We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat House Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Boat House Motel to your Saves list
The Boat House Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1180 Edington Place, Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and this time it was for the lead up to our wedding and for a few days after before we went on honeymoon. Because most of our wedding guests were coming from the UK we wanted a place that was a focal point for all of them to be able to relax and mix with one another.

We therefore choose to hire the Gazebo which is situated over the water on stilts. It has a large lounge and dining room, two great sized en-suite bedrooms with very comfortable beds (one room has twin beds) and a kitchen. It is fitted with its own Wi-Fi, TV/Cable and all the home comforts you would expect. It is fair to say that on first sight there are a few things that you think might benefit from being updated. But to be honest its like a nice cosy house and you very quickly settle in and enjoy its ambiance and don't have a second thought and accept it as it is.

The Gazebo turned out to be the perfect choice, it was great for having parties, and having a private dock and large deck with dining table and sunbeds, made it the perfect place for us all to sunbathe and watch the mad pelicans belly flopping into the water and the dolphins playing in the water. At night time you had the very relaxing sounds of the water lapping underneath the floor and sometimes a dolphin catching fish.

It is perfectly situated just a few minutes stroll to some great restaurants and bars, it has a small swimming pool for guests, a laundry room with washers and dryers and lots of parking. Because of its location it is also felt very safe and secure.

If all the above was not enough special mention must be made of Desiree and her staff who quite simply could not do enough to help and for their commitment to customer satisfaction could easily put any $10,000 a night hotel staff to shame.

Overall a fantastic stay in an amazing place, what are you waiting for book now!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    137
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
100
221
18
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summerland Key, Florida, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The staff was very friendly and both stays exceeded our expectations. Excellent price on an expensive island. Very comfortable and peaceful. Nice rooms, very clean and THEY ALLOW PETS! Can't beat it. We got a free upgrade to a suite just because they were that nice. It was a slow night, but all the same-- way more than we expected. Pool, fishing off the dock, wi-fi, very close to best nightlife in town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently spent 3 days at the Boat House Motel in Marco Island and had a Fantastic time. Could not have asked for better weather, boating and fishing. The Boat House is perfectly located, the rooms are large and clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Plus they allow pets, one of the only motels on Marco that does. I would recommend the Boat House to any boater, fisher person and pet owner that wants to spend time on Marco Island. Bring your fishing pole even if you don't have a boat, you can catch BIG Snook right off the docks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were there last week for Thanksgiving and to celebrate my birthday. The motel is located in a quiet residential area ideal for those looking to catch up on their sleeping. We checked in with Claudine (super nice) and had no problem with our dogs. The room was bigger than I had expected, we even got our own private patio! We spent all day at the deck watching the boats and birds, theres no need on movng from the motel other than doing groceries. The views are AMAZING! Next time we will rent the gazebo, thanks for a lovely stay well be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level have patios, upstairs they get a little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Lovely 'old school' hotel. Clean roomwith a beautiful wayerfront location. The staff could not be any more helpful, friendly,or accomodatimg. Nice retreat. Pool was clean and bright. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here from the 1 until the 6 November beautiful setting, our room was a Queen Bed.
Very nice pool and decking area.
Dolphins came up and down every day and managed to catch a glimpse of a manatee one of days.
Few restaurants and bars within walking distance would Recommend to any one wanting a relaxing break

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My hubby and I stopped here at a quaint location, as we were heading further south in the AM, for a tour in the everglades, so we arrived after office hours (4pm) and left early... Hardlly enough time to appreciate teh accomodations, but from what we did experience...
Beautiful sunsets off the dock, quiet enough to do a bit of fishing off the docks, away from the busy streets of Marco Island, pretty easy to do business with. (When we arrived after office hours, we were still able to check in - without hassle)
The boathouse might cosmetically need a few things to be updated, but we didn't book for luxury or amenities, we booked for quaint, quiet & clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boat House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Motel

Address: 1180 Edington Place, Marco Island, FL 34145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Boat House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Motel Hotel Marco Island
The Boat Hotel
Boat Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Marco Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.