We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 bedroom condo, a bit far from beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   571 W Elkcam Circle, Marco Island, FL 34145 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacation Marco Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card!
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great 3 bedroom condo, a bit far from beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rented a 3 bedroom condo here and was extremely pleased with the condo itself. Very spacious, full kitchen, contemporary decor. Asked for a crib before hand and it was in master bedroom when we checked in, along with a high chair. Big, screened in balcony with a nice view of the water. The pool was on the small side, but there were not that many people out there, so that was not an issue. We asked for extra towels but were told we could launder them ourselves (would provide extra laundry detergent if needed). Not happy about that option since we really needed extra towels. Ended up washing them every day so we had clean towels everyday for everyone. A bit far from the beaches, but the hotel does offer a shuttle (which we never used). We drove ourselves and parked at the Hilton instead where the rest of our friends (wedding party) were at. The hotel had beach chairs as umbrellas but they are in terrible condition. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for families. There were 3 kids in our group, so have a spacious condo with a full kitchen was worth the hassle of laundry and distance to the beach. Would probably stay here again if in Marco Island with the family again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi there and thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us this past fall. We’re so happy to hear that you and your party were able to spread out and relax in one of our villas. Also, we truly hoped that you had fun at the wedding. We appreciate you letting us know of any needs that you required before your stay. We constantly strive to make sure that our guests have the best vacation experience possible. We apologize if we were not able to accommodate all of your requests. You couldn't give us any higher compliment than a return stay, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    19
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
46
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent this Labor Day's weekend at this hotel, and I have to say, we’ve found our new favorite place to stay at Marco Island when taking our family. Everything was perfect! Wonderful staff, that will say never no. They make everything possible for a wonderful stay; providing us with directions, free games, movies, umbrellas, chairs, transportation to the beach and much more. We stayed at a beautiful 3/3 apartment, extremely clean and completely renovated. It was even better than the one they show in the pictures when booking. Actually they should take pictures of 306 apt, and replace them in the website. There’s plenty space as storage in the kitchen and all the rooms. Kitchen has everything you will need and even more. Pool was kind of small, but we were mostly alone there even being a long weekend… Most people tend to go to the beach, so the pool stays nice and quite. There are 2 BBQ in a really good condition at the pool area. We made hamburgers as lunch, and the Winn-Dixie next door was really a good help when buying groceries. We had a beautiful sunset view from our balcony without been bothered for the mosquitoes do to al the balconies screen. It’s a shame, we didn’t take pictures of the room itself, our family is in all of them . Looking forward to come back!

Room Tip: no complains on room 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to post positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are thrilled you were able to spend such quality time with family over the long weekend.

Again, thank you for sharing such wonderful comments.

We look forward to seeing you in the future at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Sunset Cove Resort.

Regards,

The Team at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Sunset Cove Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

COMPLETELY DISAPPOINTED! Let me start off by saying the only person in the hotel that cared about anything is Daniel. We stayed at the hotel in late June. The weather that weekend wasn't to pleasant, to say the least. It rained all weekend long but we weren't going to let that put a damper on our vacation. We woke up Saturday morning to rain coming into our room. I reported to the from desk and I was told they would send someone up you immediately. Unfortunately, no one ever came. We used our towels to dry up the water that had entered through the front door. Saturday night heading into Sunday morning, there was a severe storm. The power was out in the hotel since early that morning. As soon as my fiancée and my self woke up, we went down to the front desk to see what had happen. They explained to us that the power had gone out  because of the storm. So we had asked nicely for an extra night only to be handed a flashlight. We were told we can use the flashlight to pack since the rooms were so dark. As soon as we returned home from the vacation we called Amex to get a refund for the vacation. Amex told the hotel why we wanted our money back and they told them that they were curious the whole time and they will not be refunding us the money. Needless to say, this is the worst hotel customer service I have ever experienced. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless they get new management.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay during the storm in Marco Island.

I understand the power was out for several hours throughout the island. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Sunset Cove Resort.

I’m very sorry to hear that your experience at Sunset Cove Resort other than your interaction with Daniel was unpleasant. While we were able to provide flashlights for our all of our guests and owners, I realize this does not replace lighting once power is restored.

I can assure you our goal is to provide the highest level of customer service for all of our guests and owners. Sunset Cove in Marco Island has recently been fully renovated and the entire team typically provides excellent customer service.

Again, thank you for your feedback. It is through comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of opportunity and ensure your Holiday Inn Club Vacations experience is pleasant.

Regards,

The Team at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Sunset Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We booked Sunset Cove through our timeshare with Hilton properties. The rooms are beautiful, all have been recently renovated with granite counter tops, a roomy kitchen and stunning master bedroom and bathroom. Two of the rooms have king sized beds and the third room has twin beds.

We didn't really think a screened-in porch was necessary until we spent an evening at Snook Inn, another nice restaurant. Wow, the mosquitos practically carried us off, so a screened-in porch is definately a must!

The front desk employees were very helpful, they even provide Tide detergent (we asked for a lot) to the guests. The only difficulty we experienced was one evening when we arrived to the resort past 11:00 p.m. The front door was locked and our room key did not work. A surly security guard approached us and mumbled that he would have to let us in from inside. Geez, I thought for a moment that I had a curfew. He could have been nicer.

The resort has an adequate pool and the lounge chairs are very nice and comfortable. It would be nice to have a restaurant on site, but the Sunset Cove is very close to so many restaurants. There's a Winn-Dixie store next door, and they have just about anything one would need to make the stay complete.

So, in summary, I would return to Sunset Cove, the rooms are luxorious and comfortable. The employees are friendly and the pool is quite relaxing! A +++

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205. I believe that all of the rooms are 3 bedroom and all face the pool and inle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello there and thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to ensure that our guests have the best vacation experience possible. We’re thrilled to hear that your vacation was a success, and that they employees were able to make it that much better or you. We apologize for the room key issue that you described above, however we are pleased ot hear that you were able to get back into your room very quickly. A good tip for any traveler is to keep your room key away from your cell phone. Specifically if you have a smart phone. The cell phone signal can interfere with the magnetic memory of the key card. We would love the chance to host you again in the future for more fun. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire. England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed here in May a few times now and love it. The units are great, ours was a three bed three bath, with a fully equipped kitchen and European washer and dryer. Over the years the complex has changed hands a few times and things change. Originally the units were cleaned and sheets changed daily, now unless you pay extra it is just once a week, with towels changed once. The pool area is rather small and is in the shade of the building until late morning and the snack bar has only been open for just over a year. It is much better now that facility is available. On the whole the staff are very good but there are always some who could do better. They do have a mini bus to take you to the beach, but we always have a car, and there are bikes available. There is a WinnDixie next door to stock up on drinks and groceries and the Esplanade is just a short stroll away with some great restaurants and a few shops plus Starbucks for that caffeine fix! A few nights a week there is often live music too. Marco like a lot of places has suffered a bit with the recession so some places are now empty which is a shame.
We adore Marco for it's laid back lifestyle, weather, people and activities such as golfing, fishing and boating and go back year after year always staying at least one of the times here as we find
it to be good value for the quality of the rooms. Not sure how the new owners are going to change it but I am sure it will still be well worth staying at.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Sunset Cove Resort.

We appreciate the positive comments regarding our 3 bedroom fully stocked units, the location, and amenities.

I sincerely apologize if you encountered employees that were not service oriented and fell short of your expectations. Our goal is to provide excellent customer service in every interaction. I am truly sorry that we did not meet or exceed your expectations throughout your visit.

Since our acquistion of the resort last August we have fully renovated every unit, upgrading all counter tops to granite, adding stainless appliances, new furniture and flooring, upgraded bedding and upgraded all patio and pool deck furniture. Our next project is to paint and update the lobby which we hope to complete this fall.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Sunset Cove.

We look forward to seeing you in the future and the opportunity to provide a memorable vacation experience.

Regards,

The Team at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Sunset Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Very nice new hotel also known as Sunset Cove Resort. Not your classic resort, as it does not include a gift shop / convenience store / restaurant. Not to worry, however, since there is a Winn Dixie right next door and a myriad of restaurants just walking distance away. The hotel is inland (no beach access) but is located only about a 5 minute drive from the beach.

The lady at the front desk (Siobhan from Kildare, Ireland) was very friendly and helpful during our stay, setting us up with a jetskiing adventure in the 10,000 Islands chain (including getting us $40 off and validated parking!) and an airboat tour of the Everglades. Overall the service at this hotel was excellent.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, particularly in the late Spring / Summer timeframe if you like privacy and not having to deal with crowds. The Sunset Cove Resort is a hidden gem on Marco Island!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and provide positive feedback regarding Siobhan, the service, the resort, and our location.

We're very pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful vacation experience at our hidden gem in Marco Island.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments and choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you in the future at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Sunset Cove Resort.

Regards,

The Team at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Sunset Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We have been at this resort for the past week, and been awoken at 8.00am each morning to the sound of construction and power tools in the rooms above us . On three nights out of the six we've been here, we have had to call down to the front desk at gone 11.00pm to complain about the continuing noise in the rooms above from people dragging things across the floors and constant tapping. If you are going to be staying here in the next few weeks while these 16 rooms are renovated, be prepared to encounter this sort if disturbance . All the lovely Tommy Bahamas soft furnishings are now gone and although the suites look nice, the replacements are not as good quality as they previously were.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello there and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay this past May. At the time of your review, you are indeed correct that our resort was undergoing a renovation. We apologize for any inconvenience that the updates may have caused you, and we appreciate you letting our staff know right away of any needs or issues you encountered. Luckily, the updated are finished now, and we would love to have the opportunity to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove

Address: 571 W Elkcam Circle, Marco Island, FL 34145 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacation Marco Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Sunset Cove Resort is located on Smokehouse Bay on Marco Island, a premier vacation destination in southern Florida. As a member of our Signature Collection Reserve portfolio, featuring only our highest and most luxurious accommodations, you will be pampered with incredible luxury. Experience a superior island vacation lifestyle designed just for you! The spacious 3-bedroom villas are designed to provide a feel of residential luxury, relaxation and superior comfort. Stainless steel kitchen appliances and granite countertops are complemented by designer decor and beautiful artwork. Your villa also features a full dining area, luxury bedroom and bath linens, plus plush living room furnishings. And to view the islands spectacular sunsets, relax on your private balcony. The exclusive resort features concierge-level services, guest boat docking for water access and zero-entry pool and sun deck for relaxing in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacation Marco Island Hotel Marco Island
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Marco Island Sunset Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.