We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Cafe

Island Cafe
918 N Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145-2741
239-394-7578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 104 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Morris, Mb.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely, delicious dinner at the Island Cafe. If you go between 5 and 5:30 you can get in on the Early Bird. It includes 3 courses for between 20 and 25 dollars. The food and wait staff were excellent. The decor was classy and was a lovely evening out. You will need to make reservations as when I called some evenings were already booked. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    31
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Par for the Course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

And I'm not talking golf. This overchilled spot (the vents blow at just below hurricane force offers a nice continental menu, overpriced and restricted wine list and obsequious server who's constantly pushing the next bottle of wine. The duck was enjoyed by all, but with no obvious relish, and the lamb shanks were fine; but, on balance, so much was prepared in advance that nothing was up to proper termperature. Perhaps too much time is spent on the more attractive (and MUCH less pricey) early-bird menu, which is a bargain, than the dinners for whose who pay full fare. Oh, well. Next time, we'll get there earlier . . . .Let me give an example of the wine -- first choice was a French rhone that was no longer available. Next came a California cabernet at more $$ that, among the three choices listed (32/60/and more) made sense and fit the dinner choices but . ...)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by the cover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Island Cafe shares a strip mall location with a nail salon, a barber and a pizza shop. When you open the door you are transported to a gracious dining experience with lace table cloths, subdued lighting, impeccable service and gourmet food. What a nice surprise!

The Early Bird Special adds appetizer and dessert to the entree items. All entrees include soup or salad, a vegetable and a starch.

Tonight's special was fresh Maine lobster tail, topped with blue crab. My husband said he had never had lobster so fresh outside of the Maine coast. The escargot appetizer was the best I have ever eaten in the US, on cruise ships and even in France.

Make a reservation because there are only 16 tables.

Island Cafe is a 'must go' restaurant when you are on Marco Island.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our group of four had an early lunch. Everything we ordered was good, except for the steak sandwich, which was below par. Our waitress had hinted to the person who ordered it that "it was not her favorite". We got a discount because we had taken an air boat ride at a nearby facility. We would definitely return

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“early dinner at Island Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I took advantage of the early special at Island Cafe. The dinner included an appetizer and desert. The meal was excellent,service was great. I ordered Shepard's pie the pie was great. Once again the meal and service are always outstanding.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Cafe also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.