We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clonabreany House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crossakiel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clonabreany House
Save
You added Clonabreany House to your Saves list
Crossakiel | Meath, Crossakiel, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had our wedding, along with 170 of our friends & family here on 2nd June 2012. We were absolutely delighted with our day - the venue, the staff, the food were all top class. I completely agree with all the excellent comments/reviews left here. Its a wonderful place & we've received only positive feedback from our guests. Even in the rain, Clonabreany House looked great and we had the best day. Thanks a million to everyone involved. Caroline & Fiachra

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Myself, wife and daughter stayed at Clonabreany House on Thursday 30th August for my niece's wedding reception.
It is set in a beautiful location.
The meal and entertainment were excellent.
Guests were treated well from arrival until departure.
Snacks and drinks before the main meal were excellent.
We experienced a couple of problems with our room The first problem was the lack of an ensuite shower and toilet.
Staff were unable to help us to sort this out.
We were of the opinion that there was plenty of room to provide an ensuite, as the toilet was next door (No shower here. It was upstairs).We felt that for the price charged,an ensuite in each bedroom is an absolute must.
The second problem was noise from other rooms.We could hear people talking in a couple of other rooms.
Apart from this problem area, everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Insist on receiving a room with an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our daughter and son-in-law had their wedding celebrations in Clonabreany House on 18th August 2012. We had great expectations for the occasion as Clonabreany House came highly recommended. We were not disappointed. The sun shone, the venue looked amazing, the food and wine was superb, and the service was world class. The accommodation in the Courtyard cottages were of 5 star quality. The festivities continued into the next day with beautiful cooked breakfasts in the morning followed by a barbecue in the afternoon and plenty of ceol agus craic in the quaint Butlers Rest - the small pub onsite. Both my husband and I could find no fault with this wonderful venue and have no problem recommending it. We extend our thanks and appreciation to all the staff in Clonabreany House for making our daughters wedding day so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Monaghan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had our wedding in Clonabreany House on the 16th March, (I am a little late with my review). Around the time of booking our wedding, Clonabreany was a relatively new venue and I could find few reviews on it. However this did not matter once we had visited it as no where else can compare to its style, location, friendliness, layout etc. If you are looking for a intimate location and a marque style wedding this is the place for you! A lot of our guests travelled over 45 minutes from our church to the venue however everyone commented it was worth the journey. The food was gorgeous having chosen exactly what we wanted to serve with help from the chef Gerard. We received so many compliments about the food, staff and the overall venue and especially the cottages. Ali and Katie were always on hand before the wedding to sort anything needed! I would love to do it all again in Clonabreany House....

Thank you Clonabreany for making my marque wedding dream come through!

Sinead & Shaun

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I attended my friends wedding at Clonabreaney House in May 2012, and stayed overnight in one of the guesthouses in the Courtyard. We were very impressed with every aspect of our stay....
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the food was of a very high standard and the accommodation was faultless, we stayed in a double room in one of the cottages, they are very modernly furnished with a full kitchen / living room.
The wedding was held in a marquee off the main house, but it was very easy to forgot that you were in a marquee as it was so elaborately furnished.
After the wedding we went over to the shibin bar in the courtyard, which is both comfortable and homely.
The breakfast next morning was more than ample, again served by staff who could not do more for you if they tried.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Clonabreaney House to any of my friends, and it certainly left a lasting impression on us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had our wedding at Clonabreany House on Saturday 23rd June, We would like to say a huge Thank you to all the staff, they were amazing. Ali and Katie were a great help and were always on hand to give advise on the run up to the big day. All our guests commented on the fabulous venue, very friendly staff and great food. We had a great day, stayed for the wend. The accomodation was also fabulous. If anyone is thinking of having their wedding there I would highly recommend it. Its so intimate. Pauline was a great host over the weekend and really made everyone feel at home she was great. First class venue and we would love to do it all again!!! I wouldn't change anything. Thank you for making our day so special.
Nicola & Ronan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Fresh orange juice.... Wow...
Just come from an extraordinary 24 hours at Clonabreany House.
This is a wonderful refuge for the weary and the bewildered!
Was greeted with fresh orange juice at breakfast, after a wonderful
Wedding day.

Clonabreany House is a serious address and worked tirelessly to ensure a 5 Star
day for the Bride & Groom.

This was Clonabreany’s 100th Wedding this year and I’m not surprised that it is a
favourite for young love i.e. Brides and Grooms...

To Niall Daly, the Proprietor who has a marvellous vision in assembling a beautiful location
and has engaged possibly the best two food and hospitality people in the country...
Gerry Meade (Chef) is listed in Eurotoque and that membership doesn't come easy.

The glue for the day was Pauline Fairchild, who is one of the great exponents of hospitality.
She literally was everywhere delivering a first class product.

Even the security boys gave added value, with wonderful courtesy and humour.


All in all, I was hugely impressed and the experience has brought a cheer to this dark, dank day in Dublin.

Well Done to Clonabreany.






mastered

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clonabreany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonabreany House

Address: Crossakiel | Meath, Crossakiel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Crossakiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Crossakiel
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clonabreany House lies at the gateway to the Boyne Valley in Clonabreany near Crossakiel, Co. Meath. Ideal for weddings, private parties, a family ‘get together’ or short-breaks in the courtyard houses, this historic property is unique and must be visited to be appreciated.Set amid breathtaking countryside, Clonabreany House consists of two magnificently restored Georgian houses, a beautifully restored courtyard containing 10 self contained self-catering houses which can sleep over 80 people, a cosy sibín bar, a banqueting hall catering for up to 60 people and a luxurious private bridal suite and a grand marquee with bar, dancing and dining facilities catering for up to 220 guests.- Ideal for weddings, private parties, family gatherings or self-catering holiday breaks in the courtyard cottages- Ten individually styled and substantial four-star Georgian houses in a beautiful courtyard setting. The houses are fully furnished with fitted kitchens, bathrooms and an eclectic mixture of period and modern furnishings- Two magnificently restored Georgian houses and structured Grand Marquee accommodating up to 220 people with a full dance floor and staging area- Banqueting hall with on-site catering suitable for up to 60 people- Business meetings and conferences facilities available- On-site events co-ordinator- Food and catering cooked personally and overseen exclusively by our Euro-Toques chef, Gerard Meade, specialising in supporting local Irish food suppliers and therefore using fresh high level produce, in season and in line with the ethos of Euro-Toques, the European Community of Chefs, with which he has been a member since 1998- Warm, attentive, relaxed service by professional staff- Located in an area of rich cultural and political heritage from mesolithic times through to the present day- Steeped in history and situated close to the cairns at Loughcrew- Located less than 2km from Crossakiel and less than 6 km from Oldcastle. Clonabreany is a one hour drive from Dublin on the new M3 motorway ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clonabreany House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.