We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was my husband's b'day surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Caverns State Park

Florida Caverns State Park
Marianna, FL
850-482-1228
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Marianna
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A cave complete with rock formations and bats.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This was my husband's b'day surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Wanted to do something different so I booked a tour for us and we thoroughly enjoyed it! There was a sinkhole close that was unfortunately closed, but we got to see the amazingly beautiful, blue water in it. The caverns were so impressive, nice and cool from the heat in August, and the tour guide was very good. We even saw a bat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    84
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Humble, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Loved the caves . . . hated the mosquitoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My son's Cub Scout troop comes here every year and this year we were finally able to go. Like all of Florida's State Parks the facilities are in top condition and the Rangers are friendly and professional. We loved the tour of the caverns but left quickly thereafter. Outside of the Caverns the mosquitoes are a year-round pest and I can't imagine camping in this park!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Tell all the kids its a blast to go see the bats...spend the night and ride the river...

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Caverns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nice. Good tour guide! Caverns are very humid, but beautiful - must be able to maneuver tight places and sturdy on your feet but they lead you slowly and carefully. Haveexits all along tour.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cool, spooky, and yes... a bat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Caves were to be on my "springs, caverns, and Indian mounds" tour down the back-bone of Florida but the wet, cloudy, weather cut short our plan. Thankfully, we did not have to miss Florida Caverns, a small but interesting example of limestone formations that hide under all that flat, green landscape. Who would have thought Florida was honey-combed with subterranean secrets. It's a busy attraction and you may have to wait around for a tour. Happily, the ranger was able to tell us when the next opening was. So go for a walk, stick your head into the gift store, or display area. I found the forest walk very spooky, very "Jurassic parkish". Underground, our young guide proved a good shepherd to a large group young kids. Our 45 minute tour stretched to 90 minutes which I found a bit long. Cost was about $10.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Caverns State Park also viewed

Chipley, Florida Panhandle
 
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Florida Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Caverns State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.