We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Surf Club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surf Club of Marco

Save Saved
You added The Surf Club of Marco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Surf Club of Marco
540 South Collier Boulevard, Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the Surf Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our second trip to the Surf Club and we stayed on a mid-level gulf facing room this time. Talk about a *SPECTACULAR* condo and view! The unit we stayed in was relatively updated. Nice large flat screen TVs, tasteful and updated decor. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed for our extended family of 6. The wraparound view on the corner units is just INCREDIBLE. We spent so much time just staring out onto the ocean.

The pool is updated and was clean and blue. Towels are available as you need them. Some resorts only give you a few for the week...but they're more generous at the Surf Club.

Oh and how can you forget about the beach! Shelly with soft sand...clean clean clean. They really work hard to keep the beach in great shape here on Marco Island. We love it for that reason. The gentle Gulf of Mexico was perfect for our baby girl to enjoy, and I think we have a fan for life.

Great vacation, great resort if you go in off-season, a great value too.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the x01 or x07 series for the wraparound windows/balconies. 8th floor has a we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family returned for a second time to stay at the Surf Club this summer. The rooms are comfortable and it's great to have a kitchen facility and large living room. My wife was always on the great balcony when not on the beach, which is right there. The pool was never too crowded. It might benefit from a few more amenities, but I recommend the Surf Club for the Marco Island experience. Also, there are some nice restaurants very nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I remember the my first trip to Marco Island in 1983 and our stay at the Surf Club of Marco. I believe we were the first people to use our room as it just opened up. I thought I died and went to heaven. The view from our balcony was amazing as was every sunset. The staff could not do enough for us and over the years we have returned many time and have had the opportunity to see many of the same people who also return and watch their kids grow up and now the grandchildren. We have all become family and it makes our stay just wonderful. The facility has maintained it's beauty through the years and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wanted their own little Utopia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay at the Surf Club! Yes, it is a smaller, quieter, setting. That is why we will be back!! This is the first time we stayed at the Surf Club, and it will not be our last! Everyone was extremely friendly and the sunsets were amazing!! The beach was a very short walk from the pool area. The parking area could use a little more lighting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Morris, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you enjoy a feeling of family and getting to know others in a quieter setting this is great - plus you can't beat the sunsets from the balconies! Everyone is quite friendly and the easy walk out onto the beach is perfect. The rooms provide a comfortable space and after the first day it feels like 'home'. There are activities for those who want to participate and so many restaurants and entertainment venues are walkable you could easily not drive for days. Tried the Isles of Capri Fish House for the first time and the meal was excellent - worth going for the 'early dining' options. If you enjoy live theater - check out the Marco Island Players - a dedicated community theater group. Just saw Plaza Suite and they had a fine production of this classic show. Cathy O'Clarks Irish Pub just down the street has an easy, local pub feel with good guitarist/soloist most evenings.

Room Tip: If you can avoid rooms with numbers ending in 9 or 11 you will be in a better location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been coming to the Surf Club for seven years now with our family and have never been disappointed. Every evening we look forward to sitting on our balcony to watch the sun go down directly opposite where we are sitting (weather permitting). The hotel has a most accommodating staff. The gardens are beautifully kept as is the pool and tennis courts. Every year there is a new update in the unit. Even though we could swap all over the world, we always come back.

Room Tip: The best units face the Gulf directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed a week, through the Hilton Grand Vacations Club and had a great time. The resort puts on a few socials, so everyone can mingle and get to know one another. The venders on the beach are polite and very helpful. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but I would say the best are, local hidden bar/eateries (The Crazy Flamingo, Lee Be Fish Co, The Sandbar). This is a great place and wonderful location. (A must stay)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surf Club of Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Club of Marco

Address: 540 South Collier Boulevard, Marco Island, FL 34145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels so you can book your The Surf Club of Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Club Hotel Marco Island
Surf Hotel Marco Island
The Surf Club Of Marco Marco Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surf Club of Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.