We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant on the island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Marco

Cafe de Marco
244 Royal Palm Drive, Marco Island, FL 34145
+1 239-394-6262
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 104 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Bistro, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tucked away in the northern most point of Old Marco is Cafe de Marco. An intimate bistro/cafe serving the most diverse selection of fresh seafood & other continental specialties since 1983. A favorite amongst locals & seasonal return visitors to Marco Island. Reservations are greatly appreciated. Olde Florida atmosphere in the historic district of Olde Marco. Perfect for an outstanding meal, business, or special occasion. Vast wine selection and beer available. Twilight specials and children's menu available. Owned and operated by same owner & family since starting out in 1983. Our building enjoys a rich piece of Marco history. The Cafe's building was the original quarters for the chamber maids employed by the historic Old Marco Inn just a few yards away. Many years ago the Inn functioned as a "bed & breakfast", and the maids would simply walk to work from our building. This explains the answer to a frequently asked question..."Was this an old house at one time?" Today, step inside to what has been transformed into an islander's tradition for over 30 years. We look forward to serving you soon! ~Sandy Franchino, Owner
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Cafe de Marco is my favorite restaurant on the island...so much that I had my rehersal dinner here this past October! The food is wonderful and the service is excellent. I will continue to dine here for many years to come! Remember to finish your meal with the key lime pie....it's excellent :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    96
    41
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OK but not much more than that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I went here after it was recommended as someone's favorite spot for dinner. Prior to booking I also checked Tripadvisor.

Nonetheless the experience was not up to expectations. The best I can say about it is that the experience was OK. But at the prices and with the recommendations, I expected a lot more. Perhaps there is just not much competition on Marco. But this place would not survive a few miles away in Naples.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We've been visiting Marco Island the last 10 years , always make time to dine at Cafe de Marco. Our server was Marty , very capable service was fantastic , food was tremendous . I've always been happy there and plan to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
“pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here after a recommendation from a local couple we met while having coffee. We had the lobster bisque and escargot appetizers and they were both delicious. The real reason we went was because we were told the deserts were to die for and this is absolutely correct. Not the cheapest place in town but we've definetly had more expensive meals that were nowhere near as good as this. Service was excellent and we will definitely head back here if we decide to come to the island again. Thanks Marty for the great evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco islad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How can anyone recommend this ?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Massive disappointment ! How can anyone recommend this ?
Agree that ths is throwback to 70 s.-both in terms of decor and food.Could get away with if food was good but definitely not the case here .
Clams starter tasted of grilled sawdust-,after complaint removed from check .
Salad totally lacked imagination .Would be better not serving.
Prawns were good but really how can you ruin prawns ?
And what is with serving on sheet of plastic instead of white tablecloth underneath ?
Servers were pleasant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Marco also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe de Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.