We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven among the hills!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shivavilas Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shivavilas Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Shivavilas Palace Hotel
97, Palace Road | Bellary District, Sandur 583 119, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandur
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A haven among the hills!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Shiv Vilas palace is a hidden treasure not only because of the property itself being beautiful, well maintained and classy but also because of the legacy the last maharaj (Y R Ghorpade) has left for the people of the tiny town of Sandur! The staff and caretakers ( Mr John Curtis and Sameer) of the palace were par excellence and took very very good care of us!

We recommend this place highly for people who are looking for some quiet downtime, or people who are history buffs and want to visit hampi! Either ways shiv villas will be a great experience.
The only negative are the roads and the approach but hopefully that too will improve in a few months.

Room Tip: 108 is excellent but in case you want to spend more the maharani suite is really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivavilas, General Manager at Shivavilas Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your very positive and kind comments. We endeavour to maintain the Heritage and our standard of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our stay is one of the most memorable ones. This is a great place to stay and get pampered by the great Hotel staff and explore the scenic beauties of Sandur + explore Hampe.
The manager Sameer and his team were exceptionally good and made sure our stay was very very comfortable and enjoyable. Food is also prepared as per your needs and taste!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Delux room , which had a huge balcony overlooking the Pool. If you have more money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivavilas, General Manager at Shivavilas Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your very positive and kind comments. We endeavour to maintain the Heritage and our standard of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karnataka
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were looking forward to staying in this palace hotel ever since we heard that it was getting renovated. We contacted ITC Heritage hotels chain many times to check if it was open and every time we got the reply that it was delayed. Disappointed, we were to look for some other hotels in Hospet.

It was in April this year when we thought of spending the Easter weekend exploring Sandur and Hampi. I thought of giving another try and check out the hotel. Bingo! "The hotel is open sir" comes the reply! We booked two nights and had a memorable experience.

The experience from the time we called till we left was great. We drove down from Bangalore and arrived for lunch. Sameer, the amiable manager of the hotel was there to receive us. We were the only guests in the sprawling palace due to last minute cancellations. We felt like Maharaja and Maharani!!

This is a cute little place in the beautiful valley of Sandur, the erstwhile principality of Ghorpade dynasty. This is not a huge palace like the one you would see in Mysore or Agra or Udaipur. It is small but elegant. Built in Indo-Sarcenic style, the palace is located in a sprawling estate spreading over 25 acres. As many members has rightly written, i was amazed at the attention given to restore this palace to suit modern traveler without losing the old world charm. John and team have done an amazing job.

Let me come to brasstacks. The palace is built around a central courtyard with rooms on the ground and first floor. The lobby and the aisles are tastefully done to reflect the grandeur of the palace at the same time not being gaudy.

The rooms are large. With high ceiling, it gives you a feeling of a "big" place. The decor is fantastic. It is nice to see colouful wall hangings made by local tribals called "Lambanis" giving a character to the room. The beds are large and comfortable. All rooms in the first floor have a lovely balcony where you can relax in the evening with a can of beer. The toilets are modern and large as well.

Sameer also showed us the sprawling Maharaja and Maharani suites each with its own character.

The Dining hall is adequate to cater to the guest and well decorated. You can see antique chinas of royal family dipslayed in the cupboard. The food is served in a china on a lovely antique table made of teak. The food prepared was simple and tasty. Being vegetarians we were happy to taste good veggie cuisine. The best part of the menu was lovely desserts prepared by the chef.

The piece-de-resistance of the palace is undoubtedly the "Billiards Room" with antique Billiards table surrounded by hunting trophies of the royal family. If you are a bibliophile, you will love this place. The royal library has outstanding collection of books some of them being rare and original prints.

A jogging track in the estate will enthuse a runner or walker in you. It is a pleasure to wake up early in the morning and go for a walk in the estate exploring the birds. Let me not forget to mention a clean and cute swimming pool.

This should be THE place for anyone who wants to explore Hampi which is just 25 KMs away. You can also explore Sandur which is known for its beautiful valleys and wild life. The palace estate is home to many species of birds as well.

We did not find any negatives in the hotel. Everything was perfect. We suggested that the tariff should include all meals and they should not charge meals separately as there is no option to eat outside the hotel in Sandur. Hope they have implemented that. When were there, the concrete road to Hampi from Sandur was under construction and was to be completed in three months. This would be a boon as it reduces distance to Hampi drastically.

As i can see from the reviews, the team seems to be doing a good job. Hope they maintain it. I also hope that they will not increase the tariff once they become popular! Sameer being a local boy is of great help to guide to places around.

I would highly recommend this place for anyone planning to explore Hampi. It is a definite value for money. The place has a character and creates a right mind set for exploring Hampi. Sandur will be the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: If you can splurge stay in Maharaja or Maharani suite. Else, the rooms facing the swimming pool on f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivavilas, General Manager at Shivavilas Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your very positive and kind comments. We endeavour to maintain the Heritage and our standard of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

No words to explain. As my childhood was spent here, it was more of memories and all the details the way i had seen it 35 years ago is the same. The PALACE is beatifully maintained with all the HERITAGE VALUES INTACT. Mr.John Curtis and team have painstakingly refurbished the entire PALACE with PASSION. A great place to rewind. Just forget about the world and stay in the PALACE. Soak in the GRANDEUR and LEGACY and enjoy the beutiful surroundings. You will go back in time.
I only wish the SANDUR VALLEY remains the same as Mr.M Y GHORPADE had maintained during his days. As the saying goes, one must visit SANDUR IN SEPTEMBER.
Unfortunately some UNSRCUPULOUS ELEMENTS, without having any knoweldge of the LEGACY have plundered the entire landscape for their personal gains.
I wish the family and the team maintain the LEGACY left behind by their FOREFATHERS for the FUTURE GENERATIONS.
As i said earlier IT IS OUT OF THE WORLD.
BEST WISHES TO TEAM.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivavilas, General Manager at Shivavilas Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your very positive and kind comments. We endeavour to maintain the Heritage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Well, this is a very lovely property.........with only about 12 rooms in the palace. The rooms are nicely done as is the full property. Its and ideal place to go with family or friends and relax. There is a swimming pool, good lawns, an activity room with games like table tennis, darts, carrom, chess, ps3 (only 1 game though!). The staff is excellent and ever ready to be of assistance. There is also a billiards room and a bar. Just a great place if you want to take it easy. The last 20 Kms on the road are rough but otherwise no complaints. Food is allright - nothing great, but good - not a running kitchen as in big hotels!

Room Tip: Rooms are well done with large bathrooms and private balconies. Room 108 is great and can be interco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivavilas, General Manager at Shivavilas Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your very positive and kind comments. We endeavour to maintain the Heritage and our standard of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Understand, Shivavilas Palace was the residence of His Highness Shri Yeshwantrao Ghorpade, the ex-ruler of Sandur and Rajmatha was residing in the Palace till the recent past - giving a feel of a lively home. The Palace has been renovated with a great attention, provided with modern amenities yet retained its rich heritage.

Location of the Palace in a sprawling area of about 20 acres amidst lush green trees & plants provides a very good and healthy atmosphere. The facilities are very good and hospitality is THE BEST in the region. We can feel the personal touch in the services rendered by the staff. The guests are taken care, as if they are the guests of the royal family of Sandur.

I need to visit the Palace once again, on a holiday, to explore more. I strongly recommend for a stay in the Shivavilas Palace to be treated as a guest of the Royal Family.

[SALEEM]

Room Tip: Rooms are available to suit personal preferences. There are 9 deluxe rooms apart from a regular sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivavilas, General Manager at Shivavilas Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your very positive and kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A beautiful hotel with large well appointed rooms with luxuriously fitted giant sized bathrooms. A nice restaurant which provides choice of exquisite Indian and western cuisine.
The hotel has a very large and well kept garden where one can spend the mornings and evenings in a serene atmosphere being one with nature.
The staff is very friendly, polite and courteous and eager to attend to your needs.
Being originally a palace, the ambience is old wordly but at the same time with modern amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivavilas, General Manager at Shivavilas Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your very positive and kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shivavilas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivavilas Palace Hotel

Address: 97, Palace Road | Bellary District, Sandur 583 119, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Sandur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious WelcomHeritage Shivavilas Palace, more commonly known as “The Palace” was rebuilt in the year 1941 and stands as a testimony to the rise of the kingdom. The city of Sandur is a peaceful valley surrounded by hills all around, which Mahatma Gandhi described as an “Oasis” when he visited it in the early 1930’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shivavilas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shivavilas Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.