We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First Rate Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Eden Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rushyford, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM £83
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A First Rate Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have no complaints about my stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. My room was small but adequate, the en suite was fresh and clean and had both a bath and shower. The dining room was bright and roomy with plenty of room between the tables. There was a good variety of food on the menu, and it arrived quickly and hot, ad delicious. The swimming pool was fairly small but the water was lovely and warm, The jacuzzi was wonderfully relaxing.The staff are to be commended for making my stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: If you do not have transport , a bus runs regularly to Durham from outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, it is great for the team to hear such positive feedback.
Everyone will be pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the comments about our customer service.
At The Eden Arms we always aim to do that little bit extra for our guests. I look forward to passing your comments on to all our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    84
    72
    20
    8
See reviews for
27
138
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birkdale UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked a midweek break and arrived at 2pm and had to wait an hour for our room , fare enough I thought until we were checking out and the maids were waiting to get into our room at 9 pm.
The staff were lovely but massively overstreached especially in the dining room.
The food was ok.
The location was dreadful, situated on a huge traffic island, there was no way of getting away from the noise.

Room Tip: Because its an old coaching house tge creaking floor boards from your neighbour's will wake you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
It’s great to hear your feedback and thank you for your comments.
We are keen to improve on our quality and value for money, and any constructive critisism while sharing your experience goes a long way to help us in achieving our aims.
I would say that our location reaps the benefits of excellent transport links to the surrounding towns and cities with Durham, Darlington and Newcastle on our doorstep.
All rooms are double glazed to eliminate excess noise. Please ask for a room overlooking the stables at the rear of our 16th century coaching Inn. These are away from the road and very peaceful.
As always you can be assured that your comments will be passed onto the whole team, and we all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

For the money this place is OK. Decent size room, very clean, bed comfy, bathroom good, good parking, staff very friendly and helpful. Food was poor on our first night, but got better and was acceptable without being outstanding. Has strange layout .. two bars but only one operates at a time and it's a long stroll to get a drink if you are not taking in the entertainment. If you are 50 ish be prepared to be the youngest there - specialises in pensioners coach trips - though have to say we met some lovely people during our stay. I would stay there again if needs be .. I think it was very typical of a Shearings hotel ... I would rate it just above average but the Trip Advisor system doesn't allow for this.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for the positives, we appreciate all feedback good or bad. I’d like to take the time to address the food issue on your first night.
Whilst I'm pleased that you found our food improving as the week progressed, We aim to give you a pleasurable dining experience every night of your stay without exception.
With the diverse packages we offer at our Hotel our core customer base varies significantly, with all ages enjoying our hospitality. I'm so glad you found the atmosphere friendly and enjoyed the company of fellow travellers.
Thankyou for your kind comments on our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back should you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

In contrast to some of the other reviews, this hotel is really only average at best. This hotel feels very tired and in need of some serious updating. The entertainment room looks just like a early 70's working mens club. The table service also leaves much tp be desired, although the food is reasonable.
The hotel is located on a busy roundabout with nowhere to go for a walk . I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thankyou Grumpy500 for taking the time to write your review.
We appreciate any feedback good or bad as it gives us the opportunity to put things right if we are going wrong.
You'll be delighted to learn that we have an on going refurbishment programme which has transformed many areas of this 16th century coaching Inn, whilst still maintaining a charm and character unique to such a grand old building. We are located on the old London to Edinburgh road which I'm sure was very isolated in years gone by. Now though, there are fantastic transport links to Durham and Darlington, with buses every 15 minutes, and the quaint rural village of Chilton lies only half a mile away. Perfect for an evening stroll or a quiet drink in the local village pub.
We hope that we might see you again, it seems that you only scratched the surface of what we have to offer.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Back from a three night Shearings break. Hotel found easily. Warm welcome from the receptionist. Our room was clean and spacious, rather cold until we switched the radiator on full. The food and service in the dining room was very good. The hotel public areas were warm; however it did feel a bit "steamy". This could possibly have been from the swimming pool. There were plenty of parking spaces in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
It’s great to hear your feedback and thank you for your comments.
We are keen to improve on our quality and value for money, and we aim to really put our hotel on the map, so you sharing your experience goes a long way to help us in achieving our aims.
As always you can be assured that your comments will be passed onto the whole team, and we all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for a party weekend break. Plenty of car parking spaces out front. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Room was nice enough and clean. Evening meals were in the spacious dining room and there was a good choice on the menu for each course. Roast beef was especially nice. Breakfast consisted of the usual cereals, yoghurts, juice, fruits etc which were self service. There was a menu for hot breakfast which had an excellent selection and was cooked to order. The dining room however was accessed by a few stairs which may be difficult for guests with mobility problems.

There is a small swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and small gym within the hotel. The jacuzzi was lovely but the pool was very shallow. The pool area itself especially the bridge over the pool to the jacuzzi was in need of upgrading.

Entertainment in the hotel consisted of bingo and a quiz both nights before the main act came on. These had small money prizes and were good fun. The first evening 's entertainment was Dave Davis who was a singer/comedian and musician. His rendition of Hank Marvin was excellent. The 2nd evening was a female singer.

As this was a party weekend drinks vouchers were given to guests on arrival. These allowed guests four free drinks each on one night only. This in theory is a terrific idea. However it was very disappointing to see that on the 2nd night's entertainment guests did not seem to bother going to see the entertainment probably due to the fact they had to buy their own drinks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which I will personally pass on to all the staff whose hard work and commitment make the Eden Arms what it is today.
We aim to provide exceptional value and quality within our comfortable Hotel and Spa throughout the year.
I will also be passing on your comments to Dave Davis who will be particularly pleased with the feedback. Our dedicated entertainment team always put on a fantastic show 6 days a week and all are welcome to join in the fun, non residents included.
We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Dont go if you are in a wheelchair. The accessible toilet is up a flight of stairs. Not enough room in the bedroom to transfer from a wheelchair. Door button for automatic door is broken and they never fixed it. I was made to feel 2nd class by the way my needs were not met. I had to access the restaurant via the fire exit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor, we always appreciate feedback, but we’re sad to read that you were unhappy with our facilities regarding disabled assess. I’d like to take the time if I may, to address some of your points.
We do appreciate that the door was faulty though was never pointed out by any other guest or patron to our hotel or our leisure facility, which itself is frequented daily by wheelchair users. The door was repaired a couple of days later after you pointed it out. We regularly get audited by council officials and fire inspectors to ensure DDA compliance throughout our hotel. I would also like to point out in your comment you mentioned wheelchair access problems though you used a motorised scooter for mobility throughout your stay which is considerably larger, due to the age, structure and geography of the building its not always suitable for motorised mobility in our hotel.

I have noticed with your comment ratings you were unhappy with the rooms, cleanliness and service though have not explained where we went wrong?
I have checked with reception diary, staff and housekeeping, no complaints were raised. Like the door, if issues are raised at the time then they can be addressed at the time.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Eden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Address: Rushyford, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Rushyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Eden Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.