We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Marco

Cafe de Marco
244 Royal Palm Drive, Marco Island, FL 34145
+1 239-394-6262
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 104 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Bistro, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tucked away in the northern most point of Old Marco is Cafe de Marco. An intimate bistro/cafe serving the most diverse selection of fresh seafood & other continental specialties since 1983. A favorite amongst locals & seasonal return visitors to Marco Island. Reservations are greatly appreciated. Olde Florida atmosphere in the historic district of Olde Marco. Perfect for an outstanding meal, business, or special occasion. Vast wine selection and beer available. Twilight specials and children's menu available. Owned and operated by same owner & family since starting out in 1983. Our building enjoys a rich piece of Marco history. The Cafe's building was the original quarters for the chamber maids employed by the historic Old Marco Inn just a few yards away. Many years ago the Inn functioned as a "bed & breakfast", and the maids would simply walk to work from our building. This explains the answer to a frequently asked question..."Was this an old house at one time?" Today, step inside to what has been transformed into an islander's tradition for over 30 years. We look forward to serving you soon! ~Sandy Franchino, Owner
Orange Village, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Four star dining in an old house. Very little curb appeal, but great food inside and great wait staff.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! Thank you for your comments on our food and service. Our seafood is brought to us fresh daily and our wait staff is extensively trained in order to provide the best service possible. Your feed back is very important to us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    98
    41
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Must visit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by the Visitor's Bureau for our first trip to Marco Island. Such a cute little place and neat atmosphere...but the food! So amazing. My boyfriend and I started with the seafood sampler which was outstanding. We chose 2 specials for our entrees. I had cococut encrusted flounder and he had the stuffed lobster. They had an extensive wine list too. We just couldn't get over how good everything was. We were also really impressed with the service. Our server, Marty, was awesome! Don't leave Marco Island without visiting Cafe de Marco. You definitely won't regret it. We can't wait to come back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! It is very satisfying to know that you enjoyed the seafood sampler as well as our special dishes of the evening, the flounder and stuffed lobster. Our seafood is brought to us locally each day in order to ensure it is as fresh and flavorful as possible. Thank you also for your comments on our service. Our wait staff goes through extensive training in order to become as knowledgeable, attentive and friendly as possible toward our guests. Your feedback is very important to us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Plains, Missouri
1 review
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been to this restaurant many times. It always has great, friendly service, Great selection on the menu and the food is very delicious. The desserts are also superb with some recipes passed down from other generations. It has an outside area plus inside in Old Marco area at the end of the Island. It is an experience that one doesn't want to miss. It is the restaurant where I always take friends. Patricia E

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! Thank you so much for your comments on our food and service. Our seafood is brought to us locally every morning so that it is always very fresh and flavorful. Additionally, our wait staff is thoroughly trained to ensure they are always very attentive, knowledgeable and friendly toward our guests. Thank you for your wonderful comments on our desserts. They are all made in house and always satisfy the sweet tooth! Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to serve you again soon.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We've been coming back to Cafe de Marco for over 13 years for our anniversary dinner on our annual trip in January to southwest Florida. They never disappoint! The food is outstanding and the service amazing. Sandy always stops by the table at least once if not twice to give that personal attention that this restaurant is known for. We've introduced friends to this special place and they quickly become fans. Our anniversary dinner is always the stuffed lobster tail and the jumbo prawns with the cafe puff for dessert. It's a meal we look forward to each and every year!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for your anniversary dinner and had a wonderful experience! First off, thank you for your continued patronage over the last 13 years. It is very flattering to know that many of our patrons have been with us for so long! We very much appreciate your comments on our stuffed lobster and jumbo prawns. Our seafood is brought to us locally each day to ensure it is as fresh and tasty as possible. We also thank you for your comments on our service. Our wait staff is trained thoroughly to ensure that they are always very knowledgeable, attentive and friendly toward our guests. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have passed by Cafe De Marco several times and never seemed to be around when they were open.
Tonight we left the movie and said go.
We were not disappointed, my wife had the salmon fish and I had the evening special a pork osso (sp) Both excellent.
Service was very good, wine list high end and varied.

overall an experience to return for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! It is so nice to know that you enjoyed our salmon as well as our special pork osso bucco dish. Our seafood is brought to us fresh daily and our osso bucco shank slow cooks all day to ensure it will be as tender and tasty as possible. Thank you for your comments on our service. Our wait staff is trained extensively to always be very attentive, knowledgeable and friendly as possible towards our guests. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Marco also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe de Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.