We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family-run motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat House Motel

Save Saved
You added The Boat House Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Boat House Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1180 Edington Place, Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Marco Island
Bergenfield, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family-run motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had to be on Marcos Island for business and all of the big hotels were sold out so I ended up at the Boathouse Motel. It was a great choice. The room was very large including a kitchenette and a sitting area. While it is a bit of a distance from the Marriott and Hilton, the taxi fare is only $6. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It was great to support a local family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    124
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
92
201
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I had a most wonderful stay. the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. The staff was friendly and gave great advice about local happenings. Their advice to go to the history museum on a rainy day was perfect for me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I were returning to Marco Island for first time since 1978. At that time we lived
in Miami and Marco Island was just being developed - we remember staying at the original 100 room hotel that is now the Marriott and the rest of the island was still virgin territory. Imagine our surprise when we saw a sign directing us to the Marco Island Historic District - that really made us feel old ! The good news was that we stumbled upon the Boat House and decided to stay the night - the room was extremely comfortable and clean as a whistle. After a long drive a cold beer on the Motel's dock overlooking the water was really welcome with the added bonus of a visiting dolphin swimming closeby.
Would definitely recommend the Beach House for an overnighter - very good value and excellent reception.

Room Tip: Only 20 rooms - don't worry about the view as most travellers sit on the dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here Jan 5 after our cruise because of all the good reviews I had read.The rooms were very spacious, decorated comfortably and very clean. We got there late that afternoon to watch the sun go down (rental car problems in Miami). Would have loved to enjoy the day relaxing by the beautiful waterfront and to have been able to stay longer. Next time. And Desiree couldn't have been nicer. She had no problem with my husband using her computer for a brief airline update and I had left an article in the room which she mailed to me. Really followed through. And within a short walking distance we had the best appetizers and the piano player was fantastic! A nice ending for a birthday and a nice stay at the Boathouse!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our first time at the Boat House Motel in Marco Island Florida. If is in Old Marco for those of you who know the island. It is very quaint and comfortable. The room was larger than expected, very clean and the staff is very friendly. The Boat House is on the water and we watch the boats go, people catching fish and pelicans diving for their catch. We plan to return next year with other family members also joining us. Parking is very close so for someone like me we packs everything including the kitchen sink I didn't have to bring everything to the room. I just left it in the car and walked about 20 feet to the car. The are tables and chairs out on the deck and a nice pool. There is a washer and dryer and ice machine It has all you need. The room had a nice size fridge, table chair, desk, TV and a microwave. The price of the room was reasonable I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: We were in the middle on the 1st floor when I go next year I plan to request a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My only regret about our stay at The Boat House is that we only had one night there. I was speaking in Marco Island and were were on a whirlwind tour, so only had a brief stay here, but it was just the relaxing place we needed.

The room was clean and comfortable and the location is wonderful, right on the water. This isn't a big resort with a restaurant and bar, but those are a 30 second walk up the street. There is a small pool. Desiree, who checked us in, could not be nicer or more accommodating.

This is a family owned inn with charm and did I mention location? We could see dolphins playing in the water's edge.

We were at a party this past weekend and were talking about our trip to some friends and found out that The Boat House is their favorite place to stay on Marco Island. This was no small coincidence since we all live in California!

Marco Island is a lovely place and I hope to return for a longer stay some day. Would I stay at The Boat House? You bet I would.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms on the end of the motel, beside the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My sister and I recently visited Marco Island for a weekend family reunion. This was our first visit to The Boat House Motel. We were greeted by the owner who was friendly, accommodating and patient with all of our questions. Our room was on the second floor, with no elevator but this was our only inconvenience. We were pleasantly surprised by the room which included a king size bed and a single bed in a small alcove, which felt like a private room for me. There was a microwave, refrigerator and sitting area. The room was spotless and there was always a parking spot upon our return from dinner. The location was perfect, allowing us to quickly explore the Island. I would definitely return to the Boat House. We also saw dolphins swimming right by the hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for end unit on second floor which has a nice balcony overlooking the water. Be a.ware t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boat House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Motel

Also Known As:
The Boat House Motel Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Hotel
The Boat Hotel
Boat Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Marco Island, Florida
Address: 1180 Edington Place, Marco Island, FL 34145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Boat House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.