We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Alternative to the Mega resorts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat House Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Boat House Motel to your Saves list
The Boat House Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1180 Edington Place, Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Alternative to the Mega resorts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We love this place because of its facilities, informality, location and in particularly the fishing from the dock (get a license). It's been there a long time, yet the rooms are still more than serviceable, clean and comfortable. You can pay a lot more on Marco, but you'll not be in any better a situation unless you're looking for luxury.

Room Tip: Closer to the pool and dock is an advantage, but not a major concern whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    150
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
104
242
19
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Boat House again for a week. Everyone was welcoming and very helpful. Saw several Dolphin while enjoying the deck and pool. There are several restaurants within walking distance as well as a fish market/ restaurant, beauty shop, cupcake store and a boutique. We love this motel and plan on going back again next year.

Room Tip: As far as we're concerned the rooms are all good. The King rooms are larger for a long stay but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green bay,wi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a motel so don't expect much on accommodations. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome. We booked the room a few days ahead..upon arrival we asked which room, since there are only two on the water #1 lower and #11 upper, apparently 11 was taken, even though we seemed to be the only ones there the first of our 2 days. We asked for number 1 and she told us that would be an upgrade, and charged us an extra $37/ nite, we took it anyway. The room was not the upgrade, a bit musty, king bed, table and bathroom. sliding patio door to an enclosed porch which was looking at the water and was nice. I would have given us the free upgrade since no one was staying there, but that's OK..it ended up costing us over $200/ nite when all was done. I f you want a nice location, and might see some dolphins and lots of boats going by, this is for you. We were within walking distance of some nice places too..So in summary, some very nice things..location, friendly staff..and some marginal things..Motel for that price.

Room Tip: I f you are going to spend some time there, get room 11, if not..does't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Please allow me to begin by expressing our appreciation for taking the time to post your thoughts and opinions about our little property. We regret that our accommodations did not meet or exceed your expectations, the comfort and happiness of each and every one of our guests is our top priority. We truly take every word into our hearts and strive to address every concern.

We are the first to admit that our image is a bit nostalgic; in fact, we embrace these characteristics and market our accommodations as such. Honestly, we agree that our motel definitely does not appeal to everyone...we simply can't provide all the plush and luxurious amenities of the huge corporate high rises with the cookie-cutter rooms nor would we want to. The rooms with a water view are in high demand, especially during our busy season and are priced accordingly.

Again, thank you for your comments. Please trust that not only do we take them all into consideration, we actually rely on them to assist us in achieving our goal of each and every guest leaving here feeling that their visit was memorable and special.

Stay safe on all of your future traveling adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Checkin was good even though we got there late. Room was clean and had a good location. Stayed there one night. Would stay there again if in the area. Desk person was friendly and helpful. Easy to make reservations vis phone. Hope I am close to two hundred characters so I can submi my review. :-) don't know what else to say. Two hundred charcter minimum should be lowered. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I needed a place to stay on Marco Island for a few nights, and a friend recommended The Boat House Motel. What a great place! The staff was very friendly and helpful, really nice people. The room was much larger than I'd expected, more like a Studio Apartment than a regular motel room. The location is idyllic, right on the water and near the best of Olde Marco. What a gem! Thanks for everything Desiree, I'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseMotel, Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It really means a lot to us and helps us improve the experience for each and every guest.

We are so glad that you had a great time with us and can't wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Excellent unpretentious but comfortable motel in nice location at the northern end of the island. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Places to eat nearby, including breakfast (not available at motel). Would stay again without hesitation.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This wonderful little place was perfect for our vacation lodging. It is a good location, located in the older part of San Marco Island and it is within walking distance to some good eateries. We also hit the various everglade nature trails and hot spots in the national, state and local parks within a 5 to 50 mile radius. The motel itself is an older building, but everything is neat and clean and there are nice finishing touches such as being able to use beach chairs, umbrellas and more. Super nice owners that will do just about anything to make sure you are having a good stay. If something is not working to your liking, it is your own fault by not contacting the owners. They are available! We had a microwave and little refrigerator which was very nice. (Also a coffee pot, so pack some coffee, they had filters). Also, good bird watching by the pool area and dock. A very active osprey was there everyday near the motel. Plenty of pelicans hanging out also. Next time I would reserve unit number11. It is located water side with a private balcony. It is more money, but looks like it is worth spending a little more. If you are looking for a swanky, resort feel, this is not the place. It is priced right for budget travelers and was just right with personalized customer service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boat House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Motel

Address: 1180 Edington Place, Marco Island, FL 34145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Boat House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Motel Hotel Marco Island
The Boat Hotel
Boat Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Marco Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.