. A mix of old and new, original house built in 1905, b & b housed in new addition added in 1998. Pool table, entertainment area with large screen TV, in ground pool and hot table available to our guests. Excellent full course breakfasts. Open for 15 years. Ideal for large groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Heron Getaway B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Getaway B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.