We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave it another shot after quite some time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangos Dockside Bistro

Mangos Dockside Bistro
760 North Collier Blvd. #109, Marco Island, FL 34145
+1 239-393-2433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 103 Restaurants in Marco Island
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Waterfront dining on Smokehouse Bay...Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and sushi. Large full liquor bar. Salt water aquariums, waterfall, and fishing pond for children. Gluten Free menu choices, as well as vegetarian selections. Numerous fresh seafood choices. Family owned and operated.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Gave it another shot after quite some time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Went to lunch here today with a large group of friends (over 25 of us). I hadn't been there since a month after they opened (total disaster, and you can read my old review, if you want to). Today the service was pretty good (except for the extra help coming out of the kitchen to help the waiter with orders and screaming what the dish was to see who raised their hand to claim it). The food, by all accounts, was plentiful and delicious. I ordered unagi sushi and did not find any unagi, and my hamachi order of sashimi was three pitifully small pieces of fish, but except for a few small screw ups, this large crowd got what they ordered and didn't have to wait for hours. This is also one of the few places on the island willing to accommodate not only a large table, but provide individual ordering and bills. It appears the problems they had earlier are, for the most part, behind them, and I think we all enjoyed ourselves!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    162
    72
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“scenic setting, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We tripped onto this place while walking through Marco. It's located on right on the water and a perfectly scenic place from which to have lunch. Despite the restaurant being fearsomely busy (lunch hour), our orders were taken quickly and the food arrived in minutes. My wife's shrimp salad and my fish tacos were great. Our server was terrific. Often it's a crapshoot when you try a new restaurant without some advance word, but this one really worked out well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pretty place BUT!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I went there 3 hours ago. We sat at the bar, the bartender seemed like he had better things to do than wait on us. When he did get to us we told him what we wanted, but because my wife is alergic to MSG we asked if their food had it. The bar
tender, server didn't know what MSG was, [15 % of the U.S population is alergic to it] Then the bartenders changed.,a young women came on and she asked if we needed drinks, we said we were waiting for our food [30 min's at this point] Then out came the conch chowder it was the worst, tasted like slim off a northern pike, plus my wife's first spoonful had some cartilige of some sort in it, we sent it back. then came the fish tacos, and coconut shrimp they seemed ok but nothing to write home about. On a positive note the second shift bartender [ this was a guy and the third person to be behind the bar] asked how our meal was, when we told him we sent the food back, he took it off our bill and was very nice. I can't say for sure if my wife got MSG'ed but it seemed to fit the pattern, and she did get sick. We are comming back next year for 3 months and may try them for breakfast. Mango is a very big place, and I can see why people there don't know what is going on in the kitchen, as far as alergic needs of custmers. We seem to have better luck in smaller places where the server can stick their head in the kitchen and ask "do WE cook with MSG?]

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food- delicious, Service- more than spotty!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been to this restaurant twice in the last six weeks. The first time we went over New Years. The restaurant was full but we had made reservations for waterfront dining for our party of fifteen (including two small children). The food was delicious and service was excellent. They kept drinks refilled, were great with the kids, and they accommodated our large group with ease. Our second visit was over President's weekend. This time we sat indoors because it was a chilly evening. We had made reservations for our party of eight and were seated quickly. It was quite loud inside even though the restaurant was not full. We ordered appetizers and some in our party ordered soup or salad with dinner while others ordered sushi as their meals. This shouldn't have been more than the server could handle, but it was. She must have put the sushi order in way too early because that order was served long before the regular entrees. We seemed to wait forever for the regular entrees to be served and by then the sushi eaters were finished and could just sit there while the rest of the group ate. Our dinner guests commented that they had received poor service when they had eaten there in the past, and yet another friend said the same thing to my husband the next day while golfing. The good news is that the food is good. The sushi is some of the best on the island. They just need to get the service worked out soon before people stop giving it another try. I hope it's not too late.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our waiter Harry was wonderful, he made our dinner one of the most pleasant experiences we had during our visit to Marco Island. Mango's is a wonderful fusion of food and drink with an atmosphere that fits any family! We will go back again and always ask for Harry!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangos Dockside Bistro also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mangos Dockside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangos Dockside Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.